We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Trabuco Canyon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We moved here after one night at the Luna Hotel on a bed which was the equivalent of sleeping on a concrete sidewalk. What a pleasant change. The entire hotel is fresh and clean, having been just remodeled and reopened this past February. The beds and pillows are supremely soft and the service impeccable Stop looking and book it- you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    22
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
248
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wow, we went to Venice once again and as always she was beautiful, however our experience was taken to new levels by staying at the Gritti Palace in the heart of Chic Venice, but getting a FREE upgrade to stay in their premiere suite inclusive of its own gold plated lift, surrounded by great works of art and a view over the grand canal. This hotel was breathtaking in every way, especially if you love Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade, you may get lucky !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived in a water taxi we were treated like royalty. The Gritti Palace is like walking into someone's beautiful old home.
The staff were excellent from the front desk to housekeeping with an extra thanks to the concierge desk. Everyone spoke excellent english and were great to deal with.
Our room was a corner king with a huge marble bathroom overlooking the street below. Not a canal view but that is what walking around the city is for.
The hotels location is great, just a short walk from St Marks, nice shopping and dining.
The prices are expensive, but as we soon found out, just about everything in Venice is.
The quality of this property would be hard to beat anywhere, We would return !

Room Tip: Canal rooms have a nice water view but you hear a lot more noise all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review, it is really important to us to know that our staffs made you feel most welcome and provided an attentive service with a personal touch that allowed you to fully enjoy your sojourn.

We are also very pleased that you acknowledged the unique feel of our historical Venetian Palace and home and that you very much appreciated your room facing the façade of the church Santa Maria del Giglio, a baroque masterpiece, which enhanced your exploring of “La Serenissima”.

We are happy to learn that you would return to our unrivalled property. We look forward to welcoming you back when you’ll next visit Venice!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What an outstanding renovation work they have done. From arrival to departure, they will care to all your needs. They will have those special attentions and little gifts that make you feel like you are being pampered. There is no better place than the floating terrasse on the grand canal to enjoy the sun, a lunch, and aperitif, and escape the crowds at the end of a day of visits. Venice is an amazing place and museum city, but it gathers large crowds, and the Gritti will give you a wonderful hideout to settle and feel like you are a part of the city.

Have a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Italy is amazing but Venice is like another world... On the pictures everything is really amazing but when you get there you cannot turn off the smell from the canal. This was the worst problem I had while there.
Our Hotel was on a great location, staff was really nice and helpful... They recently renovated and they did a stunning job. The best thin in this hotel is the Venetian style where ever you look.
This is great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Gritti Palace for your recent Venetian sojourn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed both hotel location as well as the services delivered.

Venice is really “another world” and of course, it has its positive and negative sides. The perception of the smell from the canals can be higher or lower, even imperceptible, being it of course a natural phenomenon.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain with
Best Regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Gritti has recently reopened after a major renovation and the rooms and public areas have been beautifully re-decorated and furnished in exquisite Venetian taste. The prime location, directly on the Grand Canal, is excellent. However with the smallest rooms going for north of EUR 1,200 at peak times (e.g., during the opening days of the Biennale), one would expect more. Our room, while beautifully decorated, was rather small with a view of the wall of the adjacent building. The staff is polite and professional as expected, but not particularly friendly with smiles seldom seen and zero personal interaction. Everything (except Wi-Fi) is "extra":, e.g.EUR 4.50 for a local phone call, EUR 22.00 for two coffees and juice, two free bottles of water for the first night only despite a stay of five nights, etc. is all a bit over the top. We got the sense that the hotel is used to catering only to big spenders who throw around "big bucks". We have stayed in dozens of luxury hotels over many years and we are accustomed to paying high prices, but we doubt that we will return to The Gritti on our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your comments and your mixed feedback. Your constructive criticism helps us to improve our guest service.

I am most pleased to read that you consider our Gritti a beautiful hotel with a prime location and I hope you overall enjoyed your sojourn. At the same time, I regret to learn that your first stay at the Gritti Palace did not meet your expectations largely due to the room you reserved as well as to the price paid for the stay during the Biennale Vernissage.
Although understanding your point, I take the liberty to underline that the Vernissage of the Biennale is a unique event that occurs every two years which brings the world’s attention on to Venice and many visitors with the consequent very high demand for accommodations.

I am also sorry to read that you felt the staff not particularly friendly as we pride ourselves in delivering a discreet and personal service, which most of our guests seem to appreciate.

I will be pleased to welcome you back and have you revise your opinion and have the opportunity to change your emotions towards our Gritti Palace.

Always at your disposal, I remain, with
Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just completed 1 Night @ The Gritti Palace Venice and was booked into a Sestriere Suite 5 days prior to arrival by utilizing a SNA, original reservation used C+P in a Deluxe Room. This is the best hotel I've stayed at in my life so far. The checkin process was perfect and the employee even let me preview 2 different rooms and let me choose which would be best. I ended up on the 4th floor with a side canal view. I opted for the breakfast as the Platinum amenity which was a full buffet at the restaurant right on the Grand Canal. They offer cooked to order options at no charge as well. The orange juice was the best I had during my trip in Europe. A bottle of red wine complementary was waiting in my suite along with bottles of water for no charge. The Acqua di Parma bath amenities were amazing! All members of the staff were extremely helpful. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.