We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, more 3* than 4* but handy for train station...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice location, more 3* than 4* but handy for train station...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Check-in was pleasant enough, and the staff friendly. We were informed our rooms weren't ready but helpfully given a map and the route pointed out to the Rialto Bridge & St Marks Square. Left our luggage in the lobby area albeit I'm not sure if they were secure as we saw a few suitcases in hallways unattended so you may risk your valuables.

Room itself was nothing to write home about, some might prefer the Venetian style, even if a little tired but view was non-existent. Quite dark room as even when the shutters were open the view was of another brick wall & the neighbours windows looking in so tended to keep net curtains drawn. For me it felt quite claustrophobic, and I've realised I do relish somewhere with a view and ideally a balcony or where you can properly open the window and see something of some sort.

Rooms are also vulnerable to noise from others around you. For example I could hear someone next door who for some reason appeared to be switching lights on & off constantly(?), someone coughing, closing doors as well as the noise of water flushing as people used their facilities. Partner however (who's a light sleeper) heard nothing so maybe it was just me, and I did sleep better the second night. There'a also some noise during the day at present from across the street where some sort of renovation/construction is going on - it didn't bother me whilst sitting outside but some people might like to be aware.

Bed comfortable enough but only one pillow each which was fairly flat & hard. I like a feather pillow & preferably two but again partner said he quite liked them! See how subjective reviews can be, hence trying to be objective & keep this balanced!!

Fairly limited hanging space & hangers, no more than 8. Sufficient if only staying a few days but limited areas to put your stuff. For example bedside tables barely hold a glass & reading book which could be fine for some. We ended up putting most of our bits for the bathroom either on the stool in there or the main table in bedroom, as sink is cluttered with glasses & holders.

Shower over bath hot but curtain annoying as bath quite narrow so curtain billows in and sticks to you whilst showering. Silly I know but quite annoying & again I felt claustrophobic. Answer is to shower with the curtain open, but be careful when stepping out onto the wet floor as it's slippery.

No wifi in room. One dial-up lead, fine if only one of you wants to surf the net! Plus it costs 12 Euros per 24hrs. Free wifi in lobby area with password from reception, so sat outside hotel having a coffee with my laptop but it is frustrating not having it in the room.

Location right on the canal is great but not visible from the £200per night rooms, albeit we didn't ask if we could change so I guess on reflection it might have been worth a try. Handy for train station dead opposite. Area generally is good, wandered around back streets and came across lots of bars/eateries (out of hotel door, first right and we just kept wandering...)

Sky Terrace is lovely for cocktails but only open from 6pm. Waiter also recommended fabulous restaurant about 15min walk away. Da Fiore - booking recommended. Don Johnson of Miami Vice fame turned up whilst we were there! Amazing food, top service but pricy. Nice if you want to splash out and treat yourself.

Breakfast consists of scrambled egg/bacon, cold meats & cheese, plenty of fresh fruit, croissants, jams, yoghurts, cereals. Bread slightly disappointing as looked like cheap sliced white & tastes slightly sweet, brown & white rolls also available as an alternative. Coffee however was good, hot, strong & served with a jug of hot frothy milk.

To sum up it feels more like a 3* than 4* and I wouldn't choose to stay here again but that's my personal opinion. I prefer somewhere more modern, and with a more airy feel to the room, but you need to take a balanced view & decide what's right for you. General service whilst a bit slow, is fine, staff are friendly enough, and it's just the Italian way.

Room Tip: £200pn room had a view of a brick wall, with others windows facing on. Some nice courtyard rooms, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    753
    241
    96
    44
See reviews for
260
934
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Carlton and really enjoyed our experience. In Venice the hotels tend to be quite small and requiring refurbishment. This is not however the case for the Carlton. The hotel is comfortable and the rooms are decorated in a style that agrees with the city - a bit elaborated for my taste but appropriate. We had a room with a view to the Canal Grande which is always a plus. The room was spacious and very comfortable.

The best part of the hotel is the rooftop terrace bar, great afternoons and early evenings with pleasant - even if slightly expensive - drinks. The service is not quick but waiters are very friendly.

Staff at reception and breakfast are however rather unpleasant and rude. Comments made in Italian - which they may imagine guests won't understand - about the guests are just plain rude. The staff at breakfast are, at least, efficient but forget about getting any smiles.

In terms of location, the hotel is very close to Santa Lucia stn and close to the car park, so ideal if you are arriving to Venice by car or train, and also very close to the airport bus terminal. Bear in mind though that it is quite a long walk to Rialto and San Marco so you really need to decide what your priorities are. It might also take you 40mins on the vaporeto to get you to main touristic attractions.

All in all this is a great place to stay, comfortable, spacious and almost has a luxury feel to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lerickson3
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently went on a tour of Italy through Gate 1 travel and this is their Venice hotel. Rooms are very small but very accommodating and well planned for the small space. Shower is very tiny. Hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was my third visit to Venice. I booked a triple superior room for three adults. The hotel is conveniently located across from the train station so it is literally impossible to get lost. The lobby was bright, elegant and beautiful. When we arrived to our room, I have to admit that I was disappointed and was obviously paying for the location of the hotel. Yes, it was small, clean, a bit dated, decorated in typical quaint Venetian decor (qualities I expected) but OVER PRICED. At breakfast, I noticed the hotel catered to tour groups (signs pointed where the tour was to congregate for breakfast which is another negative point). I am avid traveler and have stayed in *** star rooms and was GREATLY impressed and thought it should have been rated higher. I have stayed in *** star rooms where it was that *** stars (not a big deal, I was expecting it). I have also had the opportunity to SPLURGE (paying just as much) and stay in ***** star rooms and truly indulged in the luxury, ambience and quality of every single star ... and LOOOOVED IT! So, my suggestion is find another quaint hotel off one of the canals, with a quaint fair price and save yourself a lot of dollars/euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEEHAWKEN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Rooms very clean, very small, poor air conditioned. Safety box did not work and although reported the day of my arrival, nobody ever came to fix it. If you are a big person, you will not fit in beds, since they are extremely narrow and small. Breakfast and dinner were okay. Very good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the Rooftop Junior Suite at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a special trip to mark our 15th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we encountered helpful; professional and friendly staff who went out of their way to make our trip a memorable one. We enjoyed excellent food in both the Rooftop Bar; the restaurant and in our room. The location of the hotel opposite the train station and right on the Grand Canal is idea if you are looking for a hotel with a good view but away from the hustle of the tourist hot spots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights as a part of a tour group. The location of the hotel is awesome! It is situated right on the grand canale. It is close to food and to the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms, although small, were comfortable and had an old world charm. The hotel had a nice feel about it. The buffet breakfast was excellant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#137 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.