We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE in VENICE for Tour of St. Mark's and Doge's Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walks of Italy

Walks of Italy
Call Sant'Antonio, 30122 Venice, Italy
+1-202-684-6916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 126 Activities in Venice
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walks of Italy offers one-of-a-kind experiences in Venice, both on land AND on the water! As featured in Rick Steves' guidebooks. Day trips, activities & guided tours in Italy's greatest destinations. Our tours are truly small group (maximum 12) or private, giving you the maximum choice and flexibility for all budgets. Discounts offered for seniors, students & children, so bring the whole family! Unlike other companies, Walks of Italy secures EXCLUSIVE access to sites across Italy, unlocking hidden gems like the private suburban baths in Pompeii, Doge's Secret Passages in Venice, a private Renaissance palace in Florence, the Colosseum's underground & top tier in Rome, and even VIP access to the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City—just to name a few! All our guides are hand-picked, English-fluent passionate experts in their local regions. Our company is committed to the principles of sustainability in travel, providing carbon offsets for transfers, patronizing local artisans and farmers, and bringing you off the beaten path away from tourist crowds whenever possible. Walk with us, and fill your vacation with unforgettable experiences that will last a lifetime!
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE in VENICE for Tour of St. Mark's and Doge's Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved it....Arrianna was great and made it so interesting! We hope to visit Venice again and will call on this place of business to help us see this beautiful city. Thank you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    9
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
“Entertaining, Fun and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

"We recently did the 'Secret Passages' tour with Mosè and it was one of the best tours we have had! We have been to Venice before and on our last trip we toured the Doge's Palace with a guide we met in the square and the guide barely spoke English, never made eye-contact, and didn't seem too enthusiastic. Mosè was the opposite! We found him entertaining, fun, and informative. We thought getting to go into the 'Secret Passages' section was awesome. There was no one else there and it really felt 'VIP'. We also used them in Florence and Rome and all the tours were equally as good."

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mose was simply spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After a great time in Pompeii and Florence with thgis company I booked the Legendary Venice tour. Our guide Mose was simply outstanding in his endless knowledge, presentation, and passion. He clearly loves his job and it was contagious. We saw both the Ducal Palace and St. Mark's and he brought the history to life with his storytelling and interaction with our group. I cannot recommend this company and Mose enough.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent VIP Secret Passages with Giuseppina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I took the VIP Secret Passages tour with Walks of Italy this last November. The tour began at 9 am with the Doge's palace which is an extraordinary building. The exterior is the one that you see in all the postcards with the endless Gothic windows, long balcony, and beautiful brick pattern. The inside is enormous with room after room and this tour provided a great view of the main council chamber as well as the restricted "secret passages". These consists of some maze like pathways, stairwells, small rooms including the prison that Cassanova busted out of, awesome story! This place would be a lot on your own and a bit boring without the stories to liven it up.

The tour then went to St. Mark's Basilica which is a jewel of mosaics and Eastern style domes. I most appreciated that this tour included the special upstairs section which gives a great view of the mosaic ceiling (you cannot see it nearly as well from the floor level), a look at the old broze horses from Constantinople (unique in the world), and an incredible view from the outsider terrace where you can see the square and the lagoon and lion column. The family photo from there are the favorite from Venice!

Our guide Giuseppina was excellent. She is a native Venetian (not SO common), a trained professional architect, and enormously knowledgeable. She answered every question we threw at her with precision. great erudition and ease. She is also quite a character with a great wit, sense of humor, and contagious laugh!

All of the tickets were included, we skipped all the lines, the meeting point was super easy to find, and our group only had 8 people that day! The office was quick to answer my questions before booking and reserving on the website was a piece of cake.

What more can I say? Great job on all counts Walks of Italy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent and worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

See my detailed review under walks of Italy rome. A great tour company and the guides are excellent. If you normally like private guides but don't want to pay the price, walks of Italy is the way to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walks of Italy also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Walks of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walks of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.