We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern and spacious rooms but oh dear-terrible food and rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rotonda Romea 1.2, 30175 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #272 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely modern and spacious rooms but oh dear-terrible food and rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed here for three nights as part of a tour group. The rooms were large, modern and well appointed as was the rest of the hotel.
However, the bar was hardly ever staffed and you had to go looking for someone to help you. One night, upon seeing the barman in the reception, my husband told him that he had customers waiting. The barman's response was "They will have to learn to wait". The manager was standing right behind him at the time and never made any comment.
Whether it was because we were part of a tour, I don't know but the food was abysmal. Not at all what we were expecting on our first visit to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    136
    149
    67
    43
See reviews for
92
176
21
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2009. It was a great stay and I would recommend everyone to stay in this hotel. My reasons are as follows:
1. the main city of Venice does not have any taxis or buses or even cars. All public transportation ends at the main bus/ train station and you have to take the water taxi from there to your hotel. These are VERY VERY expensive. A private one could casily cost upwards of EUR 60 for 2 persons with 2 suitcases and the public one is so full that you wont get place even to stand [and it still costs EUR 6.5 per person one way]. So if your hotel is in the main city, you will need to take a watertaxi to some where close to the hotel and then lug the suitcase around and find the hotel on foot. Its not simple when you realise that the street numbers etc are missing/ difficult to find! So it is preferable to stay outside the main city so that you can easily reach by bus or cab.
2. This hotel is pretty well connected by bus and cab. We came from Switzerland and came to the Mestre railway station [one stop before the main railway station] and rang up the hotel to ask for directions. The english speaking person who answered the phone, advised us to buy bus tickets to the bus stop near the hotel from where it was 10 min walk. The cost was EUR 1.1 per person.
3. We never took the hotel's coach to the city. the bus stop was just a 10 min walk away and return tickets were available at the tobacco shop at the bus stand.
4.The hotel itself seems to be a 3 star hotel. The staff was OK.... not very forthcoming but was helpful enough and gave the correct directions etc. Probably it was a language thing.
5. The rooms were fine/ clean/ large/ airconditioned with an electronic safe and the breakfast was also a reasonably large spread. However they impose the rule about not taking anything from the breakfast table with you for eating later [not even an apple].
6. Since you are staying outside the main city, the cost is also much lower. I think our stay cost about EUR 180 for 2 persons for 2 nights. Booked on the Holiday inn site. I think it was a great deal. You spend much lower on the hotel and travel to the city is just 30 min away [including time spent in walking to the bus stop] @ EUR 2.2 for a return ticket.
7. Because of some shopping, we took the cab back to the Mestre railway station. It cost us EUR 14 during peak hours [9 AM]

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Convenient to public transportation to commute to/from Venice, the Holiday Inn has clean, spacious and modern rooms. We only stayed one night after a 12 day cruise. We were disappointed that the hotel's shuttle bus was booked from 9am (when we arrived) to the mid-afternoon. We couldn't wait 6 hours or we would have lost most of our tour time. The staff told us how to take the public bus to Venice. We don't speak Italian but managed to get to Venice easily. It didn't go as well on the way home. We couldn't find the right stop on the way home and bus drivers weren't able to help us. We finally rode back to Venice on the bus and got a cab. We didn't use hotel facilities such as restaurants so can't speak to those. The hotel is only a 25 Euro cab ride from the cruise ship port, much cheaper than most cruise shuttle prices. There is a gas station right next to the hotel. You can buy a limited number of snack items there. Many people have commented on staff rudeness but the front desk was very helpful to us. If you take a cab to the airport, set the fare in advance. We think we got cheated by a cab driver who didn't turn on the meter. All in all, we would definitely stay again if we didn't want to stay in Venice itself.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed there in early September. When I ask "when is the first bus to the train station," the staff member told me the bus next time. I repeated my question and he got extremely impatient. He finally said I should add "in the morning" in my sentence and claimed that all the miscommunication is due to my fault. I also made several other requests and none got answered. When they answer your questions, they retreat you like prisoners.

They charge you 15 euro a day for the Internet as some European hotels. What is funny is they even do not provide free Internet in the pubic area.

The location is very bad. You need to walk 20 minutes to the bus stop. The bus goes to Venice Santa Lucia, not Mestre.

The room is small. Except the bed and walkway, there is virtually no space.

Unfortunately, I need to re-check in tomorrow. Hope they can change.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Am I in Paris or Italy? Not unfamiliar with service in Italy, my family lived here for 4 years...this was very uncharacteristic. I've never been to a hotel where people are ruder. The receptionist and the waitstaff go out of there way to be unpolite. Ive never bothered to write a review before, but the service was so offputting that I had to. This is a four star hotel, and for the money you pay its outrageous to be mistreated the way you are guaranteed to be served here. Book somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Clean, bright, friendly ( apart from shuttle bus driver - but he got us to and from Venice in quick time). Brilliant buffet breakfast. Hotel is 15 mins from main Venice bus station by road but we used the hotel shuttle bus service which cost 7 euros each per round trip. Advisable to book this the night before.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at this Holiday Inn to visit Venice.

The hotel and rooms are what you would expect, spacious, clean, modern and with lovely comfy beds.

The upsides, the beds :) 24 hour service, the polite bar and breakfast staff, the buffet breakfast has everything from bacon & eggs to fruit, pastries etc.

The downsides, the breakfast buffet is €11 each! And drinks/coffees are very expensive although you can get them day or night. We ate in the hotel one night and were not impressed at all, expensive and not tasty. Our room key didnt work on a couple of occassions and the cleaner couldnt get her master key to work to our amusement! As with another reviewer we were met with some disbelieft that our card would not work...

The hotel obviously wishes to push its €7 transfer to the centre of Venice, however, if you ask they will give you a map with directions to take the number 6 bus from a couple of streets away. Cost €1 per person each way. (although as someone mentioned, noone checks tickets)

The hotel charged us twice for our breakfasts, though quickly corrected this when asked so make sure you check!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Address: Rotonda Romea 1.2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.