We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel thanks to the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Chiara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Chiara Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Chiara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   548 Santa Croce, 30125 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #203 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel thanks to the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Santa Chiara in a superior room (canal view) together with our 2 children. The room for 4 was not very large and the beds seemed quite old. Breakfast (included) was in a small room but fresh. Very small shower.For Venice it is average/good hotel looking at the inside of the hotel. But of course the best thing about this hotel is the excellent location. Easy reachable by car/train/bus and right at the Vaporetto stop at the Piazzale Roma is unique and very practical. That is what makes this hotel unique and to be recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your feedback.
We have bigger rooms in the annex, they are about 25 square meters each and the bathrooms are 8 square meters. Maybe next time you can try those rooms!!!
:o)

I'm happy you enjoyed our location, you are right when you say that it's very convenient.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    216
    107
    47
    33
See reviews for
159
232
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in a single room in June 2012 prior to boarding a cruise. Check-in process (had an already paid for reservation) was simple enough. Porter took bags to room. Room a/c not working well - hotter inside than out. Since I was only there overnight, I did not make a big deal about it (no way it could have been repaired at that hour anyways). Lighting was minimal, room tiny and elderly, bed comfortable enough. The saving grace was the small window looking out over the Grand Canal - enjoyed sitting at desk and watching the early morning traffic.

I would look for a less expensive room further from Piazzale Roma next time if I was staying for more than one night.

Did not eat breakfast there since visiting sites was more of a priority.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Buongiorno!!!

Thank you for your review.
The room was no enormous, but it's a single room. If you need more space you have to book a double for single use.
The air conditioning is working, it was hotter in the room than in the common area because we always open them when we do the cleaning and in these days is very very hot. The air conditioning is working well (otherwise it would not have been cool in the common areas), but I understand that maybe for someone is not cool enough. Depends on where you come from!

As you said you had also the view on the Grand Canal, which can seem a normal thing but it's not, not at all. In Venice you are more than lucky if you have the view on something, having the view on the Grand Canal is the best you can have in Venice!!!

Last, but not least, the room was not expensive at all...

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here in July, and it was pretty warm. Our room never did really cool off, though there was an air conditioner. In spite of this, we had a pretty good stay. Santa Chiara is right next to the water "bus", so it was easy to jump on and off (once we figured out which bus went where!). We drove in and were able to drop our rental car off then walk to the hotel. Departed from the train station which was a quick walk over the bridge. Great service for what little service we needed on our short time in Venice.

A tiny bit frustrated over the "free shuttle" to Murano Island offered by the hotel. Sort of like a time share. We were dropped off and went in to watch glass being blown, then were taken to a "showroom". Prices were much higher here than on the rest of Murano Island, so enjoy the free shuttle, but stay strong and wait to purchase AFTER you get out of the showroom!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, which was nice, since there is a good bit of foot traffic in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry that for you the air conditioning was not cool enough, unfortunately the summer in Venice is quite hot and humid.

Please let me clarify the free Murano shuttle bus matter, even if it has been already discussed in the past.

The service is not offered by us (and if you understand this please accept my apologize), it's offered by the glass factory as a promotion. They show you the blowing of the glass and then you see the showroom (where you can see many pieces of glass that are real art operas). Obviously they hope to sell you something, but you are not forced to do that.
Concerning the prices of the glass there's a little but of confusion unfortunately, but it's due to the fact that most of the people is not able to recognize the difference between a piece of glass made in Murano and another one made in china. But they are not the same and the price is not the same!!!
Many glass factories propose a free tour, but we propose you only the best ones, who gives you guarantee and service also after the purchase.
Again, you are not forced to participate to the tour and if you participate you are not at all forced to buy anything.

Thanks again for your very nice review, have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I came for 5 days to visite Venize and the third day the money that we have in the suitcase dissapeared. The recepcionist said that only the personal who work there entered in the room to clean it. I think that the boss dont pay them enought.. We went to police station but i dont think they will do anything... So sad u.u

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
This is very offensive. We don't stole anybody's money, we don't need to do that.
My staff work with me since longtime, some people since the opening of the hotel in 1980. I trust them and I'm sure that the money has not been stolen by us.

I'm sorry for the happening, that's why I suggested you to go to the police and leave us a declaration for the insurance (that I still didn't see by the way), but I cannot accept that you assume that money has been stolen by us.

Probably you lost your money somewhere else, or you left your room open and another guest stole them.

Regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebrija, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

How lovely to get an email from the hotel several days before our stay saying they were looking forward to welcoming us and saying they would help us all they could during our visit.

The hotel location is perfect as is mentioned on many reviews and it looks picturesque. The interior is also in keeping with the style of the hotel.

Prior to our visit I emailed the hotel requesting a room in the main building and we were lucky enough to get a beautiful room on the third floor overlooking the grand canal. Definitely had the WOW factor when we opened the shutters on the windows. It was surprising how busy the canal was but we weren't affected by any noise because of the shutters.

It was fun watching from the window others struggling across the bridge pulling heavy suitcases in the hot sunshine.

Realistially the room and shower room were average sized but in our opinion were typical for a city hotel especially one of this age. This did not in any way detract from our opinion of the hotel.

The breakfast room was busy but the food was varied and good and replenished regularly.

The receptionist was brilliant, very helpful and had the patience of a saint when I had problems with my bank card on departure.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again.

Also appreciated the email from the hotel when I got home. Never had emails from a hotel before like this and I have stayed in many both on business and for pleasure. Well done Santa Chiara.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Buongiorno!!!

thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I'm happy that you contacted us in advance with your requests: this makes the things much easier for us!

We all look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Chiara Hotel for 2 nights in July. What an amazing location!! You are right next to the bus station, the train station as well as the Piazzale Roma Vaporetto Station. Easy to move while in a quiet location when the night comes. The staff was friendly and really helpful, providing us with tips and information to make the most out of our stay. We were given room 401 which consists in a junior suite and WOW!!! We were 4 traveling together (2 adults and 2 teenagers) and the room was really spacious which was a bite surprising for me given comments I read about rooms in Venice being small. An the big bonus was a private terrace of about 14X14 with a view of the Grand canal and the city. Needless to say that this was a huge benefit to us.

The breakfast buffet was probably the only thing a little disappointing. The choice was limited although what was offered was fresh and good. The service was really good and we got fresh made cappucinos every morning.

Overall, this is a great hotel, in a great spot and with great staff whichy I do not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: If you can get the room 401, go for it as you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the suggestions about the breakfast, we will try to improve.

Thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oc, ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I completely agree with NJSLondon, word for word, we enjoyed our stay here....although we were a family of four and it was a bit cramped, we were on the second floor with a great view of the busy canal....it was great to find from the train station and we were able to always find our way home from the vaporetti stops or if we were walking because we could always follow the signs to the train station. The AC was a little lacking but we were out most of the day anyways. The staff was great at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Santa Chiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!!!

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Chiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Chiara Hotel

Address: 548 Santa Croce, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Chiara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an ancient and more than 500 years old palace facing the Grand Canal, is the only hotel in Venice which offers a private parking. The rooms are furnished in Venetian style, many overlooks the Grand Canal or the water, porterage service and breakfast are included in the rate. It has a dependence 150 meters from the main building (wheelchair friendly!). It has the International Quality Trademark ISO 9001. **Small pets allowed, handicap accessible, room service available.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Santa Chiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Chiara
Santa Chiara Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Chiara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.