We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, not so perfect hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto Venezia to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, not so perfect hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

At the foot of the Rialto bridge, this hotel is very central and close to vaporetto stops. It is easy to access the diffrents parts of town from this hotel.
We had a room with a view on the Grand Canal and the view was breathtaking.

However the hotel in itself is quite disapointing. The rooms are very old and need a serious refurbishment. The bathroom was pretty old but clean. The wifi in the rooms is an outright lie as it is almost impossible to get a signal, and when there is, it is so slow that google can't even load.
The reception had to say about this: "This is Venice, things are as they are, we can't do anything about it."
The service wasn't helpful and sometimes even rude. Very surprising as this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.
However, the location of this ideal is ideal as I previously mentionned and that alone was worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    433
    210
    109
    75
See reviews for
192
660
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is "traditional" mainly just plain old. Location is good, but there's also alot of hotels along the grand canal which are easily accessible, some have the added benefit of being by water bus stations which have alot of routes.

I got a room on the first floor facing the alley. Awful views but also crazy noisy as you could hear all conversations from downstairs.

No drinking water is supplied. What you'd think they can throw in for the room cost. Only an overpriced vending machine in the hotel for water.

Wouldn't stay here the next time I'm in town.

The pizza place just next door is pretty decent for a quick bite.

Venice is a pedestrian town but when travelling with small kids, it's tiring to walk everywhere. The tourist pass (Eur 30 for 48 hours) was well worth it as the single rides are 7 euro each way per person.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a prime location, right on the Rialto bridge however that's where the positives end. After arriving we were welcomed by the concierge and given a key and swipe card then quickly whisked out a side door and down a back alley by the porter. Turns out we weren't staying in the hotel proper but a building a few doors down without an elevator. Our room had no view of anything, was small, very small with a Venetian shabby-chic theme (heavy on the shabby). The water temperature in the shower was sporadic. The wifi was slow and the cleaner walked into our room even though we had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door.
If you pay the extra for a suite the experience may be better however our experience was very poor.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights in the Rialto Hotel and the best thing was its location, just right next to the Rialto Bridge and within walking distance of all the attractions. The Hotel organizes free daily transport to Murano to visit one of the factories and its shop /museum, which I must add is absolutely amazing. After the guided visit in the factory visitors can wander around Murano Island and visit all other shops which are much more cheaper than the museum. To return visitors must take the vapporretto back to Venice which costs 7 euros per person. The hotel rooms were OK and clean, not very big and a bit old but everything is old in Venice. The staff were nice and helpful and breakfast was great with a big selection of food to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a very nice hotel in a classical Venetian style. The price is high but it's worth. We paid almost 100€/night for a room with the view on the Rialto's Bridge and Canal Grande.
The hotel is in the middle of the city so you are 5/10 mins walking away from San Marco.
The breakfast is continental and you have a wide choice of food.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

VERY WELL LOCATED! We arrived earlier than check in time and the friendly staff immediately said we can occupy the room. The room and bathroom was nice and clean and well presented. A few extra things includes: porter service, slippers and gowns in the room, more breakfast options than normal continental breakfast, umbrellas for guest when it rains outside. Room service was always prompt when we requested something. Mini bar in room well stocked! Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great position, right near the beautiful Rialto Bridge. Easy to get around Venice from here. Rooms not very big but that is typical of European hotels. One of the few hotels with an elevator, which is a must for those with disabilities.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto Venezia

Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#153 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rialto Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.