We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hesperia to your Saves list
Hotel Hesperia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was one of the least expensive hotels in the area so from that standpoint it is a nice place to stay. Walking distance from the train was key for us. A canal view was a bonus. We got both - but had to pay extra for the canal view - and I don't know if is was a plus. The hotel is on a side canal - which is a delivery channel starting at 6:00 AM. There were loud working boats up and down the waterway all morning - which is not like hearing gondoliers serenading the tourists. Lack of a lift was not a big deal for us - but being on the second floor may have discouraged some folks. The main reason this felt like a off-price hotel was the noticeable odor in the lobby. A slight scent of bad water - the staff blamed it on the low water level in the canals. We didn't notice it in the room, but the lobby scent was off-putting. The in room bath was nice (reason for the extra charge) and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was OK - nothing fancy but nothing to bring me back for either. While we were in town we checked the price of some other hotels closer to the Grand Canal. They were all at least 100 EUR/night more expensive than Hotel Hesperia. So if you want a place off the main drag that might feel a little like a place past its prime - you will pay a little less -- but there might be a slight tradeoff. The folks we met at breakfast both mornings all seemed to love it - I think it was just OK.

Room Tip: We chose the upgraded room with canal view and in-room bath. The bath was great - the canal was a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    328
    55
    13
    4
See reviews for
107
395
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really great little hotel, staff very friendly, they even gave us a free upgrade with a canal view which was lovely. Ideal for easy access to the station, but in a nice, quiet location. Room a good size and very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice little place, quiet and within easy reach of main drag. Friendly and helpful staff, generous breakfast and comfortable beds. Not all rooms have their own bathroom and this is the cause of a lot of noise especially if other guests are up late and slam doors as they use the bathroom. Walls rather thin so you share your neighbours life- intimately! Canal view pretty uninspiring as work being undertaken to build a new vaporetto landing stage immediately opposite the hotel, so option of canal view room not really worth the extra 10 euros a night. Enjoyed the hotel but really fed up with inconsiderate behaviour of others. Top tip - take ear plugs!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No elevator but was on the first floor so not really a drama room was clean and found it a nice size and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was very nice free wifi available. All in all a nice hotel with very nice staff

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was nice, but I don't know that I would rush back to stay there again, except that the owner and staff were very helpful and accommodating. The room was fine. Pretty clean. It had a nice view overlooking the canal. The breakfast was nice. We were only there for 2 nights, so it was fine. If we had stayed longer it would have been too cramped. We shared a triple room with our 7 year old daughter.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late and were made to feel welcome by the night staff who helped carry our bags to our room.
The hotel is family run and all the staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms, although small, are clean and comfortable and the choice of food for breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arriving early at the hotel we were given a choice of three rooms, the superior double reviewed earlier ( noting observations of stairs down to en suite we declined) a double with private bathroom( prefer en suite) or a studio up the Calle. Although looking a little traveller worn it suited our requirements, very quiet, lots of space and spotlessly clean. There was even a fridge to store our wine and bottles of water. We just needed a kettle for the hob to make a cuppa on our return from a heavy day of sight seeing for it to be perfect! All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.The hotel's location close to Guglie waterbus stop is ideal and Cannaregio is a delightful area of Venice to eat, wander and people watch!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hesperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.