We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average touristic restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Ca' Foscari Al Canton

Trattoria Ca' Foscari Al Canton
Dorsoduro 3854, 30123 Venice, Italy
041 5229216
Improve this listing
Ranked #758 of 1,203 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Average touristic restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

One of the things most tourists don't realize is that a lot of Trattorie, Osterie and Restaurants, that are supposed to serve classical Venetian food, are ran by not native Italian/Venetian people.
This restaurant is one of them. Nevertheless I cannot complain about, our food was well cooked ( we opted for the grilled fishes ), the service was good and they don't charge the 12% as the majority of the restaurants there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    13
    12
    7
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good fish from what looks like a tourist restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I could not get into the restaurant we wanted (no reservations) so we decided to wander around a bit and look for someplace new. This restaurant had a nice selection of fish on the menu posted outside, so we decided to try it. I'm glad we did. My husband had grilled salmon (very good) and I had baked fish (sea bream) with "Sicilian herbs". It was delicious. He pronounced the house wine as "pretty good" and I enjoyed my spritz.
I think everyone in the place was a tourist, but they all seemed to be enjoying their food. The staff was friendly and the food arrived in a decent amount of time. Nothing to complain about here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really decent pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The restaurant may not look astonishing or seem welcoming at first glance, but we had there our best pizza in Venice. It was really decent, with fresh ingredients and good quality cheeses (especially in the 4 fromaggi one). Recommendable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Horrible - would not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We really wanted to like this cute restaurant for a romantic dinner, but my husband's food was so horrible that it was inedible and it still cost 40 euros for dinner. I will say that my pesto pasta was good, but his clam dish was so salted that neither of us could eat them, and I can't believe the chef would have sent that out. he clearly had not tasted it; it was as if someone spilled the salt container - you could not detect any other flavors. given the language barrier, however, we did not bother trying to complain and just paid and left disappointed and hungry.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant - always made to feel welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good choice of dishes - typical Venetian fare. Good wine list and house wines quite acceptable. Not pricey and well worth a visit. Owner very friendly and welcoming. Not made to feel rushed through the meal. Beware the cuckoo clock on the hour!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Ca' Foscari Al Canton also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Ca' Foscari Al Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Ca' Foscari Al Canton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.