We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hesperia to your Saves list
Hotel Hesperia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel, great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff here were so friendly and knew perfect English.

The location of the hotel in our eyes was perfect - only 10 min walk to Rialto bridge and 10 min more to St Marks square. Lovely to be outside the busy hustle of the more tourist places.

We stayed in room 108 and had a canal view (well worth paying the extra upgrade for).

We stayed at the hotel 8th December for 2 nights and was a beautiful time to go. Still warm and there was no smell like some people had mentioned to us before hand. The hotel walls had a eggy smell but that must be from the summer months where the canals smell.

The bacaro jazz bar was brilliant (bras on the ceiling) def go for happy hour between 4pm-6pm - me and the hubby stayed there until closing!!

Food was amazing wherever we went.

Water taxi was good fun - however looking back didn't need them as you can walk everywhere.

Getting the water taxi from the airport was a must! But to return the bus was a good option as it was only 6 Euros each (single). Bus stop was 7 min walk (we timed) and came every 15 mins.

We would def go back and def stay here again x x

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    328
    55
    13
    4
See reviews for
107
395
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have stayed in a triple room for 02 nights in early Dec 2013. This is a good and affordable hotel although we have difficulty locating the hotel initially as it is located about 15 to 20 minutes away from the train station. Luckily we have been assigned to the first floor, otherwise, it would be an issue carrying three large luggage without elevator. Room and bathroom are cleaned everyday. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. Staff is really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I wrote few years ago an enthusiastic review for Hotel Hesperia. I was pleased with the hotel, mainly taking into consideration the very affordable price. Few months ago I wanted to book again a room in Hesperia. A bad surprise was the rate. Double rooms were now at 135 euro. We finally booked a gracious B&B, with open view over Giudecca canal/sea, for only 80 euros/night. No more Hesperia for me if it stays on that price level.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hesperiaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Hesperia, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir,

i'm surprised in reading your comments as you should know prices vary accordingly to the seasons . Of course if you wanted to book our hotel at a cheap price , which we still have in some periods of the year, you could have contacted us and we could have proposed you some dates where the prices are lower.
I do not think you can compare an Hotel with a bed and breakfast as you do , in the bb the owners make business renting rooms in their home without employing staff and giving services completely different from those you find in a Hotel. On top the Giudecca is not Venice downtown and being an island obliges people to use the boat for any movement which Venice city doesn't require.
In any case i hope you will enjoy or enjoyed the stay in our city ( i do not know when you were supposed to travel ) and send you our best personal regards

Martina and Carolina Derai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked Hesperia hotel for 2 nights. I should say something about those nights:
Hotel is small (old)building without elevator but rooms are redesigned perfectly.
Our room was in the first floor, it was quiet during night and we had good sleep.
Room and bathroom are realy clean and have a good size.
Breakfast is enough for 3star hotel.
Note: staff is really helpful and friendly, this is very important for first time travelers in Venice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very welcoming friendly hotel. Small and just off the beaten track. Walking distance from station and bus depot. Equally as handy for vaporetto 5 mins away. Inexpensive and good restraunts and bars on the doorstep. A little bit noisy at night and in the morning but there is a building renovation opposite which will be completed before too long of course. Great Bar just down the ally from front entrance, turn right then left can't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

He stay here for two nights during Thanksgiving week and we found the bathroom to be really small but the room was clean and the front desk people were nice. The breakfast was adequate and we love how close it was to everything. At times it was really noisy in the middle of the night that we were woken up.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here because it was so close to gam gam/jewish ghetto across the street. The one thing we obsess over is cleanliness and this hotel let us down in that area. Some hairs and grungy type of stuff everywhere. Front desk people were nice, and location was awesome (if you're Jewish) but the hotel was pretty dirty I got to say. Also we got put by a room next to the canal, try to avoid that as there are more mosquitoes there and you will get eaten alive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hesperiaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Hesperia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I'm really sorry to read your negative comments on our Hotel,
the Cleaness is always one of our most important aim , and as you can read on the previous comments almost anybody complaint about it .
The Canal view rooms are our superior ones and being in Venice and having the possibility to have a room overlooking a typical canal in my opinion is a must and i'm really sorry that you didn't appreciate, however the mosquitos are present in the entire city and not because of the canal but because of the parks and green .
Hope this will be self -explanitive I send you our best regards

Martina e Carolina Derai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
#94 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hesperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.