We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare family room in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A La Locanda di Orsaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A La Locanda di Orsaria to your Saves list
A La Locanda di Orsaria
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Priuli Dei Cavalletti | Cannaregio - Calle Priuli 103, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A rare family room in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this small hotel for its family room which accommodated parents plus 2 teens in 4 beds. It was pleasant and well-located, and it's true about those fabulous cappuccinos at breakfast! (That man is a genius with an espresso machine). While more expensive (for what you get) than family rooms and apartments we had in other European cities, that's just Venice, and it gave us a good location from which to have long walks around the city, while being marvellously close to the train station and the bus to the airport. If you are a travelling family, give it a try!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    202
    39
    5
    1
See reviews for
165
310
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having been to Venice multiple times we decided to stay close to the train and bus station as this affords the least amount of wrestling with bags in an often very crowded Venice. The A La Locanda di Orsaria is by no means a 4 star establishment but it is a fantastic value for money, greatly situated by the water bus station and close to many many places to eat.
This is a family run establishment with dad serving breakfast and the handsome son often at the front desk.
The staff are always polite, friendly and ready to help with suggestions or directions.
Our room, a superior to the rear, was quiet and clean. What else do you need in Venice?? The breakfast offered many options, with excellent cappucinos.
Would we stay here again?? Without hestitation. Any problems....yes the hotel is just too popular. You need to make reservations well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I came to Venice for the first time ever on Oct 3rd and stayed 2 nights in the La Locada di Orsaria. The location was great(easy to get to and still we could walk to wherever we wanted to). The rooms nice and very clean. There was no elevator but the staff helped take our luggage upstairs. Breakfasts were really good and the staff was excellent with many things. We were given solid advice on transportation, sites to see, getting ATM cash, and restuarants. Special thanks to Sabrina. Among various help instances she directed us to a neighborhood restuarant that served us multiple courses having 8 different seafood preparations and unlimited wine for 33 euro per person. The best meal I've had in years. She also amazingly arranged for a taxi driver to come to the hotel (in Venice)and take all our bags and us to the airport when we departed. When we return to Venice we will first try to stay at this hotel.
Matt

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We did enjoy the convenience and hospitality of A La Locanda di Orsaria hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. My prime reason for selecting this hotel was the location close to the railway station. It was a very easy walk for us, suitcases in tow. We booked a standard double room and there was no view at all. I was fine with that, given the good value. Just steps away is the Grand Canal and the Vaporetto station and all the activity. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to travelers on a budget and those not wanting to lug suitcases on the Vaporetto. If you want some sort of view, book the superior room.

Room Tip: If you want some sort of view, select a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was the last stop on our Europe trip and we stayed for 2 nights. From the moment we walked in and were welcomed by Pietro, we felt so at home and comfortable. He was full of useful information and went out of his way to help. It was so nice to stay away from the crowds - such an easy trip from the train station, and also just one bridge over to the bus for a 20min journey to the airport.

We had friends who stayed close to Rialto Bridge and they relayed the nightmares that they had getting to and from with their family and luggage. We met them on the bridge to go to dinner one night and for us it was a 20 min pleasant walk through quiet streets to go home afterwards. We had the best of both worlds!

Our only issue would be the massive hard pillows, but apparently these are common in Venice for some reason (?) Still slept fine though.

I would wholeheartedly recommend that you stay here - for the location, service, lovely breakfast (a huge basket of fresh pastries on each table!), comfort of the rooms and, most importantly, amazing price in this expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed three nights. Family owned and operated. Pietro, the son, was at the front desk much of the day and part of the evening. He helped us find a non-tourist restaurant and made calls for us as well. There was always someone at the desk, 24/7. Wonderful, warm and friendly people. Very concerned and helpful. The father tends to the breakfast and makes the best cappuccino we had in Italy. Great pasties and croissants. The entire place is clean and well cared for. The location is great since it’s a very short distance from the train station and the Piazza Roma. Right near the Grand Canal and all the water service you would need. The rates were reasonable for Venice. We would highly recommend this very quaint hotel. We were blessed to have known these family memebers

Room Tip: Staying on the second floor (RM 205) is preferred since it was very quiet, but be prepared if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

At this location near the bus and train station there is a no better value for your money than at the Locanda di Orsaria. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, elegant, clean and affordable. The staff were extremely courteous helpful and friendly no matter what time of day. Location of fine restaraunts, shopping and entertainment was fantastico! In a city like Venice, you can easily be consumed by the excitement around you. The history and buzz in the air. And all that is true. You can also be fooled into some situations where value for you money on such a trip is an afterthought. This should not concern you about your accomodations at Locanda di Orsaria.
The prices are competetively priced and provide comfort in knowing all the things listed above and more are close by for you enjoyment. We will certainly return not only to Venice but to the Locanda di Orsaria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A La Locanda di Orsaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A La Locanda di Orsaria

Address: Calle Priuli Dei Cavalletti | Cannaregio - Calle Priuli 103, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A La Locanda di Orsaria 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and complete with all modern comforts, the A La Locanda di Orsaria is proud to welcome you to the enchanting city of Venice, offering a friendly and comfortable environment just two minutes from the Santa Lucia train station and five from the Piazzale Roma car terminal.Stay at our comfortable 3-star hotel where you can enjoy famous down-home hospitality that will transform your Venice get-away into a wonderful and unforgettable vacation.Two minutes from the train station and Lista di Spagna, main street between Rialto and St. Mark's Square, the inviting rooms at the A La Locanda di Orsaria - all non-smoking - bask in silence of a quiet and secluded calle, ideal for guests seeking peace and quiet after an exciting day in Venice. All the rooms are elegantly furnished and complete with all the modern comforts. Superior category rooms are stylishly decorated with eighteenth century Venetian style furniture and wallpaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your A La Locanda di Orsaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di Orsaria Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A La Locanda di Orsaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.