We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hesperia to your Saves list
Hotel Hesperia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northumberland England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Quality Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a friend at the end of April. Staff are friendly and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We booked the budget room at the back of the hotel which was basic, clean and comfortable. Our room had no view at all but that was not a problem for us. We were offered a canal view room at 20 euros a night extra but declined. One bonus of our room was that it was very quiet at night. Breakfast was continental and of good quality. Location was good. We would return.

However one note - we booked through Superbreak who are usually very reliable even so our request for a twin room did not reach the hotel and the owner was a not happy about this when we arrived. Do ring, email or write directly to the hotel if you want a twin room then there will be no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    328
    55
    13
    4
See reviews for
107
395
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schellsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

All smiles Always. I have been here twice and Johnee and his two daughters are just plain nice people always smiling very accomodating. Plain Simple but nice. Don't forget the roof top deck. No walking over and bridges with your luggage either!

Room Tip: Ask for Canal Front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Paid the extra (and it was worth it!) to get a canal-side room...fantastic opening the windows in the morning to the sounds of water lapping and boats and gondolas! Very good (for Italy) breakfast and close to the main transit point. Quite expensive, but that is Venice and Italy in general for tourists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our second time at Hotel Hesperia even better than the first. The fruit in the room was very fresh. The breakfast was great offering cereals, yogurts, pastries, etc. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. 5 mins walk from train station. Easy to find. 2 mins walk to the water taxi pickup for our great adventure to Burano Island. A must-see in Venice. Around 3-4 km walk to St. Mark's. Even less to Rialto. Little pricey but outstanding service.

Room Tip: 106 offers beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is very easy to find if taking the orange line vaperetto from the airport, the hotel is almost opposite the Guglie stop. It is also possible to get the vaperetto from Guglie to Murano. The hotel was only a short walk from the train station

Not in the central tourist areas - but not such a bad thing as slightly quieter and less expensive than near St Marks Square.

The hotel staff were friendly and nice. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a canal view room. The room was a little strange and over two levels, with bathroom and dressing area downstairs, then some fairly steep steps up to the bedroom and wouldn't be suitable for people with mobility issues. The bed was quite uncomfortable and there was little room upstairs. The bathroom was very small, you almost touched the toilet when in the shower and there was no room for toiletries

As we booked online we were given 1hour free internet access but could only get this in the breakfast room area. When we first arrived at the hotel there was a damp smell, but guess this common in venice, our room however didn't smell. The hotel used to be a 2* and is now three, this is reflective of the decor but not the staff.

Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Hesperia for this year’s Easter weekend. Very friendly staff (I presume the owners?) and a charming little hotel all in all, situated in a great location (central enough to get everywhere in Venice without a problem, yet far away from the touristy hustle and bustle). We didn't stay in the hotel as such, but in a separate flat - besides the bedroom and the bathroom, we also had a small living room / kitchenette so we could have easily prepared meals there, had we wished to do so.

The breakfast every morning was very good – and we especially enjoyed the panetonne on Easter Sunday and Monday.

I am not giving 5 stars to the hotel for one reason only: we didn’t get free wi-fi which I think is something that the owners should think about for the future. I am sure most of the guests would really appreciate it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

During a two-week trip to Italy, the Hotel Hesperia was hands-down the best place we stayed. It’s located about five minutes from the Santa Lucia train station, but is tucked away on a calm street (note: because Venice is a huge tourist destination, there are still some revelers outside who occasionally might make noise, though), so it's the best of both worlds: liveliness and shopping, but a calm place to retire to. My brother and his fiancee’s room was a sort of penthouse suite on the roof, very private and romantic, with a beautiful view. Mine was a charming, typically Venetian room (with Venetian glass chandelier and colorful stone floor) that was comfortable, clean, and full of ambiance. Both rooms had en-suite bathrooms that were clean and full of character, too, with different color schemes and tilework. It was very cold when we were in Venice - it even snowed a bit - but the rooms were very well heated; I even turned down my radiator a bit. The rooms only cost about 50-60 euro per person, per night, and there was a free buffet breakfast that my fellow travelers deemed fantastic. The staff were so friendly and very patient when we had questions about how to get somewhere. We felt welcomed and appreciated. If you’re going to Venice, I can’t recommend this hotel enough – we were really, really impressed by it.

Room Tip: If you're taking a romantic trip to Venice, ask the hotel if their top-floor room is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
#94 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hesperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.