We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 383 Hotels in Venice
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Better than perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very happy when Gritti Palace re-opened, because it has always been a perfect hotel. But on our way to the Gritti, after the renovation, we felt some misgivings: can perfection be bettered? Evidently, it can. The lobby is wonderful. Checking in provided more privacy, and was more pleasant because we were offered easy chairs. The room we prefer (212, with view of the Canal Grande) hadn't lost anything of its wonderful atmosphere with redecorating. (Maybe there is a little less space in the new closet?) Beautiful Rubelli fabrics were used, the beds were excellent, and the new marble bathroom was superb (our compliments to the designer: designing a bathroom like this, in the rather awkward, corridor-like space, mustn't have been easy). Great Aqua di Parma toiletries. We found fresh roses in our room, a bottle of very good prosecco, and a box of delicious chocolates. The restaurant looked lighter, more spacious, with the beautiful new terrazzo floor. The Explorer's Library is amazing. And so on: each day we discovered new details. The counter in the Longhi bar! Even the walls of the elevator! Great fabrics and wall coverings everywhere. There is also a new Spa, but we haven't been there.
The staff is efficient, courteous, unobtrusive, friendly. An excellent turndown service: one afternoon, after we'd had a siesta, the beds were rather rumpled. When we came back after dinner, the beds were newly made, with fresh sheets!
Sitting on the terrace with a perfect Bellini, looking at the Canal Grande, is still paradise. The breakfast buffet is very good, and it is absolutely wonderful to have breakfast outside on the terrace, in the morning sun. On two evenings we were able to have dinner outside; on our last evening there was aqua alta, so that the terrace couldn't be used (Don't worry: the water didn't come into the hotel.) As regards dinner: to us the best of the menu is the extensive list of risotto's, made with different kinds of rice. The risotto Hemingway is very good. We found the other choices on the menu a bit disappointing. But the service is better than ever.
Of course: the view on the Canal Grande couldn't be bettered. Whatever you do: ask for a room with a view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    22
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
248
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

From the moment we docked at the Gritti Palace until we departed, the Gritti Palace delivered the experience I was expecting and more. I have not seen the property prior to it's $60M renovation, but it is absolutely stunning in every detail of the decor. The room we had was so beautiful and luxurious, I felt like a little princess. Though the room did not have a view, it was very comfortable and the best sleep we had 7 days into our European vacation. The staff was wonderful and very attentive, from the check in experience, to the wait staff at Bar Longhi, to the housekeeping staff who found us after we checked out to bring me my shoes I forgot in the room.

I would highly recommend having cocktails at Bar Longhi on the veranda overlooking the grand canal to watch the sunset over the water and the church across the canal. In the evenings there is a live pianist playing your typical jazz standards. My husband and I were celebrating a long overdue honeymoon and it was this magical and romantic experience that moved me to tears...
After drinks, walk around the corner to San Marco Piazza for a light dinner at a cafe and to listen to the dueling orchestras, another must-do in this beautiful city of Venice.

Overall, it was a 5 star experience worthy of the 5 stars the Gritti Palace has earned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We checked-in to our room and there were two double beds pushed together (we were supposed to get a king). We called and told them the problem, which they said would be fixed when we returned from dinner. Four hours later (and later that evening) we returned to find nothing had been done. At $1,000/night you think they would go out of their way to make perfect? On top of this, the air conditioning had power save on it. We put it on high, but it was still very hot.

Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We take great pride in providing our guests with the highest quality standards and I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

We are usually very attentive concerning the bedding preference of our Guests and this is one of the questions we do always place during the reservation process. In those cases when the booking is not handled by the reservation department, we do normally assign our Clients to double rooms (the most required bedding type).

Your comments have been brought to the attention of the Department Heads involved for corrective action and, considering the standardized procedures already in place, I can only imagine that your experience was an isolated case most probably caused by a human error.

I regret we were not able to rectify your feelings prior to your departure, but I hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you how much we care of our Guests.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I don't know if the Gritti Palace is the finest hotel in Venice but if not, it surely comes close. My wife and I stayed 3 nights there in early July. We have promised ourselves a stay there ever since our first drinks on the terrace over a decade ago. Now, the hotel has taken 18 months to re-invent itself and it certainly shows.Fresh from this major refurbishment it looks a dream - even the public toilets were a fantasy in silver grey marble. Our room was modest but had every necessary facility and a huge bath (more beautiful marble). The staff were welcoming and helpful and the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal as magical as ever. It is not cheap, of course, but well worth saving up for a very special experience.

Room Tip: It would be worth that extra for a Grand Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re so happy to know that you and your wife just from being patrons of our bar some years ago, elected The Gritti Palace to your “home in Venice” and could recently fulfill your promise.

I am also delighted to read that The Gritti Palace “looks a dream” and that you felt welcome and well looked after by our team.

I hope you will cherish the memories of your recent sojourn, but most of all, I hope you will soon schedule another visit to Venice and to The Gritti Palace.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

All the reviews are right, this is absolutely a first class establishment. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Venice on the Grand Canal, its rooms and interiors are gorgeous and in pristine condition (just refurbished of course), public spaces and rooms are always spotless clean and service is as attentive and efficient you'd expect in such a place. If I had one caveat, it would be the restaurant. While certainly very decent, we would have expected a slightly higher caliber for a luxury hotel. But being that the hotel closed for over a year during the renovations and just reopened, it might be that the restaurant is still finding its groove. All in all, our stay at The Gritti Pleasant was blissful!

Room Tip: Giglio Prestige rooms were surprisingly big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having shared your feelings with the Trip Advisor community.

We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition concerning the attentive and efficient service.
We also wish to thank you for having expressed that you would have expected a slightly higher caliber restaurant for a luxury hotel; this will be kept into consideration in our continuous effort to improve and evolve the products and services delivered.

Learning that your stay at The Gritti Palace was blissful is the best reward we could ask for.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Gritti Palace is unlike any hotel I've every stayed in which is fitting considering how unique Venice is in general. The hotel just recently reopened after an extensive 1 year renovation. I can imagine it was an incredible undertaking, but one that most definitely paid off. Our room was probably their lowest level room and it was out of this world gorgeous. It's hard to imagine that every room had as much attention to detail, but they must. From the hand painted headboard and Venetian glass chandeliers to the complete marble bathroom (huge, whole slabs of marble), I was in heaven. I fantasized about redecorating one of our extra bedrooms exactly like it.
The only downside to this hotel was the price for the breakfast buffet and for a single drink at the bar. While I understand Venice is an expensive place, it's hard to justify a $30 Belvedere and a $70 breakfast buffet. I suggest ordering a la carte for breakfast and drinking somewhere else as it is too expensive if you are there for more than one night.
I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your tribute to the unique heritage of Venice and specifically to The Gritti Palace.

We do greatly appreciate your admiration for the outcome of the renovation works; it’s nice to read that you fantasized about redecorating one of your bedrooms like ours.

We are particularly pleased that you perceived our attention to details; we strongly believe that these are meant to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable.

We trust that you will treasure the good memories until your next visit, hopefully in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

When Gritti closed for a thorough restoration almost two years ago, I was scared. After about 20 years of constant trips to venice with my family, always staying at Gritti, I feared a heavy restoration would make it lose its atmosphere. I have followed the hard work and visited the site with the hotel manager during the intervention, but I was anyway thrilled when passing through its doors. What to say? All has changed but all is the same, and I love this!!! The staff looks proud of running such a house, they all are as kind and helpful as possible. The rooms I saw are nice, and obviously those with a canal view are stunning, especially the four glamorous corner suites (pictures on official website are not manipulated...). The terrace is a jewel and if you cannot stay at the hotel, at least get there for a coffee: it is worth the price (consider it like a museum ticket with a coffee on the house, if you want; focus also on the paintings in the lobby and bar). Food is perfect. One thing is impressing in my view: flowers everywhere, something that has almost disappeared from hotels, even top-level ones. Position: the best: directly on canal grande, 5 minutes walking to st. mark's, few steps from fenice theatre, public transportation 50 metres from main door on a very nice, calm, peaceful campo (square). Prices: high, obviously. But if you stay there you understand. And smile. I smiled a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always such a pleasure receiving kind notes and reading very nice comments and appreciations. This time particularly, since your knowledge and expertise of your “home away from home” makes you the best judge!

We are most pleased to read that you feel that The Gritti Palace has been restored to its original splendour, revealing “a refined version of its iconic self” and enhancing its unique and personal feel that is so well acknowledged by our loyal guests. As stated by you and reported by many other guests, we indeed managed to maintain the atmosphere of the past whilst at the same time bringing our house to the 21st century.

Thank you very much for highlighting your perception of the staff’s feelings towards the Gritti. Being part of this iconic hotel is a great pleasure and responsibility which implies professionalism and passion. We are most grateful to you for having recognized our commitment to service excellence.

Looking forward to many more visits of yours in the years to come…

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.