We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located as it's just across from the station. The building is typically Venetian and in good overall condition. The roof terrace is really very good and worth a visit. We chose the standard rooms which were more than adequate for our purposes. They were a decent size, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was great to find that a safe was provided in the room which wasn't charged extra for! Breakfast was great with plenty of choice though understandably very busy if you arrived at the wrong time! Most of the staff were really very friendly, helpful and appeared to be interested in making our stay a pleasant one. However, I've read some comments about hotel staff and the only exception was one of the reception staff (bald head with no name badge!) who was rude and ignorant to us on a couple of occasions so if we wanted anything we simply waited until he wasn't there! Overall, a really nice hotel with many good points and we would definitely stay there again providing we could avoid 'that receptionist'!

Room Tip: The standard rooms seem to offer good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    705
    227
    93
    40
See reviews for
247
870
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient position, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and across the road from the boat bus and railway station. Our room was large and nicely furnished though the bathroom could certainly do with some updating, the towels and bed linen were changed every day.However the breakfast was very disappointing, cold scambled egg, poor choice of cold cuts and fruit, I certainly would have expected higher quality and more choice. The staff were very friendly which unfortunately is more than can be said for most of the waiters in the restaurants in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Not at all a pleasant stay. The hotel staff at the reception was stuck up, not anxious to help. The breakfast was the worst till date of my life. Cold scrambled , bad cold cuts ,... decided to skip it on the 2nd day. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Location is very convenient. Across the Grand Canal from the train station and just a few minutes walk from the main bus station in Piazzale Roma. Took the bus from the airport and then easy walk. Note to those new to Venice: you have to pay a porter or carry your luggage over the bridges that are only stairs. Many people are not ready for this.
Hotel is OK. Rooms were small, but typical European style. Bed was fine, no luxury. Only one pillow and thin. Bedding looked worn and old. Rooms have fabric on the walls which looks OK but could be easily dirty and not washable. Bathroom is OK, shower is small and the fabric shower curtain will come in contact with your body, which I found a bit bothersome (recommend upgrading to more sanitary class wall). Wi-fi in rooms was free, but intermittent. Room offered a small refrigerator and safe.
Breakfast was good. Satisfying selection.
Staff was very kind and service oriented.
There is a very nice rooftop bar, advertised as the best rooftop bar in Venice. Disappointing is the hours. On Easter weekend in April, it was open 12:00-18:00 and the sign on the street said only 16:00. Don't know what summer hours are, but be aware.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location is great... Just across from the train and bus stations and and easy walk to get a cab to the airport. Everything else about the hotel is just OK. As with a lot of other things in Venice, you get the sense that the staff is just putting up with you. We stayed three nights and it was mostly quiet, except for one morning when the loud, wall-shaking banging began at 7am. The breakfast is ok, and the room was ok.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We took the bus from the airport when we arrived at this hotel is in a great location - about a 5 -10 minute walk from the main bus station in Plazza de Romana. It is right on the canal, and you just have to cross the bridge to the nearest water bus stop which is also where the train station is.

Our first impressions were great, the hotel was very friendly and the receptionist told us they would be happy to book water taxis and tours for us if we wanted. He gave us a map and circled important land marks which was very useful as we were walking around.
The room was spacious - we had a triple - decor was old fashioned, typical venetian style but it was pleasant enough. Both the room and the bathroom were cleaned daily to a high standard, and the rooms were very quiet!
We stayed half board. Breakfast was a buffet which had everything you would want; bread, pastries, cereal, yoghurts & Bacon and scrambled egg. The fruit salad could have been better though, it was definitely straight from a tin - still in the syrup!
The dinner included 3 courses and was absolutely delicious! My daughter doesn't eat meat so the main menu was quite limiting - and it definitely would have been pasta everyday if she didn't eat fish - so if you're completely vegetarian it'd be worth contacting the hotel before booking.
On our last night, Filipe was fantastic - he kept bringing us extra treats - not that we needed any after such filling dinners but it was lovely any how
We had cocktails in the terrace bar one day which was perfect to escape the hassle of venice as it was very busy - these were pricey but the atmosphere & service made it worth it!

All the staff were very friendly - overall, we had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location of the hotel was great. It's directly opposite the boat bus which takes you all around venice, we paid £25 euro for 36 hours of use.

Hotel was ok. Our room was small, especially as we had a baby travel cot in there but our parents rooms where a lot bigger with a balcony. The rooms where getting a little old and in need of a little update. Breakfast was tasty with quite a bit variety.

I would recommend hotel for location and good value.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#129 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, WHM Global Ltd., Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.