We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, lovely atmosphere and excellent staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colombina to your Saves list
Hotel Colombina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, lovely atmosphere and excellent staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the stay. The location was perfect for exploring the city and it's setting on the canal was perfect as we got upgraded to a canal view room. The WiFi access wasn't great but then again when there is so much to do and see we didn't spend much time trying to access the internet. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting somewhere central with lovely views and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    267
    73
    26
    17
See reviews for
168
551
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Booked this Hotel 8months ago for our Wedding Anniversary,really looking forward to our stay!
was given Room 614 the access to this room was awful,it was a very high vertical stairway that had been made in 21st century ,very small room, shower was just a joke,management not interested in helping us as the room had already been paid for,we had booked for 4nights,we saw the rooms for people only staying one night they were lovely.The motto of this experience to only stay one night.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 614
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is great! We were given an update for the room and got Dodge suite - which is huge and in a truly Venetian style - big bedroom, big additional room, big bathroom with all facilities. The view was not to the channel, but this is actually good - since it is pretty noisy - tourists and boats.. Very close to San Marco and miscellaneous cafes and shops. All was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

For our needs this hotel was perfectly situated. It is about a 3 minute walk to St Marks Square but away from all the hustle and bustle assosciated with that area. We had booked a canal facing room and were lucky enough to be given room 303 which has the most fantastic view over the canal to the Bridge of Sighs. It had a small standing only balcony which was perfect for sharing a bottle of Prosecco as you look down on the canal (take your own corkscrew by the way) and watch the Gondaliers making their way up and down the canal.
Check in was very swift and were were in our room in no time. I think some of the other canal facing rooms may have been larger but our room was absolutely fine with a good sized bathroom and plenty of space for 2. We had the balcony which made up for any loss of space there may have been. The shower was a little tempremental but the bath at the end of the day was superb. Trust me, after all the walking you will do you will appreciate a bath to relax. Room service was very good and we had no problems at all with the room. You can hear the bells of the churches late at night but the double glazed balcony doors cut out most of it and we did not hear any noise in the mornings.
The staff throughout our stay were great, especially the very helpful reception staff. Nothing was a problem for them. Breakfast was fine, there was always enough. You can get refills of tea and coffee but we found it was easier to ask for this than wait for someone to ask you.
The one thing that struck us was that this was not a chain hotel and it was all the better for that with some very nice personal touches throughout our stay.
We researched a lot to get the right hotel in the right place at the right cost for us - and this ticked all the boxes....and more

Room Tip: Canal facing room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for several days and quite liked the hotel. We didn't have a room facing the canal--would ask for that next time, but the room was quite comfortable. It was a little warm at times so we opened the windows. We enjoyed having a drink in the lounge area each night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was on par with the other hotels we stayed in while traveling in Europe--hot items, good coffee, variety of fruit and pastries! We travelled by public boat to San Marco and found the hotel without any difficulty. The location is excellent as it is a quick walk to Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. Friends recommended the hotel and we would also do so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first time in the Colombina and Venice. We have only wonderful things to say about our four days, the Colombina is absolutely perfect for its positioning, its staff, our room and its convenience for everything we wanted to do in Venice. We arrived at the private jetty by private water taxi, well worth the expense, and were greeted by Alessandro at reception; he could not have been more genuinely helpful with advice / recommendations and help with our many queries about how to get here and there. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the canal with the Bridge of Sighs just a few metres away; the sights and sounds of the gondolas going to and fro below us; the sounds of the bells from all around us and the comfort of our room was magical. We loved the little personal touches and care that we were shown by all the staff and can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Colombina for 2 nights in April. This is a lovey small boutique hotel in a great location with a lovely atmosphere and helpful friendly staff. The water taxi takes you right up to the door of the hotel (the only way to arrive in our opinion). We had a beautiful room with a balcony, a little bit of noise in the morning from the canal but that is all part of being in Venice. Our room had stunning views along the canal to the Bridge of Sighs. Breakfast offered pastries, cold meats and cheese and a hot plate with eggs, bacon and sausages, more than adequate as we loved to go out and have elevenses at one of the 'stand up' coffee shops which are very reasonable and packed with gorgeous cakes and pastries and coffee to die for.
I have been to Venice 4 times in different hotels and The Colombina certainly ticked all our boxes, I would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it. I look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 303 or 202 have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Venice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colombina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.