We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swanky hotel in a great neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #101 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“swanky hotel in a great neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Venice was my second stop in Italy and the Boscolo was for me, the perfect place to stay. It's a renovated palace and while still maintaining the elegance of a palace you certainly don't feel like you're staying in a stuffy, pretentious hotel.

The neighborhood is really quiet and filled mostly with locals and the restaurants and cafes are filled mostly with locals than tourists which is always a good sign and the food proved to be wonderful.

The hotel room was light and airy, decent sized with a comfy bed and good water pressure. My only nit picking note would be that considering the age of the structure the air conditioning was decent but some days it just wasn't up to snuff and considering how hot and muggy Venice was when I was there a more robust AC would have been very helpful.

Benedeto at the front desk was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and Omar the bar tender makes an awesome spritz and every recommendation he gave me for a place to eat turned out to be really, really good.

If you're staying here and Omar points to a place on your map and says "Eat here" you should definitely eat there.

Venice is an amazing city and this was always just a wonderful place to come home to after a day of exploration and a night of eating and drinking.

Room Tip: Don't take taxis, do yourself a favor spend 30 euro on a 72 hour pass for the ferries and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    241
    101
    56
    49
See reviews for
137
576
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were spellbound by the beautiful grounds and the service we received. It started what was a magical first time in Venice. The bathroom was pristine and the bed was very comfortable. Benedetto was extraordinary. looking forward to our next visit to Venezia which will definitely include the Boscolo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There are many things that I liked about this hotel, beautiful foyer, lovely rear garden where one can eat breakfast, pretty rooms, cleanliness and quiet location. On the other hand, the bed was not uncomfortable, but it wasn't up to "heavenly" beds at most U.S. hotels, a little hard. While I enjoyed the location of the hotel in the Canareggio district of Venice, it is a 30-40 minute walk or a long Vaparetto ride to San Marco Square. The district is a residential area offering good affordable restaurants, a small grocery store and even a local bar serving glasses of wine starting a 1.20 euros. This location is great for someone who wants to explore and enjoys wandering on foot, not for those with mobility issues. The bad things were no iron & board in room, awkward placement of towel racks over bidet, had to make sure towels were perfectly balanced on slippery rack or "oops" into the bidet. Not really comfortable with bidets, especially those little towels that are for bidet use, I am sure that they have been cleaned but knowing where they have been I don't want to use them, ugh. WARNING: bath water is scalding hot, I never experienced water coming out of a faucet that hot, do not leave children unattended for a second. Personally I did appreciate the hot water in the tub after all my tramping about in Venice but surprised at lack of anti-scalding device. Breakfast buffet was good , beautiful setting but not anywhere near the 25 euros per person charged. The truly ugly note was one of the breakfast servers, she was downright rude, a nasty piece of work. All the other staff we dealt with were pleasant and efficient. Will I visit again? Only if it is a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Boscolo Venezia, also known as Boscolo Dei Dogi, is an elegant hotel far from the bustle of San Marco. Excellent in every way. Our room was very large and very comfortable, and looked out onto the Rio Madonna dell' Orto. The hotel is smoke-free and has a large, beautiful, quiet garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel and the extensive grounds were absolutely beautiful. The gardens were so serene. The boat shuttle to San Marco Square was so helpful. The breakfasts were delicious as was dinner. Benedetto was most helpful during our stay - many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved my stay at the Boscolo Venice ! It was a beautifully designed property ... specially the restaurant where they serve breakfast opened up to the most breathtaking lawns ... the staff was warm and helpful ... food excellent ! rooms were very large according to european standards .. bathrooms were exceptionally large and well equipped ! quite enjoyed the location .. even though it was a little away from marco square but the shuttles were frequent and an enjoyable ride !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was total exhilaration once we stepped into this Boscolo palace hotel. It is full of character, ambiance, and charming. It feels like a palace some times and as a museum at other times. It was great to step into this hotel after staying at Rome Marriott Grand which was again a good hotel. The staff upgraded us to a junior suite facing the canal. Our kids really enjoyed the two level suite with spiral steps.

The hotel is situated away from tourist spots. It is actually the other side of the island that is opposite to the side of the San Macro square. We enjoyed the quite evening strolls on the canal roads near hotel. There is a water boat that takes the guests back and forth to San Marco. The hotel offers free tours to Murano glass factory. The tour was good but the glass was as expensive as gold. Needless to say, we didn’t buy the glass.

Staff was helpful with suggestions about restaurants and directions. Breakfast was sumptuous with great quality. The buffet includes one made to order hot dish. All in all, the hotel and the staff helped us to make our Venice trip a memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#29 Business Hotel in Venice
#56 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#75 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#120 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.