We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #47 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel was a perfect launching point for exploring Venice. It is extremely convenient to the Train Station, Bus Station, and the Cruise Port (the People Mover located next to the Bus Station, takes you straight to the Cruise Port for 1 Euro). We had a lot of heavy luggage, so the location was absolutely perfect. You can see the hotel's sign from the Bus Station, and then you just have to walk over two small bridges to get there.

The hotel's location serves as an easy jumping off point for exploring Venice. The vaporetto station (water bus) is a two minute walk, and one of the lines there takes you straight down the grand canal. It was also quite easy to explore Venice by foot from the hotel. The hotel offers maps of Venice with a suggested route outlined in red, in reality though, maps in general are kind of difficult to use in Venice. It is easier to just follow the posted signs that with guide you to the major locations (like St. Mark's Square or the Bus Station).

Our room was in the separate section of the hotel. It's a couple doorways down from the main hotel where the front desk is located. You need a couple different keys to get into this section of the hotel, and it seems like some of the floors contain regular apartments, not just hotel rooms. There isn't an elevator in this section, and you have to climb 3-flights of stairs, but we didn't find it to be a problem. Our room was very nice. We had a large window that overlooked the canal. The decor was very period, think Louis XIV, but it was charming and I loved it! Nothing seemed dated to me. The bathroom was nicely appointed as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    457
    62
    17
    9
See reviews for
270
671
28
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Md USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We loved out stay! So close from train station did not need water taxi, a good ten minute walk with too much luggage! My fault! Lots of steps but not terrible. Emailed ahead of time with request for room with a view and they had us on top floor which was very safe, we even had our window open at night. Do not recommend restaurant next door, not the best, walk further into Venice, go to Ala Madonna , it's excellent the food was amazing. Service at hotel was nice. They do need more than one computer. But do have free Wi Fi so using Skype on my IPhone was so nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I cannot say enough about this Best Western Hotel. Great location for Cruiser...close to COOP stores for those last minute items before your cruise.
Beautiful rooms, great breakfast, the Front Desk service "THE BEST", very accommodating with holding luggage etc… ask them for restaurant suggestions. When I return to Venice … no question, I will return to this Hotel… Just a wonderful 3 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you are cruising, this a great location. We walked from cruise terminal to Piaza Roma. The hotel is visible from the Piaza. You can get to the airport by bus, cab, or water taxi practically from the front door. The room was small but had a nice view. We left the window and shutters open and it still was not too noisy, although there is activity going on almost all night. Small but usable elevator, which you don't always get. The location and ease of travel made it worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for the delux rooms in the main or original part of the hotel. For a few extra bucks you get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed over the Christmas break and couldn't be happier! The location is extremely convenient for any type of arrival (more so for bus or taxi) and conveniently located near a vaporetto stop. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were quite tiny, but it is Venice, and the prices are more than fair for location and quality.

Watch out for the new Venice tourist tax that will be charged independent of your reservation (3 Euros per person per day)

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a view of the canal, but some have complained that this is a bit noisy (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very quaint hotel within walking distance of the train station and cruise terminal. About a 15 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. 5 minute walk to the train station.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at this inn September 2011 on our first European vacation - and were wowed. It is a charming facility with a beautiful garden that you can view from the patio while eating an amazing breakfast! The location was excellent - just a very short way to Piazalle Roma as well as the shuttle to the cruise terminal. We arrived a few days early for a cruise and this hotel was an excellent starting point to visit all of Venice. The next time we go (and we will go again!), we are likely to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia

Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Venice
#20 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTELThe hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard.The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are all decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.