We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hesperia to your Saves list
Hotel Hesperia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away with my partner. We both loved the hotel, very clean and the staff are so helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location from the main attractions (15mins from the Grand Canal & 20mins from St. Marco Sq) and the water bus service is right outside the hotel. Breakfast is good and we had our sheets and towels changed the second night we was there.

Room Tip: Request a Canal view & room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    305
    50
    11
    4
See reviews for
96
363
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chomutov, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent location near the train and bus station, from hotel to St. Marco Square is it about 30 minutes by walk. We reserved a room with external bathroom, upon arrival we got a free room with private bathroom. Breakfast was good (slices of cheese, ham, toasts, cereals, yogurt, croissants, jams ...), very helpful and friendly staff.
We enjoyed staying in this hotel very well.

In summer there may be enough mosquitoes, we stayed here in January and in the room were a few mosquitoes, but I mean, that problem with mosquitoes is in summer in most of hotels in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our room faces the canal!and we have a great view of the Venice Carnival during our stay in Jan 2013. Excellent!
Room is spacious and clean, though furniture is slight old-fashion.
Location was hard to find at first but once you found it, its so convenient! everywhere is within walking distance.
Alot good restaurants along the way.
For the price i paid, it's worth it and i will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends who will be visiting Venice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just come back from a 4 day trip to Venice where we stayed in hotel Hesperia. The hotel is lovely, it is located on a canal off the grand canal with beautiful views and compared to some hotels located in the back streets closer to St Marks square it is worth being further out just for this view. Personally I felt being further out worked in our favour but it is not for everyone.
The rooms are a good size, we had a separate bathroom but the bathroom was a good size with a strong hot shower. The staff were so friendly, helpful in every way and the presence of 24hr staff made coming back late at night easy.
All in all good hotel, good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel; small, friendly, convenient and affordable. It's handy for the railway station and the vaporettos, and there are some excellent restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk. We've stayed there twice and would happily go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved our stay. Our room looked out to the Cannaregio Canal. We were able to watch the opening of the Carnivale from our room - it was wonderful. The hotel is by the train station so it's not close to Piazza San Marco. The staff was very friendly. There are some really good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spent a night in this hotel during the final week of Carnival 2013. It is located along the Cannaregio Canal, a mere 5 minutes walk from the railway station which allows to minimize the time you have to pull your trolleys through the city on arrival and departure. Room was small but tidy and warm (no need of heavy blankets). Price was not exactly a deal, but I guess it is next to impossible to find much more cheaper places for that quality in downtown Venice that period of the year. Staff very friendly. One final note: the hotel is very close to Venice's old Jewish neighborhood (Ghetto), which offers a good chance for a different-than-usual dining Italian style.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Cannaregio Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hesperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.