We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoia & Jolanda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoia & Jolanda Hotel to your Saves list
Savoia & Jolanda Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello Riva Degli Schiavoni 4187, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this very good hotel. Service was excellent, rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was very good and with an outside table you also had an amazing view. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the St Mark's Square and absolutely opposite the water bus stop - 20 yards walk, which is a bonus. Didn't eat there as because of it's prime site it was on the top side, but there are plenty of good, reasonably priced restaurants to choose from if you avoid the main tourist areas.Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    312
    83
    26
    41
See reviews for
146
538
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked 2 days here. The size of the room is nice considering how tiny the shower is. Hotel staff was very helpful and booked gondola rides for us so we didn't have to wait in the ridiculously long lines in front of the hotel. Our room didn't look out to the canal, but when we opened the window, we can smell the great smell of whatever they're cooking down the street from us and we were constantly hungry. You can get lost walking around in that area and end right back on the canal and it'll lead you right back to the hotel. Don't use the elevator because it is very tiny! Overall, this is one of the places we enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The first good thing about this hotel is that the front door is dead opposite the San Zaccharia landing stage so no problems with getting luggage hauled over Venice's many bridges.

The reception was friendly and the room clean and tidy as it was during our 5 day stay. Bath robes and fresh towels and sheets provided every day as one might expect but at other places often find wanting.

Very good food and helpful waiters at all times. Really there was nothing to complain about at all. Even the weather was very good despite a very iffy forecast!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Oh savoia! I can't say enough good things about this place to justify the amazing experiences.

This was our second time staying here and I am upset with myself for not writing this review last year.

Perfect location! 2 bridges from Per San Marco. Also, right in front of the water buses, taxis, and gondolas. (on a side note, if you decide to ride a gondola, look for Roberto Nardin, 3rd generation gondolier and wonderful!) I highly recommend trying to get a room with a view because, what a view it is! We stayed in a junior suite and it was very spacious, with a balcony over looking the Grand Lagoon. I feel like the staff is family. I know Italians are friendly people, but the staff at hotel savoia goes above and beyond! Mikael, Hans, and Tomas are 3 of my favorite Italians! What amazing personalities and kind hearts! So helpful as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed 7 days in grand canal view room.
room is nice, roomy, nicely decorated, quiet and clean. aircon works well with shade drawn at appropriate times. great views of canal see coming and goings and the view of venice is so good.
had to ensure reception give us the correct room we booked and paid for.
restaurant is fantastic-the staff is so good. we bought the half board and they looked after us so well-service and food wise, could not get better food anywhere once they realized we are there for 1 week the staff all came together to give us the best, we really enjoyed the meals. breakfast is more than adequate.
hotel is located right in front of the actv ferries and with the venice card its really convenient whatever the weather. one can see the timetable from your room and stroll down to catch the ferry just when it is coming. and get homw so easy after a long day out. venice is walk of take the ferry or private water taxis.
have a good time when you go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shore city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose this hotel, as it was right on the waterfront so we did not have to drag our suitcases over all the bridges in Venice. The reception is lovely, and the young women on the desk have very good English and were most helpful. The room was quite, but quite dark with heavy drapery, (not good for asthmatics. I was clean though, and amazingly the sheets on the bed were changed each day. Lovely. Breakfast (full) was included. It may be a little more expensive than some of the other back street hotels, but for those who don't want to walk for miles before you catch the water bus, this is ideal. Just around the corner from San Marco square too. Beds a little too firm.

Room Tip: Just make sure you open the shutters. Then you may see the city. The main views at the front ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated one bridge from San Marco opposite San Giorgio Maggiore on the lagoon this is a lovely hotel.
We had 2 nights there and were right near the vaporetti stops to anywhere also the water taxi stand for easy access to the airport.
Full Breakfast was at the outdoor restaurant on the waterfront watching the passing parade.
Free wifi throughout but especially good in the reception area. Rooms were small as is the norm in Europe but very beautiful in classic Italian style. Good quiet aircon.
Friendly and helpful personnel at reception assisted us when needed.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook a small street which may be noisy at times if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoia & Jolanda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia & Jolanda Hotel

Address: Castello Riva Degli Schiavoni 4187, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#86 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#87 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoia & Jolanda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Venice Hotel Savoia & Jolanda is located in the historical center of Venice, a few minutes away from St. Mark Square, in a splendid position along Riva degli Schiavoni, in front of the Venice lagoon, from there it enjoys the unforgettable view of Saint Mark's Basin and the St. George Island. Its position allows one to reach easily the Mercerie and Via XXII Marzo with some of the world's finest shopping and to visit the Venice palaces, museums and the art galleries, lesser-known Venice like the more fascinating and secluded as the Sestiere Castello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Savoia & Jolanda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia And Jolanda Hotel
Savoia Jolanda Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoia & Jolanda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.