We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Principe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 382 hotels in Venice
southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned after my fifth visit to the principe hotel.
Very good location
Spotless rooms
Friendly
staff & an excellent breakfast.
Best way to get to venice from Marco Polo airport is the express coach 11euros each return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    378
    167
    85
    53
See reviews for
159
457
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 10 long days from late October- early November 2012. My review on this hotel is very mixed. We took water taxi from the airport to the hotel. The hotel had a dock by the water so it was perfect . The hotel is located near the FerroVia Train station. Our room was on the 1st floor with a great view of the Grand canal. The room is small but it is expected being Venice. The bed was the hardest ,the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in. The room had minimal decoration but fairly nice with a little bit of antique furniture and Murano glass chandeliers. The Chest of drawers ( i presume it was antique ) sort of fell apart when we were trying to open it. The bathroom was fairly modern and clean. The best part of the room was the breathtaking view!!
Breakfast was ok, not anything exceptional. After a few days of eating the SAME breakfast i was a bit tiered of it.
On our 3 day, It was an overcast day. One of the guys at the front desk highly suggested to go to the Murano island and arranged a free water taxi for us. We were surprised that transportation was free b/c water taxies are quite pricy. We were dropped off at Signoretti Murano Venetian glass center. They have the most amazing Murano chandeliers etc but extremely expensive. We were a bit pressured by the sales man to buy some of their chandeliers but we were not prepared to drop 10k Euros on a chandelier ;-( ( obviously the hotel has business arrangement with them )
On our 4th day morning while we were having breakfast at the restaurant which is located on the ground floor we literally watched the water rise up from the canal and flood the whole ground floor. We were told by the middle of the day the water will subside and so we went up to our room. By 2 pm the water had gone down significantly .We bought the plastic shoe cover that went up to the knee for 10 Euros from the front desk and went out to town.
The next day it was flooded again, this time they had breakfast moved to the 1st floor corridor. It was a bit of a chaos. It is very surprising that for a city that gets flooded a lot at this time of the year the hotel does not seam to be very prepared. Even while i was there the city got flooded 5 times and each time it was a chaos at the hotel like it happened for the first time.
To top it all front desk employees are probably some of the rudest I've ever encountered. It almost felt like they are truly bothered when you drop off or pick up the room keys. If you call them from your room for some assistance they will not pick up !!
I checked out early even though I had paid for a few extra days. As I was checking out at the front desk they tried to charge me for a bunch of service I have not used. I confronted them and they took it out.
Over all I give the location of the hotel 4 stars, cleanliness 3.5 stars, room comfort 2.5 stars, customers service 2 stars.
A few tips- you can take the water taxi from the Airport . it is very convenient and elegant but it costs 150 Euros. Or the water bus from the air port and you will get dropped off at the nearest station but you will have to walk with your suitcases to the hotel, the cost is 15 euros. You can also take the ground bus right from the airport and you can get off at Piazza di Roma ( located by the train station ) then you can walk to the hotel with your suitcase.
If you are going to Venice in october - December be prepared for a lot of floods, pack knee high rubber boots and strong umbrella. You will be using them everyday.
When you are out and about use your Ipod map for direction, you will find it very helpful.
Have a great time !!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Canal have the best view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I would give our room 2 stars. Bed hard and uncomfortable. Shower only had warm water the first day but after that we had hot water. It was very hot in our room, no air conditioning in Nov had to keep opening and closing the window to cool down room. Room had a window about 5 ft from another building window. View of another building. Front desk people not very friendly. We were with a group other people. Some of the others loved their rooms and beds. All rooms are different. On the plus side. They have an ice machine, all the ice I wanted. The location is great, near the train station, water buses and over a bridge from the bus and people mover area. We had rolling luggage and never had to use a water taxi. We walked from the cruise ship to the people mover then walked to the hotel. You can walk or take a water bus to the St Marks area. It's a long walk but very nice. We walked it at least 4 times in 3 days. I would stay here if the price was right because of the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

stayed recently at this hotel , and fell for the upgrade trick ,the first room was really drab and small ,so of course you are asked if you would like an upgrade so we were shown a much nicer room at 40 euros extra per night ,which we took, what we were not told , the hotel had been flooded earlier that day but had been cleaned up ,what they did not mention was the breakfast was going to be served outside our room on the landing and that room122 was very noisy from outside traffic and any chance of staying in bed to a reasonable time was scuppered by clanging of cutlery and voices from 6.30 am onwards .The staff on reception told us "this was Venice what do you expect". If you go take a print out of the rooms on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is right on the Grand Canal. The boat takes you right to the door. The Restaurant was very good. Behind the hotel are shops & restaurants & you can even walk to St. Marks Square. Being right on the Grand Canal was awesome. Our room was small but clean & we weren't in the room except to sleep. Great place to stay. We missed the floods by one week and our weather was gorgeous. We had no rain & temperatures were in the 60's & 70's.

Room Tip: It would be great if you could have a balcony overlooking the Grand Canal. We were on a tour so just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Found the whole time in venice as a holiday to remember,from the hotel and our travel rep who tried to make everybodies stay so much pleasure.We luckily missed the floods which even ventured into the hotel foyer and reception.So much to learn even for such a small place like venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. The room was spacious and very comfortable, though as it overlooked the busy street there was some noise from the opposite hotel on the first night. After that, we were so exhausted by all the walking that we slept right through. Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection for all tastes and we managed to get a table overlooking the canal each morning. Service was over-zealous at times, as waiters removed crockery and cutlery almost before you had put it down or when you left the table to get more food!
Reception staff vert helpful.Very convenient for all activities as the vaporetto stop for Ferrovia is close by.Loads of restaurants to choose from in the vicinity, so no need to venture far. Cashpoint round the corner and all sorts of shops. Busy city atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room 208 is roomy, though you can hear the activity from the street below, especially if people are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.