We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special about this hotel.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Save Saved
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxury Romance
Ranked #3 of 382 hotels in Venice
lawrence new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something special about this hotel.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Outstanding service....wonderfully accommodating, regarding a room upgrade, during a busy time for them...They seemed genuinely happy to do this for us...Their concierge service is wonderful...Their veranda on the Grand Canal is simply divine..It is spacious and seems perfectly situated on the canal...The rooms are elegant and the air conditioning was perfect.....I have stayed at other hotels in Venice, but this hotel seems the way to go..It just has it all.Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your appreciative review. We are glad to read that your stay was up to your expectations both in terms of impeccable service as well as concerning perfect location and enchanting facilities.

Your comments are a boost for the Gritti’s team and reflect its sense of belonging to this iconic hotel, which, besides professionalism, involves great passion. Thank you for having acknowledged it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another remarkable experience.
Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
173
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel has recently undergone extensive, beautifully done renovations and has a wonderful Grand Canal location. Unfortunately, both are spoiled by the poor and often rude service of the hotel's undertrained staff.

We booked our room on the Starwood app where it clearly states, "children 12 and under stay free in their parents room using existing bedding". We brought our two children with us, who both meet the age requirement and are tiny for their age that would have had no issue with the above stated policy and were told by the rude front desk personnel that this would not be allowed and we would need to book a second room. We had booked a suite, are Starwood Platinum members and found this to be ludicrous. After asking to speak with the manager, we were told we were now able to stay in our spacious suite but that we'd have to pay 125Euro per night to have a rollaway brought in. The hotel cited their policy of no more than 3 guests per room as the justification for doing this, despite the fact that we pointed out the Starwood website through which we booked stated otherwise.

At a hotel of this caliber (5-star and very expensive) one comes to expect a certain level of service, which simply doesn't exist at the Gritti Palace. The public rooms and suites are beautiful but the lack of service and poor customer relations prevent me from coming back or recommending this hotel. I'd recommend looking elsewhere for a stay in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken time to post your impressions on TripAdvisor, allowing us to assure you not only that we greatly value the loyalty of our Starwood Preferred Guests, but also that we are observant to all company’s policies and local regulations, which we do attentively apply.

We regret that you perceived the front desk personnel being rude and undertrained, but most of all we are really sorry that the occurrence you described spoiled your vacation.

Please allow us to try to give you a comprehensive explanation to the highlighted issue. First of all, please find below the Starwood policy as it appears in our website:

“Extra Bedding Policy
Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. The use of in-room sofa beds is considered additional bedding and will incur an additional fee. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.”

At The Gritti Palace all accommodations, regardless of the type, are designated to accommodate two people. In fact, all of them are double rooms (either with one large bed for 2 people or twin bedded with two single beds for one person each).

As explained on site and as per our authorizations, we can only add one rollaway bed (which is at cost as per Starwood’s policy), despite the size and the type of the room, for a total of 3 people per room/suite. In fact, any attempt to book a room for 2 adults and 2 children through our website is automatically rejected.

According to your post, you booked a one bedroom suite for 2 adults, with one large bed, i.e. fitted for 2 people. Given that you brought your two children with you, you were offered a second room, to create a two-bedroom suite where to accommodate the whole family.

Anyhow, in order to comply with your request and very exceptionally disregarding the authorizations, we allowed the whole family to be accommodated in the one-bedroom suite, with the related charges.

We hope that the above explanations were of help and that, as a valuable SPG guest you may consider a return stay to The Gritti Palace, allowing us the opportunity to offer you our best hospitality and care.

Sincerely yours,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's really stunning as an interior and location - one can hardly dream of a better place in Venice. Quiet, comfortable and clean. The front desk guys were slow and ineffective, the two (out of three) concierges were not enough helpful and expedient, breakfast was overpriced and disputable. The only restaurant - besides the most desired view - offered nothing to be remembered. But the bar and its terrace were really worthy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to read that you consider stunning the location and interior of our hotel and that you appreciate very much its quietness, comfort and cleanliness.

We wish to thank you for posting your comments; they are really important to us, since we do value very much all of our Guests’ opinions. Particularly, the less favorable ones allow us to identify those issues requiring a peculiar focus, or those departments, where occasionally the attention of the individual temporarily decreases giving the impression of a disputable service.

We do regret of the opinion you gathered during your stay with us and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to disclose you our best care and attention, as we are doing with the majority of our Guests.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very happy when Gritti Palace re-opened, because it has always been a perfect hotel. But on our way to the Gritti, after the renovation, we felt some misgivings: can perfection be bettered? Evidently, it can. The lobby is wonderful. Checking in provided more privacy, and was more pleasant because we were offered easy chairs. The room we prefer (212, with view of the Canal Grande) hadn't lost anything of its wonderful atmosphere with redecorating. (Maybe there is a little less space in the new closet?) Beautiful Rubelli fabrics were used, the beds were excellent, and the new marble bathroom was superb (our compliments to the designer: designing a bathroom like this, in the rather awkward, corridor-like space, mustn't have been easy). Great Aqua di Parma toiletries. We found fresh roses in our room, a bottle of very good prosecco, and a box of delicious chocolates. The restaurant looked lighter, more spacious, with the beautiful new terrazzo floor. The Explorer's Library is amazing. And so on: each day we discovered new details. The counter in the Longhi bar! Even the walls of the elevator! Great fabrics and wall coverings everywhere. There is also a new Spa, but we haven't been there.
The staff is efficient, courteous, unobtrusive, friendly. An excellent turndown service: one afternoon, after we'd had a siesta, the beds were rather rumpled. When we came back after dinner, the beds were newly made, with fresh sheets!
Sitting on the terrace with a perfect Bellini, looking at the Canal Grande, is still paradise. The breakfast buffet is very good, and it is absolutely wonderful to have breakfast outside on the terrace, in the morning sun. On two evenings we were able to have dinner outside; on our last evening there was aqua alta, so that the terrace couldn't be used (Don't worry: the water didn't come into the hotel.) As regards dinner: to us the best of the menu is the extensive list of risotto's, made with different kinds of rice. The risotto Hemingway is very good. We found the other choices on the menu a bit disappointing. But the service is better than ever.
Of course: the view on the Canal Grande couldn't be bettered. Whatever you do: ask for a room with a view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

From the moment we docked at the Gritti Palace until we departed, the Gritti Palace delivered the experience I was expecting and more. I have not seen the property prior to it's $60M renovation, but it is absolutely stunning in every detail of the decor. The room we had was so beautiful and luxurious, I felt like a little princess. Though the room did not have a view, it was very comfortable and the best sleep we had 7 days into our European vacation. The staff was wonderful and very attentive, from the check in experience, to the wait staff at Bar Longhi, to the housekeeping staff who found us after we checked out to bring me my shoes I forgot in the room.

I would highly recommend having cocktails at Bar Longhi on the veranda overlooking the grand canal to watch the sunset over the water and the church across the canal. In the evenings there is a live pianist playing your typical jazz standards. My husband and I were celebrating a long overdue honeymoon and it was this magical and romantic experience that moved me to tears...
After drinks, walk around the corner to San Marco Piazza for a light dinner at a cafe and to listen to the dueling orchestras, another must-do in this beautiful city of Venice.

Overall, it was a 5 star experience worthy of the 5 stars the Gritti Palace has earned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We checked-in to our room and there were two double beds pushed together (we were supposed to get a king). We called and told them the problem, which they said would be fixed when we returned from dinner. Four hours later (and later that evening) we returned to find nothing had been done. At $1,000/night you think they would go out of their way to make perfect? On top of this, the air conditioning had power save on it. We put it on high, but it was still very hot.

Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We take great pride in providing our guests with the highest quality standards and I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

We are usually very attentive concerning the bedding preference of our Guests and this is one of the questions we do always place during the reservation process. In those cases when the booking is not handled by the reservation department, we do normally assign our Clients to double rooms (the most required bedding type).

Your comments have been brought to the attention of the Department Heads involved for corrective action and, considering the standardized procedures already in place, I can only imagine that your experience was an isolated case most probably caused by a human error.

I regret we were not able to rectify your feelings prior to your departure, but I hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you how much we care of our Guests.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I don't know if the Gritti Palace is the finest hotel in Venice but if not, it surely comes close. My wife and I stayed 3 nights there in early July. We have promised ourselves a stay there ever since our first drinks on the terrace over a decade ago. Now, the hotel has taken 18 months to re-invent itself and it certainly shows.Fresh from this major refurbishment it looks a dream - even the public toilets were a fantasy in silver grey marble. Our room was modest but had every necessary facility and a huge bath (more beautiful marble). The staff were welcoming and helpful and the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal as magical as ever. It is not cheap, of course, but well worth saving up for a very special experience.

Room Tip: It would be worth that extra for a Grand Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re so happy to know that you and your wife just from being patrons of our bar some years ago, elected The Gritti Palace to your “home in Venice” and could recently fulfill your promise.

I am also delighted to read that The Gritti Palace “looks a dream” and that you felt welcome and well looked after by our team.

I hope you will cherish the memories of your recent sojourn, but most of all, I hope you will soon schedule another visit to Venice and to The Gritti Palace.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors on February 1st, 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.