We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LUXURY SPA ESCAPE
Ranked #2 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the Bauer last year, thought it was nice, but the Gritti is amazing! Rooms are well-appointed and spacious, truly elegant. It is a hotel that caters to Americans: clock radio in room and faucets marked with "C" and "H". Linens are opulent and the bath is gorgeous. Loved the marble, double sinks, seperate shower and abundance of towels. Appreciated that the blow dryer wasn't wall-mounted; a nice touch when sharing a bath with your hubby. Breakfast is far superior to many other highend hotels we visited in Italy. The renovation is beautiful. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    23
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
267
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

As old Gritti clients, we'd not been back for a few years as the hotel had become seedy and staff was a little rude. THAT'S OVER.

Major capex has begotten a proud staff and the place is terrific.

We always prefer the size of our room to its view. Thus we skip the canal view in favor of the view of the city......no big deal as we are always out during the day and can't see outsisde at night anyway.

Wwe were in 326 and thought it was beautiful.

Yes, Venice is a sinfully expsive place and the Gritti is beyond expensive........but for 3 or 4 nights......what can I tell you. The trick is to forget about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The perfect place to stay when in Venice!
Excellent rooms, attentive service, fantastic breakfast and pre dinner drinks on the Grand Canal!
The only negative point was the food at its main restaurant which was salty and dry (at this level no mistakes are accepted!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your unforgettable memories with the TripAdvisor community.

We are happy to read that you very much enjoyed your experience at our hotel savoring its attentive and personalized services, unfortunately with the exception of the food at our restaurant that, in the occasion of your dining, did not meet your expectations.

We are really sorry to read this comment, since we always strive to offer our Guests a pleasant Italian culinary experience. We hope you mentioned your dissatisfaction to our knowledgeable maître in order to allow him to immediately take the appropriate corrective action.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Venice, our chefs are eager to show you that they can do much better.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Gritti Palace is like a museum. It is a trip back to the 16th century with its art and wonderful decor. It is among the nicest and most gorgeous hotels in which I have stayed in the last 40 years. The staff was patient, eminently competent, and helpful. The hotel is well located with its own Vaporetto stop, and the wonderful breakfasts are included in the room charge. I had to put a second mortgage on my house to afford the exceeding high hotel charge, but staying at the Gritti is a memory one will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

First of all their position on the canal, a short walk from San Marco, the rooms are decorated in a Venetian style extremely refined, the price are quitly high but it deserve it all, the staff is highly qualificated, very attentive and extremly professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Venice is an odd, slightly crazy and definitely busy city. The huge influx of tourists and cruise ships can impact almost everything you do. BUT at Gritti Palace none of this matters. It is a sublime hotel with exceptional staff, especially in the restaurant. The breakfast team were outstanding but at lunch, right on the Grand Canal, it was like being a rock star. This is a wonderful place to soak up the splendour of Venice and avoid the crush that happens around St Mark's. The rooms are wonderful along with the bathroom and linens. My room was noisy due to staff prep early in the morning which was the only negative. Worth every cent, it is a fabulous Italian experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us.

You are absolutely right, Venice is a small and busy city however, the Gritti’s location although very central and with the main attractions at a walking distance, shelters our guests from the crowd.

We are very happy to hear that you savored the time spent on our terrace and the services of our waiting staff at breakfast and lunch. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our aim.

On the other hand, we are really sorry for the noise you could hear early in the morning. It would be helpful to us receiving more details on the room you occupied and, to this end, we kindly ask you to contact us via email, thank you very much.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to our Gritti Palace and to allow you a nice, undisturbed sleep until later in the morning...

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Flawless and spotless gritti, no words can describe this hotel and their level of service.
First of all their location on the canal in superb, with restaurants right on the water and some rooms with canal views. You arrive by boat straight at the hotels private deck. It is a 5-10 min walk from San Marco and close to all the main attractions and museums.
The hotel is amazing, decorated in typical Venetian style with Murano chandeliers all over and venetian mirrors,beautiful flowers. Very grand and opulent.
Check in was swift and easy, and Romina at reception is the loveliest person I've met.
I had booked a giglio room which is a big room of higher category. Although it doesn't have a canal view you could still see the canal from the window since it was at the corner of the building. The room was amazing, never saw such a beautiful and huge room. Everything about it is perfect. These rooms are new but decorated in typical Venetian style. Again Murano chandeliers all over, Venetian mirrors and furniture. The bed was huge and so comfortable, best sleep I got in a hotel. The bathroom too was even bigger, marble all over with two sinks, a bathtub and separate shower. Pure luxury.
Room service is excellent, food was very good and tasty.
Their bar right on the canal is dreamy, it was very nice having a drink while watching the amazing scenery. It gets very busy especially with lots of people not from the hotel, well it is prime location!
The concierges are all without exception soooo kind and welcoming and helpful, you couldn't ask for better, really. They always gave good recommendations.
I miss this place already and can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#2 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.