We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best - ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best - ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Imagine the the year is 1750 and you are a lord or lady attending the Carnival in Venezia, that is what it feels like when you enter the Griti Palace, the nicest hotel in Venice. The remodel they did is remarkable - how can something so new and beautiful feel so period? Our room was spacious with a huge marble bathroom and wonderful shower (and separate tub). The bed, linens, towels, etc. are all top notch. What looked to be quite fancy wallpaper turned out to be cloth on the walls, and of course a Venetian glass chandelier awaits. Service was superb, and unpretentious. Breakfast on the restaurant veranda overlooking the Grand Canal was amazing (pricey of course). The location is great, it takes 5-7 minute walk to get to St. Mark's Square and 10-15 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge. Take the Tranchetto right out front door across and you are a 2 minute walk to the Peggy Guggenheim museum. You can also catch a water taxi or Gondola right outside the door. I don't really know how much the rooms are in peak season, as I used Starwood Points (a steep 35k points per night, but worth the splurge). Upon arrival (we came via rail from Florence) it was 70 Euro for a private water taxi from the train station and took 10-15 minutes. We flew out of VCE Marco Polo - it was a 110 Euro water taxi to the airport, arranged by the hotel (about 25 minutes). I cannot wait to return to Venice and the Griti Palace!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cac258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Trabuco Canyon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We moved here after one night at the Luna Hotel on a bed which was the equivalent of sleeping on a concrete sidewalk. What a pleasant change. The entire hotel is fresh and clean, having been just remodeled and reopened this past February. The beds and pillows are supremely soft and the service impeccable Stop looking and book it- you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swamicoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wow, we went to Venice once again and as always she was beautiful, however our experience was taken to new levels by staying at the Gritti Palace in the heart of Chic Venice, but getting a FREE upgrade to stay in their premiere suite inclusive of its own gold plated lift, surrounded by great works of art and a view over the grand canal. This hotel was breathtaking in every way, especially if you love Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade, you may get lucky !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived in a water taxi we were treated like royalty. The Gritti Palace is like walking into someone's beautiful old home.
The staff were excellent from the front desk to housekeeping with an extra thanks to the concierge desk. Everyone spoke excellent english and were great to deal with.
Our room was a corner king with a huge marble bathroom overlooking the street below. Not a canal view but that is what walking around the city is for.
The hotels location is great, just a short walk from St Marks, nice shopping and dining.
The prices are expensive, but as we soon found out, just about everything in Venice is.
The quality of this property would be hard to beat anywhere, We would return !

Room Tip: Canal rooms have a nice water view but you hear a lot more noise all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTWGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review, it is really important to us to know that our staffs made you feel most welcome and provided an attentive service with a personal touch that allowed you to fully enjoy your sojourn.

We are also very pleased that you acknowledged the unique feel of our historical Venetian Palace and home and that you very much appreciated your room facing the façade of the church Santa Maria del Giglio, a baroque masterpiece, which enhanced your exploring of “La Serenissima”.

We are happy to learn that you would return to our unrivalled property. We look forward to welcoming you back when you’ll next visit Venice!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What an outstanding renovation work they have done. From arrival to departure, they will care to all your needs. They will have those special attentions and little gifts that make you feel like you are being pampered. There is no better place than the floating terrasse on the grand canal to enjoy the sun, a lunch, and aperitif, and escape the crowds at the end of a day of visits. Venice is an amazing place and museum city, but it gathers large crowds, and the Gritti will give you a wonderful hideout to settle and feel like you are a part of the city.

Have a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Italy is amazing but Venice is like another world... On the pictures everything is really amazing but when you get there you cannot turn off the smell from the canal. This was the worst problem I had while there.
Our Hotel was on a great location, staff was really nice and helpful... They recently renovated and they did a stunning job. The best thin in this hotel is the Venetian style where ever you look.
This is great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Gritti Palace for your recent Venetian sojourn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed both hotel location as well as the services delivered.

Venice is really “another world” and of course, it has its positive and negative sides. The perception of the smell from the canals can be higher or lower, even imperceptible, being it of course a natural phenomenon.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain with
Best Regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
229 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Gritti has recently reopened after a major renovation and the rooms and public areas have been beautifully re-decorated and furnished in exquisite Venetian taste. The prime location, directly on the Grand Canal, is excellent. However with the smallest rooms going for north of EUR 1,200 at peak times (e.g., during the opening days of the Biennale), one would expect more. Our room, while beautifully decorated, was rather small with a view of the wall of the adjacent building. The staff is polite and professional as expected, but not particularly friendly with smiles seldom seen and zero personal interaction. Everything (except Wi-Fi) is "extra":, e.g.EUR 4.50 for a local phone call, EUR 22.00 for two coffees and juice, two free bottles of water for the first night only despite a stay of five nights, etc. is all a bit over the top. We got the sense that the hotel is used to catering only to big spenders who throw around "big bucks". We have stayed in dozens of luxury hotels over many years and we are accustomed to paying high prices, but we doubt that we will return to The Gritti on our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your comments and your mixed feedback. Your constructive criticism helps us to improve our guest service.

I am most pleased to read that you consider our Gritti a beautiful hotel with a prime location and I hope you overall enjoyed your sojourn. At the same time, I regret to learn that your first stay at the Gritti Palace did not meet your expectations largely due to the room you reserved as well as to the price paid for the stay during the Biennale Vernissage.
Although understanding your point, I take the liberty to underline that the Vernissage of the Biennale is a unique event that occurs every two years which brings the world’s attention on to Venice and many visitors with the consequent very high demand for accommodations.

I am also sorry to read that you felt the staff not particularly friendly as we pride ourselves in delivering a discreet and personal service, which most of our guests seem to appreciate.

I will be pleased to welcome you back and have you revise your opinion and have the opportunity to change your emotions towards our Gritti Palace.

Always at your disposal, I remain, with
Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing