We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of authentic Venezia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Canottieri - CLOSED

Ai Canottieri
Cannaregio 690, Fondamenta Del Macello, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041717999
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Description: Dal 01/12/2013 abbiamo un nuovo Chef Mr. Marcello Ferro
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A taste of authentic Venezia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We bumped into this place while we were exploring off the main touristic path, and it was the highlight of our day! Ai Canottieri was exactly what we were looking for: delicious, authentic dishes at a reasonable price. The staff were very nice and helpful, even in the face of our broken Italian phrases. There is also a beautiful view at sunset. Definitely check it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanottieriVenezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ai Canottieri, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you've liked it and we wait for you if you happen to visit Venice again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good traditional food, excellent music and very good service (and fast, despite the fact that we were 14)!
This restaurant deserves a much better rating than it has!
Good place along the canal, to dance and to enjoy the atmosphere.
I recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanottieriVenezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ai Canottieri, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Google Translation
Ti ringraziamo molto per la tua ottima recensione e ti aspettiamo prossimamente quando passi per Venezia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Ask for the menu of the day, this will be recited to you by the waitress and you will be amazed by quality and quantity of the local food. It is far from some if the fancy places that you will find dotted all around Venice, but I can truly recommend it. After your meal ask for a Sgroppino, a venitian after meal drink, it is made with lemon ice cream and alcohol.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanottieriVenezia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ai Canottieri, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive review, we are pleased that you have a good memory of our restaurant.
If you happen to come to Venice again don't hesitate to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Canottieri also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Canottieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.