We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmen Opera and full frontal nudity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fenice Opera House

La Fenice Opera House
Campo San Fantin, San Marco 1965, 30124 Venice, Italy
+39 041 786607
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Teatro La Fenice Tour in Venice
Ranked #4 of 197 Attractions in Venice
Type: Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world famous opera house, burned to the ground in 1996, has been rebuilt amongst much scandal and drama: its modern beauty and complex history ensure its place among the most celebrated monuments in Italian history.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Carmen Opera and full frontal nudity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I went to a sunday afternoon performance of Carmen.

The theatre is magnificent is its design and frescos. A must see even for those who don't go to an opera.

The performance was a modern interpretation of the opera Carmen. Not sure if it was the best thing I've seen. I must say I wasn't expecting the strip and strut by an officer at the start of act 2. Interesting interpretation.

If you're not into opera do a visit for €7 instead.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,232
    342
    53
    32
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Whether you're an opera buff or not, this traditional opera house is an experience! We saw Carmen and enjoyed it very much. The front row seating in the boxes is a must. Anyone concerned about the story being in another language need not worry....there were English and Italian subtitles above the stage. One tip is to buy your drink tickets for intermission prior to the show to avoid the lines at the break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see for Opera buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The self-guided audio tour of this beautifully restored and historic opera house is excellent and well worth doing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“omg stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

oh, go go go, if you are in Venice. Amazing - we went to see Cosa fan Tutti in February 2012. I would love to go again just to stare at the walls and the people. Go at Carnivale just an incredible experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to the opera show La Travieta on August 31rd after a two-week cruise sailing from and to Venice. We were blown away by the beauty, acoustic effect and the performance that the theater produced. I even took a tour prior to the show to further understand the theater, and was equally amazed by it. Cant remember the cost for photos taking and tour, but it was 115 Euro each person for the show, and we felt that it was way worth it. By the way, there is no student discount in case anyone wants to buy it. Also, I saved 15 Euro by purchasing the tickets at the theater two weeks prior to the show. It may be better to pay the 15 Euro and buy it online asap. but we were very happy with our seat. 32a &b. There is both Italian and English subtitle. Absolutely a great highlights or the trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fenice Opera House also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Fenice Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fenice Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.