We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do In Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Urban Adventures

Venice Urban Adventures
Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
+39 348 980 8566
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$81*
and up
Ranked #10 of 125 Activities in Venice
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Local Food & Wine Tour in Venice/ Off-The-Beaten track tour itineraries on request / Yoga, Beach & Brunch Summer Tours.
Lier, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must Do In Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is one of the things you HAVE to to do when you visit Venice.
Cecilia the tour guide is in one word FANTASTIC.
We made this tour on the first night of our 5 day visit to Venice and did'nt regret it all.
Great way to see how the locals go out for great food and wine.
And how they go from one side of the big canal to the other side without using a bridge.
Cecelia has great sugestions and nice tips on what to do and what to avoid when visiting Venice.
We had a lovely evening, and we can reccomend it higly.
Ria and Ronny, Belgium

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    32
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havre de Grace, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Food and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great tour with Cecilia. The food and wine were delicious. The bars were extremely tiny and unique with decor. Wished we had taken this tour our first night in Venice. Cecilia had so many suggestions and mapped routes to many hidden sights of this beautiful city. We had a great evening despite the weather and saw another side of Venice with its history. Strongly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Just don't get it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Based on previous reviews, we pre-booked this tour for our first night in Venice as a way of throwing ourselves into the city. The meeting place was the round church (Maddalena) in the Cannaregio district and the person who showed us through our apartment in San Marco suggested we walk there. After a pleasant 20-minute walk, we arrived at the church early (having unnecessarily allowed longer for getting lost). Claire, our guide, arrived punctually a little before 5.30pm and stragglers from our group of 12 eventually turned up. A mixed group, 5 couples and 2 friends, ages varying from late 20's to mid-60's,( 6 Americans, 3 British, an expat Kiwi and 2 Aussies). We were all a bit quiet to start but soon warmed up and got along pretty well.
After a brief bit of history, we wandered off to the Santa Sofia traghetti stop and took a traghetto across to the Rialto fish market for our first drink and snack. Can't remember the name of the little bar but it had opened specifically for our group and normally only operates when the fish market is open. A small glass of white wine was accompanied by very tasty white fish and tuna wraps and a quenelle of smoked cod, also very good. Despite being sardined into a very tiny little room, this was a good start and the group began to mix.
The second place, Cantina do Mori (apparently Venice's oldest bar), was in a little alleyway in the Rialto area and was so crammed with people as to be uncomfortable and so loud that some in our group couldn't hear what Claire was saying. Smoke from the many smokers in the alleyway was coming into the bar and the overall atmosphere was unwelcoming. A small glass of red wine was accompanied by a cold croquette each. The two of us were glad to get out of there.
The third place, Osteria alla Ciurma, was another tiny bar off a pretty seedy alleyway and frequented by some pretty seedy characters. Offered the choice of cramming inside or staying out on the footpath, our group opted for outside. Again, a mixture of croquette-type snacks were offerred (this time, hot). It was easier to talk out on the footpath and the group started to mix again.
The final place, Osteria Al Sacro e Profano was a more attractive little venue in a nicer area. The snacks were a type of little open sandwich and sweet biscuits. By this time, it had become obvious that most of the group preferred white wine to red and a choice was offerred. The tour ended at this venue.
It must be said that, throughout the tour, Claire was informative, entertaining and helpful and the tour did hurl us into the dusk nightlife and streets of Venice. However, we just don't get the whole cicchetti thing. To cram into a tiny space in pretty ordinary alleyways just to have a drink and a snack doesn't strike us as fun. In Milan, the aperitivo was great and so much better than Venice's version, possibly because the venues are better and you can sit in an uncrammed place watching the world go by. Anyway, at least we know now what we won't be doing anymore in Venice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fantastic tour with great food and wine!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

A great tour to get a feel of the day to day life of a the Venitian locals. We sampled delicious food and local wines. Would highly recommend this tour!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a great tour to see some of hidden food and wine delights of Venice. Claire was a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. I would suggest to anyone new to Venice to take this as a good intro to this interesting city and are a little disappointed that we didn't do it sooner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Urban Adventures also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Venice Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Urban Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.