We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good because it was Venice?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso Perduto

Paradiso Perduto
Fondamenta della Misericordia | Cannaregio 2540, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041 720581 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 1,131 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Park Ridge
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good because it was Venice?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was on vacation with friends and family. In Venice. By the water on a sunny day. That there was probably enough for a good review despite the fact that I'm actually a quite critical reviewer. In retrospect, the food was probably average to good by Venetian standards and the service sub-par by U.S. standards but we had a great, large lunch. The location is a bit off the main beaten path and well-visited by locals from the look of things. Apparently, musical acts in the evening attract large 20-something crowds. At Sunday lunch there was a mix of people: couples, families, friends. Service was hurried and not especially attentive but we found that to be the norm at this type of place in Venice. Seafood is their specialty and there were plates of fried and grilled fish everywhere. We started with an antipasti plate of fried fish and were not disappointed. Loved the polenta. Most of the pasta is seafood-based -- shrimp, clams, cuttlefish -- but everything we ordered was great. Lots of hustle and bustle. You could probably do better for a price/quality value but we had a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    301
    96
    46
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a lazy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We enjoyed a cosy few hours here eating and drinking at our own holiday pace. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience - the quirky atmosphere and menu all in Italian makes you feel like you are away from the tourist trap even if that isn't quite the case.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was recommended and so we went there. What also attracted us was the rustic atmosphere and the cook with his mane of white hair and his funny hat. But the food was just average, I am sorry to say. Just very full plates (if you want to eat loads of fried meat you are just at the right place) but nothing of the finesse of the Venetian kitchen that we founbd at other places.
An evening which was ok. , but nothing to be repeated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“genuine confusion, friendliness and abundance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

What you perceive once you are in their enormous room, if you succeed to sit at a table you've booked (and I assure you it is not so obvious), is the friendliness of the other guests (sometimes you share the same table) more than the staff too busy to really care about you. You'll be impressed by the aboundance on the dishes served more than their taste that remains too simple and far to impress you. It's like if everything have a "neutral" taste: it isn't really good but nor you can say it was bad or you feel poisoned eating it.
If you like eating a lot for a reasonable price in a faboulous neighborhood, absolutely out from the tourist route in Venice, you can choose the famous Paradiso Perduto where you can certainly meet someone thanks to the easygoing atmosphere of the place and the sourroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant music from "Cumbia" made this a place to remember: the atmosphere was electric but the dining experience was chaotic a”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a great night here thanks to the superb band and the party atmosphere. The food is very expensive and a bit hit and miss. It was also difficult to get anyone's attention to get served - the staff seemed very nice but absolutely rushed off their feet. It's really worth a visit but come towards the end of the evening to drink when there's music and they kick back the tables (it's a bit of a free-for-all and some of the students there barely even had a drink), OR come during the day when it's quieter and they've got time to serve you and prepare your food carefully!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso Perduto also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Paradiso Perduto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso Perduto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.