We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bailo di Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Bailo di Venezia to your Saves list
Al Bailo di Venezia
Fondamenta San Lorenzo 5056, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Awesome hotel, very comfortable,cosy, clean, friendly,great quality and with a pure venetian view.
I hope for a breakfast bouffet in the future.
A must place for families, because it's near the heart of Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Everything was great, Guido was extremely helpful. The apartment was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Thanks a million for a great stay in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments associated with this hotel. It is wonderful!
The apartment is located between the Rialto bridge and the Scalzi Bridge. It is about a thirty minute walk to San Marco, but once you have seen it, I don't know why you would want to go back, too many tourists. You can't have a bad location in Venice, there is a new neighborhood and plaza around every corner. There is a nice plaza with several restaurants and a supermarket just a short walk from the apartment.

The apartment has a huge living room, a big bedroom, great kitchen and dining room. One day we took a short walk to the fish market near the Rialto Bridge, picked up a couple of huge crabs, and cooked up a great dinner of crab, fresh pasta, salad,toasted bread, and wine. A great evening!

An apartment is such a wonderful alternative to a hotel room, lots of space and so many options. Cooking, refrigerator, freezer.

Positives:
Lot's of room
Nice living room
Big bed room
Beamed ceilings
Very well appointed
Big Flat Screen
DVD Player ( I wish I would have bought some cheap DVD's from the street vendors
it would have been nice to relax with something in a language I could
understand, the TV has 1,000 channels, none in English)
Free Internet

Negatives:
The breakfast wasn't very good
( But everything else was so great we didn't care)

I would highly recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The location is excellent. We were lucky to have a canal view. Easy walking distance San Marco. We used the kitchen and catered at home as there was a handy shop close where we bought local produce. Wonderful. Clean, newly decorated with excellent service from Guido. We would love to return. Please keep you prices affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the second seek of January and it was the best choice I could have made. Having never been to Italy, all I had were reviews and photos to help pick where we would stay. This place deserves the good ratings. Perfect location. Just far enough away from the crowds to feel like your a local yet close enough to.enjoy the fun. The apartment we rented was huge!! Modern, clean and awesome. Guido, the manager was more than accommodating. One night we could jot get into the room because we misplaced our.key and he was there within 10 minutes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We booked the one bedroom apt for our family trip to Venice. Getting off the plane you have an option of taking a 1 hr 30 min water bus ride at 15 euro/person, or rent a personal water taxi (up to 4) for 120 euro that takes 30 min and drops you off right in front of your apt.
We were greeted by the manager who is there from 9-4 and we were able to store our luggage since we got in early.
Our room was wonderful, modern and clean. The building was renovated from a Police building in July 11 to become rental vacation apartments.
Free WiFi was available. The manager gave us a map and showed us all the places that we should visit on our stay. He also gave us a phone number to call in case there were any problems, which there were not.
The one bedroom apt for 4 is big enough to put in two single beds that the kids could sleep in different areas, which the loved.
The only thing negative about the place is that the walls are thin and you can hear the water from the other rooms and people from outside. Its not loud enough to keep you awake, or to keep you from coming here. We would come back.
Beds are very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We booked the main suite, with two bedroom & two baths, kitchen, living room, dining area & balcony. When we first arrived at Al Bailo Di Venezia, I could not believe my eyes how beautiful this suite is. So spacious, clean, modern but yet classic. Location is amazing too, only a few blocks away from Piazza San Marco and half a block away from restaurants and shops. The view from the balcony is like out of a dream; a beautiful canal, a bridge, with the occasional Gondola passing by....truly this apartment made our stay in Venezia so special that I want to come back soon and stay there even longer. Pier Carlo was so incredibly helpful and nice. I can't think of a better value in Venezia, I highly, highly, highly recommend it. You will be blown away :)

Room Tip: We reserved the main suite, but all apartments are just gorgeous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Bailo di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bailo di Venezia

Address: Fondamenta San Lorenzo 5056, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Bailo di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bailo di Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.