We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Universo Nord Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Universo Nord Hotel to your Saves list
Universo Nord Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio Lista di Spagna 121, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just ok if you need a roof over your head for one night. My father and I stayed there for this purpose only and I wanted a hotel as close to the station as possible. But $180 Euros for a night would be ok in Venice if this was truly a 3-star hotel. It is not. By Italian standards, this is barely a 1-star.

It is clean and the staff is somewhat helpful, when compared to the rest of people in Venice. But some of them have to shame in admitting they're either tired or in a bad mood.

Bottom line is, if you need a bed near the train station, this could be it. But for the money, stay anywhere else in Venice, even if you need to take a vaporetto to get to the station.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    121
    181
    54
    48
See reviews for
87
147
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The only positive was the location.

The Internet was down. The room had mildew. Finally I woke up in the morning with three solid bug/spider bites and we never opened the window once.

Also... The front desk staff wasn't necessarily rude to me, but I did watch on numerous occasions them talk very rudely to other customers.

Also... Booked my hotel through booking.com. Had to pay a 12 euro city tax on top of my paid rate at the hotel and in cash.

Do what you can to avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fpo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our first visit to Venice so we just waited to find a room when we arived. We came on the train from Ryan air port and just turn left along the canal and started asking for rooms. Hotel Universo was the first we asked and they had a tiny room for 126 euro , room number 14 . they showed us the room and we went on to 4 other hotels on the same strip that price range was much more some 300 euro or more. so we came back to Grab room 14 and were so glad to have it that we stayed another night as it is near Train, Boat Bus and all the action for this area. all staff seem nice and speak English so this was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I needed a room near the train and bus station for one night so that I could get to the airport conveniently, and this hotel had a good location for that. Otherwise, there is not much to recommend here. The staff was clearly fed up with the everyday questions of tourists. The room--particularly the bathroom--badly needed remodeling. If you get a room facing the street, it will be noisy. The air conditioning was modest, just taking the edge off the heat but not really cooling you down. Find another place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very good location, my advice stay by the railway station, you don't want to have to try find your hotel in that maze of streets, it really is a maze. Nice rooms, hotel staff are a little rude and scary; but the guy at night is nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As most of Venice, the staff at this hotel, particularly the desk clerk was very rude. The rooms were okay - clean, anyway. Not worth the price. Don't expect to go there again. Then again, I won't go to Venice again. For my money, northern Italy is the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I paid 80£ for night as this is normally how much a budget hotel costs in venice
Room was small but had A/C
Receptionist helped me figure out some routes ..and also we could leave our luggage whole day and pick it up evening

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Universo Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo Nord Hotel

Address: Cannaregio Lista di Spagna 121, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Universo Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Nord Venice
Hotel Universo Nord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universo Nord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.