We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto Venezia to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As mentioned by others, location was perfect. Only steps from vaporetto stop (used it from train station) and about a 3 minute walk to water bus to airport. From train station I paid 12 Euro per person and to airport it was about 15 per person (versus water taxi of 120 euro).

Stayed in Jr. Suite, with view of Grand Canal on 2nd floor. Paid $249 a night for a triple, and it was well worth it. While there was no balcony and windows only opened so far, it was still nice looking at activity. We saw many people roaming streets looking for their hotel with their luggage, we were glad that we had an easy (and early 1pm check-in).

Noise was not bad, but if you are a real light sleeper, you may want to stay away from the front. Room was large, decor was a charming old school style, which just made it feel more like being on vacation than a business trip in the states. Beds were firm, but were satisfactory.

Front desk was helpful. Frustration was that if you wanted to print your boarding pass for airlines, you had to pay for internet. Guess any way to make a euro. Breakfast buffet was marginal, but I was more interested in eating out and about.

It was great getting lost in Venice and knowing that there were always signs everywhere pointing you towards Rialto Bridge, so I just left map behind for last two days.

Tip - Avoid the gondolas outside the hotel. EXTREMELY expensive, I paid 120 euro and only received a 25 minute ride. For 80 euro you were on board for about 15 minutes. Go to a another area and the gondoliers (sp?) are willing to negotiate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    481
    227
    116
    81
See reviews for
218
726
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kurrajong Heights, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and our friend stayed here at the end of a business trip in November. It can be difficult getting around Venice but finding the hotel was extremely easy as it is literally at the foot of the Rialto Bridge which also means it is easy to find one's way back as Rialto is signposted all over the city. We arrived by train and the exit from Santa Lucia station is right on the Grand Canal with vaporettos (water bus) opposite which take you direct to Rialto about 15 minutes away. There is one bridge to navigate between the vaporetto stop and the hotel but there are usually porters lurking around to offer assistance. Check in was quick and efficient with professional, helpful staff who were always glad to offer advice when needed. Unfortunately the lift only goes up one floor and after this there were many narrow staircases to navigate, not the best with heavy luggage. The room was small with two windows overlooking a busy passageway and the next building almost within touching distance although the room was clean with a good ensuite bathroom. Our first night was uncomfortable as the bed is only a double and the room was hot, meaning we left the shutters and windows open above the noisy passageway and were constantly disturbed up to 4am! We enquired about changing to a room with a larger bed but after studying the room list for a few minutes the concierge informed us that all the beds were doubles anyway. On the second night we turned off the heating, closed the shutters and windows and a carefully position chair allowed me to at least stretch out my arms for a little more comfort. The breakfast room is split into two sections with a smaller room at the back and a larger one overlooking the bridge serving cold meats, croissants a great selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and even champagne! Breakfast can be taken on the terrace in warmer months. We would definitely avoid staying in room 416 should we ever return to this hotel. Overall this is an average hotel but any minor niggles can be forgiven because of the unrivaled location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Rialto is a great hotel in an excellent location. I travelled to Venice with friends in November 2012 and it was a lovely place. We arrived there about an hour before check in time and were allowed to check in immediately. Our luggages were taken and we were led to our room. The room overlooked a lively side road and one could see the river if one extended one's neck. The room was clean.

The service was excellent. The staff are all nice, polite, with a smile of their faces and willing to help whenever you need it. My friends and I were caught up in a flood right before we checked out. The staff were proactive in providing us with the appropriate amenities to ensure that we do not get wet!

The continental breakfast served is absolutely scrumptious. They provide a wide variety of pastries, fruit, cereals, bread, teas, juices... It was lovely.

Having said that, there were certain minor drawbacks. While this was never confirmed, I am of the belief that we were given a double room with an extra bed as opposed to a triple room. Furthermore, although it is no one's fault, the hotel reception and breakfast room flooded quite easily. Then again, 70% of Venice was under water that day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travelled to Venice solo. Finding the hotel at first was intimidating, until I discovered the directions to most must see sights were posted at each corner. My view every morning and every evening was beautiful, the Rialto Bridge. I was so close to San Marco square. The staff was very professional, and the room gorgeous. No doubt I would return.
The travel date was older than the options listed, I went in January of 2010.

Room Tip: I was one of the few who had in room wi-fi. Mostly it's only in the common lounge, you must req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and i had a wonderful cruise from starting of in a beautiful hotel in Athens which was immaculate and so helpful . we had to finish our cruise of in venice .a city that i have stayed in numerous times . we had the room for the day from around 11 till our taxi to the airport at around 5.30 .when we arrived we were taken up at least 4 staircases and around 50 steps passing a filthy stained mattress that was jammed on the staircase and were lead by a very helpful porter to what i can only describe as probably the worst room i have ever stayed in . we looked out over a roof and scaffolding .drab dingy place . we didnt get the chance to get a room with a view overlooking the canal . we complained and were told that we werent there for long so best put up with it .

Room Tip: make sure you have a good look what your getting for your money and at least 2 of the reception sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was in a great location right next to the Rialto Bridge. The water taxi dropped us off right outside the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, as the room was not ready our cases were stored in a secure room so that we could go and start sightseeing. On returning to the hotel we were shown to our room (141) which was at the back of the hotel overlooking an enclosed area which was a shame as we were looking forward to having a view of Venice. The room was very small but clean and comfortable. However it could be better if there was Tea and Coffee provided and more electrical sockets, there was only one spare socket in the room. For a 4* hotel this was a let down. Another let down was that our room was not cleaned or made up for two days. Breakfast was a basic continental affair but sufficient. There is a computer in the foyer for using the internet which you have to pay for, some people who paid for it couldn't log on, it would be much better if there was WIFI available in the rooms and even better if it was included within the price as other 4* or less hotels have. The day before we left Venice was hit by the worse floods for 22 years the hotel reception was flooded but the staff kept smiling. Would I recommend this hotel to other people and stay there again. YES I WOULD!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if available, if it costs more it would be worth paying especially with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ideal location to reach anywhere you wish to go. Room 414 was very good apart from having to climb 18 stairs - worked off the calories but would be difficult for some. This room overlooked the canal and we were able to take some lovely photos in both directions and to people watch. Room was clean however, would prefer that the shower head was a fixed unit rather than having to hold it, bath was very narrow; furniture could do with refurbishing but was not a real problem; despite what other reviews say, even though we overlooked the canal providing the windows were closed there was no problem with noise at night; and during the day with the windows open it did not cause us a problem; would like to have at least one socket to use and for tea/coffee making facilities in the room (although this quite often is not in European hotels). Breakfast was fine - although would prefer bread toast rather than the cold pre-pack type supplied and English rather than continental, but there we go English is not for everyone either. Whilst some things could be improved we would have no hesitation in going back - and would pay the extra for a canal view room - preferably 414 or one with a balcony you can actually sit on.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms on the higher floors give better views of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto Venezia

Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#137 Family Hotel in Venice
#157 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.