We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto Venezia to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was in a great location right next to the Rialto Bridge. The water taxi dropped us off right outside the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, as the room was not ready our cases were stored in a secure room so that we could go and start sightseeing. On returning to the hotel we were shown to our room (141) which was at the back of the hotel overlooking an enclosed area which was a shame as we were looking forward to having a view of Venice. The room was very small but clean and comfortable. However it could be better if there was Tea and Coffee provided and more electrical sockets, there was only one spare socket in the room. For a 4* hotel this was a let down. Another let down was that our room was not cleaned or made up for two days. Breakfast was a basic continental affair but sufficient. There is a computer in the foyer for using the internet which you have to pay for, some people who paid for it couldn't log on, it would be much better if there was WIFI available in the rooms and even better if it was included within the price as other 4* or less hotels have. The day before we left Venice was hit by the worse floods for 22 years the hotel reception was flooded but the staff kept smiling. Would I recommend this hotel to other people and stay there again. YES I WOULD!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if available, if it costs more it would be worth paying especially with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    431
    207
    109
    75
See reviews for
191
657
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ideal location to reach anywhere you wish to go. Room 414 was very good apart from having to climb 18 stairs - worked off the calories but would be difficult for some. This room overlooked the canal and we were able to take some lovely photos in both directions and to people watch. Room was clean however, would prefer that the shower head was a fixed unit rather than having to hold it, bath was very narrow; furniture could do with refurbishing but was not a real problem; despite what other reviews say, even though we overlooked the canal providing the windows were closed there was no problem with noise at night; and during the day with the windows open it did not cause us a problem; would like to have at least one socket to use and for tea/coffee making facilities in the room (although this quite often is not in European hotels). Breakfast was fine - although would prefer bread toast rather than the cold pre-pack type supplied and English rather than continental, but there we go English is not for everyone either. Whilst some things could be improved we would have no hesitation in going back - and would pay the extra for a canal view room - preferably 414 or one with a balcony you can actually sit on.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms on the higher floors give better views of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Splash out on a room with a view over the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal and it will help you forget all the many problems so clearly outlined by reviewers. We had room 306 which admittedly is dingy with dark rough wooden beams and steep winding attic stairs but is a good size with king-size bed and benefitted from two windows and being able to sit and look down over the magic of Venice. OK, so it’s over-priced; carpet threadbare; no robes as stated (but slippers!); cracked tiles and open drain in bathroom; awful breakfast but Hey! – it’s only for a few nights and that View and buzz of the canal highway!!!!

Staff varied but most were very welcoming and helpful with booking concert tickets; storing luggage; directions, maps etc. Vaporetto outside so easy for port, train station and generally getting about.

Previously we have stayed at Hotel Cavalletto just behind St.Marks which is lovely and overlooks the gondola park and you wake up to the gondoliers singing in the morning but it’s more difficult for access.

Some building work going on so maybe much overdue improvements on the way. Would I return? Think I’d try Hotel Marconi on the opposite sunny side of Grand Canal if I still wanted the razzamatazz and view of Rialto or probably for respite the delightful Hotel Belle Arti with it’s little garden near Accademia stop.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors with view of Rialto bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I will start by saying the location of the hotel is very good, easy access with your bags when you get off the boat , the staff were very nice and the room was clean. However, the elevator only goes up one floor, so lots of stairs if you are higher than that, the room was so tiny, there isn't anyplace to put your suitcase and there is no room to get around it. The bathroom was tiny, again no shelves, and a ridiculous excuse for a hair dryer . The showerhead is part of the bathroom with no separation so after you shower, the entire bathroom floor is soaked! We were also woken up every morning by construction noise and people outside our window. Of our two week trip through Italy this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and the only one I didn't like. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I understand that its an old building but one socket in room that includes tv no iron to have a plain dress pressed €20 hairdryer like end of a hover lift only goes to first floor so we had 70 steps one way we looked into scaffolding shutters on windows only opened so far due to scaffolding room constantly dark so light always on ! this us not a relaxing holiday climbing stairs several times and room so dingy !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Rialto a couple of weeks ago. It was the first hotel of our 2 week saty in Italy. We arrived in Venice off the Thello overnight train from Paris. (This might sound romantic but it isn't, even with the exclusive use for four in a six bed couchette, especially if you are travelling with 2 teenage boys.) We arrived around 10am and the check staff couldn't have been nicer. I think that a smile and making the effort to say hello in Italian makes all the diffference. We were not able to get into our rooms until 2pm as is usual but the staff directed us to a bathroom so we could freshen up before walking out into wonderful Venice. They were more than happy to store our bags until later too.
When we checked in, the rooms were very pleasant in a very Italian and European way. Lots of curlicues, embellishments and rather delicate looking chair legs.
The first morning we breakfasted in the rear room, not realizing that we could have eaten out by the canal. We did this the second day. By then I knew that coffee with milk, eg cappucchino was made with UHT milk so did not order one again.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.
Overall, the Rialto was one of the better hotels we stayed in, regardless of recorded or reported star rating. The staff were friendly and very accommodating.
Well done.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in a suite overlooking the Rialto Bridge - what a fabulous spot. The hotel has so much charm and the furnishings very regal with Murano chanderliers. Breakfast was reasonable - prosecco on the buffet, very nice. Pay the extra to stay in a suite overlooking the Grand Canal, you wont regret it - besides you're not staying a week, so lash out.
The staff at the Rialto were great, and thank you to Barbara who looked after our room so well. Take the free transfer to the Murano Glass Factory - it's a bit hard sell once you get there, but well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Choose one over looking the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto Venezia

Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#149 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rialto Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.