We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way magnificence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #100 of 382 hotels in Venice
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Out of the way magnificence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is a fairly long way from St. Marks Square. That said, there is a lot to like: beautiful if somewhat unique rooms, nice view of the lagoon from some rooms, a lovely interior courtyard and, most important, truely wonderful staff. Everyone did an amazing job making the difficulty of language and culture disappear during our stay. They never took offense to our inquires (often a bit obtuse) nor laughed when they saw how much luggage we carried. And the walk to St. Marks Square and other locations became an adventure as we sought out meals, shopping, and the wonderful venues for another lovely photograph (we took over 4k in 2 days in Venice). We ended up walking 8-10 miles each day and enjoyed every step even if we were a bit sore at the end of the day. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center and the restaurant is somwhat expensive. Walking took care of fitness ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    201
    87
    52
    42
See reviews for
103
456
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Probably the finest in Venice for five-star service, quiet and historic rooms and, especially, away from the cruise ship 'effluvium' that pervades the rest of the islands... Breakfast is a large buffet and also a menu of different kitchen-prepared items. Very much worth the price because you might not care for or want lunch. Patience of multi-lingual staff with the jet-lagged and first-time international travellers is a large part of why I give Boscolo Venezia this highest rating.

Room Tip: I rated location a 5. It is AWAY from the insane crowds and lost-sheep tour groups that exist closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Was whisked away for a romantic weekend in Venice. Arrived at night by water taxi to the Hotel. Okay it cost around 70 euros (probably more than the flight from UK, but it was very James Bond-esque..
We normally stay in modern hotels, but this is simply beautiful and so traditional and Venezian in architecture that it wouldnt have made the weekend half as charming had we opted for a modern hotel...
Ive been told that it is the only Hotel in Venice with a garden...or at least a garden that big...especially for Venice! Walking through it to our room each day was enchanting and a great way to enwind or refresh before going for breakfast.
Absolutely 100% would love to return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Everything we wanted to say has already been said! What can we add? Lots of hot water! Lots of peace and quiet! Lots of friendly staff! Extremely comfortable beds! Hugest and best breakfast in Italy, with prosecco for mimosas! The private garden alone is worth the price of admission - a haven of rest to rejuvenate body and soul. The private taxi is a gorgeous wooden motor boat fit for visiting royalty. As a matter of fact, we'll just end our review by saying that every single staff member at Boscolo treated us as if we WERE visiting royalty. Do not hesitate! Go!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

As a Marriott Platnum member, I spend a good part of the year in hotels. My stay at the Boscolo Venezia was by far my best stay at a hotel ever. Giuseppe, Mariana, and Phillip could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. All of the staff at the hotel were extremely courteous and helpful. As for the hotel, magnificent should say it all. Can't wait to return. Thank you all for making my first trip to Venice a 5 star experience.
Robert Tassone
New York

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel in Venice, Italy was a fantastic hotel. The service from the hotel staff was personable and professional. GM Giuseppe Pontrendolfo was always there to greet or assit his guests.
The location of the property was extremely convienent for airport bus or taxi (First stop) and was only a short walk from the Grand Canal.
The hotel is a former French Embassy and provides it's guests with a luxurious decor in an intimate setting. The hotels gargen is very beautiful and the largest garden in Venice. The food service is terrific.
The hotel is located in a residential section of Venice which really makes you feel part of the neighborhood. Away from the crowds of San Marco but only a short pleasant walk to the Rialto Bridge and water taxi's to anywhere along the Grand Canal. They also have there own private water taxi for excursions to Morano and Burano Islands.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for an exception hotel in a great location in Venice.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite is Awesome if you can get it. I would recommend a room closer to the lagoon a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

When I first booked here I was a bit nervous. The reviews were mixed and many reviewers thought the distances from St Marks was an issue. Secondly as a business traveler that does 130 nights a year I love my Marriotts when i am at a conference or having meetings but never convinced Marriott does upscale boutique style hotels very well. I am a huge Marriott fan but everyone has a niche. In the last year I have started staying at their Autograph collection and really been impressed. From the Carlton and Algonquin in NYC to the one in Minneapolis I have been impressed with the really different approach. So , in that spirit we booked for a 4 night stay.

Hotel. It's lovely. Built around an amazing hidden garden that serves as a retreat from the throngs of St Marks we spent most afternoons on the loungers reading and enjoying the calm between our morning and afternoon forays into the heart of Venice. The building has been beautifully maintained , the rooms are well appointed and there is nothing Marriott about it. Our room was at the end of the garden with a beautiful indoor terrace. Only drawback that the bed was upstairs in the loft and the bathroom was downstairs which was a bit of a hassle Stil it was lovely and very quiet

Service. Overall very friendly and sincere. They went out if their way to make reservations organize excursionsv and really looked after us when askedv Martina at the front desk was particularly friendly and helpful and we got used to sharing our plans with herbevery morning as we left for the day She was great
Location. Okay it's a 30 to 40 minute walk into the tourist heart of darkness that is St Marks . We saw this as a real advantage but we love to walk and explore. We loved the location because it allowed us to see a side of Venice with real people and less touristy shops and facilities it's the first time I've come to Venice and felt I saw its real sides and not just its amazing but mostly for tourist benefit core. And the hotel is so lovely to come back to with that amazing garden beckoning us

Food. We both agreed that we had maybe one of the top 10 vegetable soups in our lives for lunch the day we arrived there but other than that we only ate breakfast there. As a exec platinum member I get free breakfasts so it was filling and tasty but if had to pay 30 euros for it I probably would have eaten elsewhere
Overall, we really loved our stay there and luxurious surroundings and beautiful garden really impressed us. Service was outstanding and for us the location with very easy vaporetto access was a plus. I would really encourage you to try this hotel. I will definitely stay here next time I return to Venice

Room Tip: Avoid the loft bedrooms if you feel the upstairs downstairs wc is an issue. We loved ours but I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#32 Business Hotel in Venice
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#76 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#112 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.