We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hotel near the railway station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hesperia to your Saves list
Hotel Hesperia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“quiet hotel near the railway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spent a night in this hotel during the final week of Carnival 2013. It is located along the Cannaregio Canal, a mere 5 minutes walk from the railway station which allows to minimize the time you have to pull your trolleys through the city on arrival and departure. Room was small but tidy and warm (no need of heavy blankets). Price was not exactly a deal, but I guess it is next to impossible to find much more cheaper places for that quality in downtown Venice that period of the year. Staff very friendly. One final note: the hotel is very close to Venice's old Jewish neighborhood (Ghetto), which offers a good chance for a different-than-usual dining Italian style.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Cannaregio Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    328
    55
    13
    4
See reviews for
107
395
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in January 2013. The hotel made ​​a good impression. It is located near the train station and near the bus station, to reach it from there you have to walk about 8-10 minutes on foot without crossing the channel. The hotel staff is very friendly and polite, spoke in English. Very beautiful and stylish decor inside the hotel, well-equipped rooms. It is felt that the owners love their business. It offers a good breakfast. It is also important that the room price was quite reasonable for Venice. I will surely try to book a room in this hotel on my next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful 2 nights at Hotel Hesperia. It is very well located, close to the train station and bus stop and in a very nice part of the city (Cannaregio). The sisters were very welcoming and spoke excellent English. Room was comfortable and clean (and warm in January). When we mentioned that it was my girlfriend's birthday, they not only booked us a table at an excellent restaurant (La Zucca), but surprised us when we arrived back that night with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco and tray of snacks on our bed. A lovely surprise!
A highly recommended hotel, we will stay again next time we are in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peak district
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

From booking to leaving we were more than happy with our choice of hotel for our 15th wedding anniversary. We were put in a very nice room on the first floor, overlooking the Canareggio canal. The sight when we opened the shutters the first morning was mesmerising! The canals are like our high streets and the way the boats are manoeuvred would put a white van man to shame! I could have watched all day, but breakfast called - quite adequate, cereal, toast, meats and cheese etc, and any type of coffee you liked. Then to explore this fabulous city.

It was very cold but we expected that. I could write all day about what we saw and did, but there are many others on this website alone doing a better job than I could. Suffice to say that our top tips are 1 - wrap up warm in winter, 2- buy a vaporetto season ticket for the duration of your stay (to include travel to/from airport if necessary) 3- buy a museum pass which includes around 20 museums including the Doges Palace and 4 - eat and drink at the osterias, especially around the fabulous Rialto Market, for local flavour.

Back to the Hesperia - our stay worked out at £65 per night including breakfast - for a hotel in Venice with really good access to everything we thought it was incredible. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Arrived at 7pm and took the long route of 10-15 min walks dragging our heavy bags along the canal - we were very happy to finally see a lighted place that mark this hotel's entrance. We are upgraded to a 2nd floor room with side canal view at no additional cost.

Next day, we checked out the short route of 7 min that involved 2 turns to the train station. Brek - a simple cafeteria with WIFI is between the train station and a gelato shop that mark the entrance to the short route. I wish I knew of the entrance and save us the long walk. On the other hand, I'll hesitate to get into a small unknown lane in the dark.

Across the hotel is a canal - there is 2 supermarket - Coop about 150 meters away and Billa some distance away. That's the way to San Marco - lot of shops along the way.

This is a great hotel in terms of location, price, rooms & service. Breakfast included in rate is simple and enough to fuel us until mid day or later. Staff is very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, I can say it is a great hotel in terms of location, price, rooms & service. Breakfast feels like you are sitting in your home. Staff is also helpful. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

one thing that stands outs when thinking of hesperia hotel is its friendly staff.. we were felt quite welcomed and the staff was always available for any help we needed.. breakfast was good and we sat on the tables placed outside.. the boat station is right across the canal over a bridge..
rooms were a bit small, but what can you expect in venice?! i would definitely stay here again when i visit venice next..

Room Tip: get a room over seeing the canal.. it was such a great feeling to see the world pass by on boats fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hesperia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.