We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londra Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Londra Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Londra Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for a romantic 3 night break in gorgeous but beyond touristy Venice. I chose the Londra because of all the amazing photos of Tripadvisor, and paid for the upgrade to Lagoon view and boy did it not disappoint. If I recommend you do one thing - it's make sure you have a lagoon room!!

We arrived on a rather drab day by water taxi. I was disappointed not to see anyone on the door or find anyone to help grab my mountains of luggage. We were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly receptionist who kindly showed us quickly to our room.

Our room was on the second floor and very well appointed. We were at the end of a corridor and had by far the biggest balcony on the floor - it's recognizable by the Venetian flag that flies from it!

The hotel room had a beautifully luxurious feel about it, and so tastefully done. The ceiling has to be seen to be believed! The bed was very large and very comfortable. The bathroom was also of a large size but unfortunately didn't have a walk in shower. It was incredibly clean and tidy, but trust me, the reason you're here is because of the incredible view! We spent a lovely evening sat on the balcony watching the world go by. This is truly priceless.

Location-wise as mentioned it's great if you're after the top sights of Venice. St Marks square is literally a stone's throw away, and you're right opposite a water taxi and public boat stop. It could not be easier to get around.

Concierge was incredibly helpful in recommending restaurants and giving us detailed maps. Nothing was too much.

Breakfast - i have to be honest I felt a little let down by breakfast. The setting is so beautiful but the constant annoyance of the pigeons jumping onto tables and on occasion your table, as you're eating breakfast, is enough to put you off! Also, the way breakfast is served doesn't work for me. You're given a small bread basket with an assortment of breads - however I was just after a few croissants! It seems such a waste as everyone has a small basket on their table and in some cases it's barely touched. It also attracts the pigeons. I'd suggest scrapping this and let people get the bread from the buffet themselves! The choice was also a little poor for such a quality hotel, although the staff were all very helpful.

I'd definitely stay at the Londra Palace again. Such a gorgeous hotel - old-style with a modern twist. Great staff, too. If you get the chance head up to the 5th floor and find the 'secret' roof terrace. You'll get the best photos up there.

I'm knocking off one point from this review because on occasion I found service a little slow, and not up to 4 or 5 star standard (asking for room service, for example)

but this is minor, if you want a view to die for - this place should be your first stop!

Room Tip: Lagoon view all the way. Great sound proofing so don't be scared to be on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for your nice review and for choosing the Londra Palace.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the fantastic view from our rooms.
Thank you also for your suggestions about the buffet breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    148
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
164
539
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel, particularly the concierge service and the lobby/breakfast facility. The location is outstanding - could not be better. We had a fantastic view of the main canal and the hotel is located a couple of blocks from St. Marks square.

Though the room was an upgrade, we were surprised at how small it was. That being said, it was adequate for out needs and charming, with a comfortable bathroom. It is now my understanding that this is standard for Venice compared to other cities in Italy. I would definitely recommend this hotel and return myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for posting this nice review.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Hotel location, breakfast and Concierge's service.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Can't particularly fault this hotel - from the moment you pull up in front of it in a water taxi, the service is impeccible. All the staff are remarkably friendly, the attention to detail is impressive and every guest is made to feel like a king.

Location is perfect, breakfast was good and the conciege was incredibly helpful.

We stayed in the Tchaikovsky suite, which had some nice touches (including original hand-written scores from Tchaikovsky on the wall from the time he was writing in this hotel). The views into the basin are just gorgeous, the room was light and airy and decor perfect.

Personally, I think it's nicer than the Danielli - the rooms are more spacious and service more friendly. If the Londra could match the Danielli's rooftop garden and reception area, it would be the pinnicle of hotels in Venice for me.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the upgrade to a suite. If you like historic features, aim for the Tchaikovsky sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Sir, dear Madam,

thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted to read that your stay in the Junior Suite dedicated to Tchaikovskyi ( newly refurbished) has been enjoyable and that you loved the Hotel location, breakfast and the service.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castels, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked the Londra Palace for a 2 night stay as we had got engaged over dinner there 6 years ago. The Hotel itself was excellent with a comfortable room but the food was not what we had had previously. It seems to be using its lagoon frontage and central location to bump up prices. Breakfast was average but the dinner was truly overpriced and very disappointing in terms of quality and quantity of food and tastes. Think we would stay at The Danieli again next time.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms will be stunning but at a premium. Our was at the back but still had a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace again.
We are very sorry to read about your disappointing experience at our Restaurant
Our Chef is the same as your previous stay and we have to say that during this six years he didn't stand still waiting for clients just coming for the Hotel central location, but his and his Team growth has been constant and awarded by Michelin Guide, Gambero Rosso guide, Relais & Chateaux Gourmet Festivals when he cooked with Michelin- stars Chefs with great success.
As far as the prices are concerned, we grant reductions on Food & Beverage to Hotel guests and we have light menus (2 or 3 courses) with seasonal products and wine included at reasonable costs. The wine ("Venitian wood") is produced for us by one of the most important wineries in the Amarone region.
We regret very much we didn't meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has nice rooms and great views if facing the water. The concierge at the hotel was fabulous and helped with everything i needed. The breakfast was nice but i was unimpressed with the lobby area. Not a place that people hang out at least not while we were there.

Room Tip: i had a room at the end of hall which was close to the housekeeping door. not ideal as we heard them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for posting this nice review.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here on our first trip to Venice, and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to any first time travelers.

Location
Beautiful location right on the Grand Canal. There's a nice broad walkway in front of the hotel, so it doesn't actually abut the canal, which is a good thing. It's about a 5 minute walk to St Mark's square and about a 15 minute walk to the Rialto bridge. The nice thing about this hotel is that you're close to everything, but you're not right in the middle of all the hubbub.

Just an FYI though. The hotel is nowhere near the train station, and I would even want to try the walk with luggage. It's not the distance really, it's more of the winding nature of venetian streets and all the canals/bridges you'll have to cross. You will need to take a water taxi (which can be pricey).

Rooms
Our room had a king sized bed, which is not something easy to find in Venice (or Europe in general). Everything was well appointed and felt very venetian. Bathroom was clean, marble clad, and had great water pressure. Our room opened to the back of the hotel, so we didn't get a canal view, but we did get a charming view of the city. Very happy with the room.

Service
Very friendly staff. No issues at check in or check out. Housekeeping was on the ball. Wait staff at breakfast was attentive. Kudos all around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for posting this nice review and for recommending our Hotel to Tripadvisors readers.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and you loved your room, the location and the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Londra Palace.

Kind regards

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were upgraded to a room with a view of the canal. Room was beautiful and large. Breakfast was good, set in an elegantly charming room. Excellent location. Would highly recommend staying here and I'd definitely would go back. I feel so spoiled :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for posting this nice review.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Londra Palace and that you wish to stay again.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Londra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra Palace

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 7th November Londra Palace has been awarded Most Outstanding Service Hotel for Europe & the Mediterannean at the prestigious Conde' Nast Johansens 2012 Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Londra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Londra Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.