We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Hotel Olimpia Venezia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #38 of 380 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Western Hotel Olimpia Venezia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 days in this hotel in late October 2012. It is very well located, near Piazzale Roma, the cruise terminal, and the vaporetto station. There is also a very good supermarket near the vaporetto station. Walking distance to many attractions is enjoyable and interesting. Reception staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, breakfast room was delightful as was the breakfast. A nice outdoor area with garden is available for some quiet time. Good value for money, considering the prices of Venetian hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    400
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
241
578
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location, which was excellent. However the room was disappointing we paid extra for a room in the main hotel but were allocated a room in the annex. The room was dark smelt musty and the spare bed cover was so dusty that it was unusable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOlimpia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We are extremely sorry and surprised to receive your bad review. The cleanness is absolutely a must for us and we daily work hard, in order to maintain every single part of the Hotel in perfect hygienic conditions.
A particular attention is given to the rooms in every detail: from the bathroom to the upholsteries. It is our deep regret not having fulfilled your expectations.
Concerning the fact of being allocated in the annex, we only provide annex rooms to the clients who reserve this specific room type ( the annex rooms have a lower rate, compared to the standard-main building rooms ).
Please be so kind as to give us more infos about your reservation, in order to investigate and give a detailed answer to your issue.
Thank you very much for your feedback, it has been highly appreciated and it would be helpful to improve the quality of our services.
Kind Regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting Venice. It is close to the cruise ships, bus lines, train station, and water taxis. Very easy to get around. There were 8 of us traveling together and we had four different rooms all very nice. The breakfast was good in a very nice room. Recommend especially if you are going to or from a cruise. The front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A four day break in venice for my wife and friends,2 other married couples ages 45-50.
Everything about this break was excellent right from the off.B A .flight,water taxi from Marco Polo airport etc all excellent. This great little hotel was the icing on the cake.Perfect size.Ideally positioned.Quiet enough when needed but staff so attentive when we needed night cap at the quaint Venician deco bar .Reception was a thoroughly professional but light hearted experience with some unique characters on the pay role. They were excellent in every way , particularly in directing us to traditional back street restaurants they resulted in perfect nights out..All this was done with budgets in mind and this hotel was best value for money I've experienced in a long time.B and B were again excellent.I will visit Venice again and will not even bother looking elsewhere to stay.Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: some rooms over look bus station.others over canals etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We choose this hotel for the location as we were taking a cruise and wanted to near the port. But we were very dissappointed in our room which was extremely lacking in comfort even by European standards. We've stayed in Venice before and when comparing the ambiance and quality of the room to that of similarly priced hotels the Olimpia is not up to par. We booked a premium room to make sure we had enough space for luggage etc. So imagine our surprise to find our extra space we paid for taken up by an additional single bed thus giving us less space than a standard room. The main reason for the poor rating is the quality of the bed and pillows. By far the worse we've experienced in our many travels for this quality of a hotel. The bed was extremely hard and the pillow felt like it was stuffed with rocks. It was just impossible to get a good night’s rest. Woke up sore and tired each morning of our stay. When asked if there were softer pillows reception said no but not to feel bad they get many complaints on the bedding accommodations. Also, the safe in our room was so loosely bolted on top of a small dresser it could have come off with a good tug. To a good point, we found the breakfast very nice with plenty to choose from and the staff very accommodating and knowledgeable. In hindsight, we should have stayed at a little better hotel especially since it was pouring when we left for the ship and could not use the people mover like we planned. Venice is a difficult port for cruisers no matter when you stay so make sure your hotel is truly part of the Venetian experience which the Olimpia is not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOlimpia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We are extremely sorry to receive your bad review, since we have tryed to do our best to let you have a pleasant stay from the biginning to the end, giving you full infos, suggestions and attention any time.
Let’s try to reply to your complaint step by step:
You did a reservation for a standard room requiring a canal view ( if avaliable not guaranteed ).
We provided you a canal view and took good care of you doing our best to satisfy your needs.
It is our deep regret not having fulfilled your expectations.
Concerning the comfort of the bed and pillows, your suggestions have been highly appreciated and soon implemented.
Just a little note about the mattresses. They respond to the regular standard, suggested by The National Health Dept. ( soft mattresses can easily hurts your spine ).
It is a pity that you could not use the People Mover fast train to get to the port. This particular service was created for cruisers and there are many street signs, to give directions in order to get there easily.
We really thank you, for the precious feedback you wrote us, it will help to improve our services and the quality of our comfort.
Respectfully
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel was very clean, room was very spacious. Loacation was very convenient to rail, car parking, and water bus. Breakfast was average and adequate. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average and quite adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel. Nice view of the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Okay its better than just a pre/post cruise hotel as it is in a great location, clean with very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast in a beautiful breakfast room. But if you happen to be on a cruise ship, this hotel is exceptional as in addition to all the above it is in with easy steps to the people mover to the cruise ship terminal. Okay you do have a couple of small bridges to carry your luggage over but some years ago we stayed closer to St. Mark's square and we lugged our luggage several bridges and that is when I realized that it why it is caller "luggage". But if you are at all abled bodied the location to the terminal is very convenient. I also noticed that with those guests who would have trouble with their luggage the staff at the hotel do call a water taxi and they do help you to the taxi which takes you by water to the cruise ship. Actually a very nice way to see your cruise ship. Another bonus is that the Hotel Olimpia also has good size safes in the rooms as well as good free wifi. I haven't read many of the reviews here, but if anyone has complained about the size of the rooms, for Europe and specifically Venice, these rooms are of very adequate size and our room had a very modern and beautiful bathroom. This hotel also has an elevator, okay the size of a shoebox and good for a few pieces of luggage and one person, but again for Venice, at least there is an elevator, as mentioned of my previous experience we were also going on a cruise (so packed accordingly), and in addition to lugging the luggage our hotel of choice did not have an elevator so climbing four flights of stairs with one suitcase at a time was not thrilling at 3 o'clock in the morning, so a hotel with an elevator is better than no elevator at all. BTW our room was right on the canal across from the bus terminal and we thought this was going to be noisy, but alas, with the double glazed windows closed this room was dead quite. When returning to Venice we will be very happy to have found this wonderful hotel and will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia

Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTELThe hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard.The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are all decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;