We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome in every way: )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bailo di Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Bailo di Venezia to your Saves list
Al Bailo di Venezia
Fondamenta San Lorenzo 5056, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome in every way: )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment, it was huge and spotlessly clean! All facilities are in place with a neatly decorated room, friendly manager at the reception and also easily accessible to key sights :) Venice was beautiful but not without a great stay at this place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.E. England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very pleased with Al Bailo, It is in a very central position with easy walks to St Marks Square and Rialto. The apartment was well equipt with cooking facilities, coffee machine, microwave and more.The large bed was extremely comfortable and the Air Conditioning is efficient and quiet. The entire apartment was kept spotlessly clean with towels and bedding changed after two days. Guido is a real gentleman, always ready to give help and advice.
Our apartment had a view over the canal with a total of seven windows to enjoy the view from. We had three flat screen televisions, one in each room of the apartment and a very nice toilet/shower room.
The place would have been difficult to find but Guido had emailed us a detailed map in order to find it.
We got off the boat from the airport at St Zaccaria and it was about a seven minutes walk.
It is only a few yards from the landing stage to the entrance of Chiesa San Zaccaria (see photo) one through that entrance it is easy to follow the directions.
It is the best accomodation that we have had during our travels through Europe. PERFECT.

Room Tip: All suites look beautiful but a view over the busy canal is very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Agree with all the previous postive reviews. The appartment was perfect for us and our two sons. Really convenient but quiet too. Guido and Veronica extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive, in fact for most of the time this was like having your own private appartment in the centre of Venice. We appreciated the coffee machine! Everything clean and well equipped.Would highly recommend.

If you are arriving late then the Water Taxi from the airport is a great option despite the cost - speedy and 'door to door' service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent! They arranged a water taxi to pick us up at the airport and bring us to the hotel's doorstep. Perfectly clean, with thought to details including nespresso capsules and snacks upon arrival. Plenty of space. Comfortable beds. Great location, easy walk to Piazza San Marco and all over Venice. Spacious with lots of room to put luggage and belongings. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved Al Bailo Di Venezia! Beautiful apartments nicely furnished. Excellent location within walking distance from San Marcos square. It took us 10 minutes to reach San Marcos square. Outstanding service. They arranged a visit to the island of Murano which we recommend.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The position of this apartments hotel is very convenient, only 10 minutes walk to San Marco Square, in a quiet zone and at only 3 minutes from a nearby supermarket. Guido and Veronica, our hosts, are very kind persons, ready at any moment to offer assistance for everybody. We arrived by plane at Marco Polo Airport almost at midnight, we could catch the last regular boat Alilaguna (at 00:15) and, following the very precise and detailed information and map sent by Guido, we managed to find the location. The apartment was exactly as described by our hosts in our previous correspondence and, even we had no view to the small canal in front of the hotel (because of the late reservation we were aware of that), it was really comfortable and well equiped. At the kitchen you can find coffee, tea, sugar and gem for free. The hotel was recently renovated and it has all kind of facilities (modern quiet lift, accessories for disabled people etc.). The apartment was very clean at our arrival and we accepted the cleaning service at the half of our stay (the whole period was 5 days) even it would have been possible to ask for it every day. When we left Venice (because of the early time of departure), we asked Guido, one day before, to arrange for a Water Taxi. The "driver" arrived exactly on time and in only 30 minutes (in comparaison with the 1h20min. at the arrival, by normal water transport) we were at the airport. The cost is between 100 - 120 Euros, depending on the scheduled time. A ticket for one way on Alilaguna for public transport is 15 Euros/pers. We highly recommend this hotel and we hope to have the chance to come back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and loved it. The apartment was modern and well equipped. The main bedroom was located upstairs and we had a lovely view of a canal and piazza opposite the hotel from all rooms. Highly recommended, would definitely stay again. 10 mins walk to Piazza San Marco, supermarket close by. The instructions to get to the hotel were great, we just caught the vaporetto to San Zaccharia (as per instructions) rather than paying for a private transfer. We left the car in a car park in Venice and it was easy to walk to the vaporetto from the car park, even with luggage.

Just a note, the vaporetto trip in took a while as it went via the Grand Canal, which was nice because we could cruise the canal. On the way back, we realised there is a quicker route that by-passes the grand canal.

Great stay, great accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Bailo di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bailo di Venezia

Address: Fondamenta San Lorenzo 5056, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Bailo di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bailo di Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.