We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit for a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londra Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Londra Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Londra Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 382 Hotels in Venice
UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Second visit for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were last in this hotel 30 years ago and came back with family to celebrate our Pearl anniversary.
Every request was granted and the staff were very caring and attentive in a low key professional manner.
The breakfasts are more than adequate and our daughter asked for gluten free bread which was baked especially and was the best she had ever tasted(it is usually pretty grim). Hot food is additionally charged for but is not really needed as the choice is very good.
We had a celebratory meal which was good but not overly memorable and was expensive but everywhere is in Venice.
We had 2 rooms on 3 different floors: ours had a balcony and was on the first floor with wonderful views over the lagoon but was a little noisy even well into the early hours. These rooms are very ornate and traditional and the bathrooms have been created out of the existing room so the sleeping area is quite small.
The room on the 2nd floor was much bigger and had a more modern feel to it.
The 3rd room was on the top floor and was split level with the bathroom up a steep flight of stairs. The windows had shutters you could control and this was the quietest room even with windows open at night. These rooms are very traditional in their décor as well.
The hotel is exceptionally clean in every respect and is well placed for exploring on foot right from the front door.
If you can-have a private boat transfer from the airport and pay the extra to arrive via The Grand Canal-this is absolutely wonderful and gets you in the mood for a wonderful visit to this endlessly fascinating city.
You really need to be able to walk easily to enjoy this city-good comfortable shoes are the order of the day and a decent map from the concierge is a must . Try to get into all the different areas as each one has something different to offer.
We stayed for 3 nights which was perfect.

Room Tip: Top floor for quietest sleep Middle floor for biggest/most modern rooms First floor for elegant ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

we thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for your nice review.
We are pleased to know that your stay has been enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    139
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
156
515
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Transport -The location of this hotel is perfect for getting around. Four of us stayed for a long weekend, we hired a private water taxi to and from the airport (cost E110 each way for the four of us, buy ticket at airport on arrival) which drops you right outside the hotel and we purchased a two day water bus ticket from the kiosk outside the hotel which takes you everwhere you'll want to go around Venice and the islands, this ticket is great value and a must.

Hotel general - Great location looking out over the water. Nice inside/pavement bar and restaurant, small and efficient front desk area leading off to the lifts and restaurant. Very helpful front desk staff.

Rooms - Not the largest and fairly basic, classy decoration. Nice bathroom with bath and great shower. Our room overlooked roofs at the back which was ok for us as we didn't spend much time in the room, if you plan to spend time in the room pick a front lagoon view. Mini bar very expensive. We bought bottled water at a local shop for 1/10th price.

Food - Breakfast (included) was a bit of a letdown if like me, you like full cooked as you need to pay per item. If you like cold meats, cheese, breads and fruit, then you'll be fine with the selection included. Great to eat breakfast outside and watch the world go bye. For dinner, the food is good, portions small, but lacked the "wow" factor - that is until the bill came! Drinks are very expensive E8 for a small bottle of beer, but I guess you are paying for the location and we enjoyed many drinks sitting outside in the evenings. Service in general was good and the bar staff in particular were excellent. There are many places to eat and drink as you make your way around Venice, we dined at Rialto where there are a number of canal side restaurants so the prices are keener, Burano and the Lido.

In general - Great location, great service, food and drink ok but expensive, rooms nice but basic and if you intend to spend time at the hotel, book a water facing room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Londra Palace for a recent visit, as we had had two good experiences there in past years and knew the location was right for us this time. We found the concierges, porters, and restaurant/bar staff to be helpful time and again with each question or request for service. Our room had all the amenities and comfort we were looking for (along with a great view). We had the final dinner of our trip at the hotel and, even though there was a good-sized private event going on in the adjacent room and a significant number of regular dinner customers that evening, we received attentive service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for posting this nice review.
We are very pleased to know that you chose to stay again at the Londra Palace and that your stay met your expectations.
We will pass on to the Staff your kind words of appreciations.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is located within minutes from St. Mark's Square. Water taxis and water buses are directly in front of the hotel. A cold breakfast is included with options to order and pay for hot breakfasts. You can dine outside the hotel on their patio with a lovely view of the boats and water. Our room was small but lovely with a large bathroom. The room was absolutely quiet despite the busy tourists and boats out front. The concierge was extremely helpful with maps and directions. There are many restaurants just outside the door of the hotel or just a short walk away. I would definitely recommend this hotel .The only thing that bothered me were the starchy sheets on the bed. That's a first for me and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. But I would definitely stay there again if I return to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for your nice review.
We are very pleased to know that your stay at the Londra Palace has been nice.
We look forward to welcomign you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Out of 5 hotels we stayed in over three weeks in Italy, this was at the top of the list. The location was perfect, just far enough away from St. Marks not to be too crowded and noisy, but enough in the middle of things so you could sit outside in the shade and people watch over an afternoon snack. It had the best breakfast of any hotel we encountered (the best hot pastries!!) and the property was immaculate and elegant. We chose the property, in addition to the location and other amenities, for the ability to have two rooms connect for our family. The kids had a totally separate room with twin beds (classic twin room) and their own bathroom. There was enclosed corridor between our room (a Deluxe double room overlooking the lagoon) and theirs, which made it very quiet and private. The wi-fi was included and there was also very good dry-cleaning service available. At our request, the hotel arranged for a driver and a guide to pick us up at the train station, however, a water taxi without the guide would have been fine. The front desk had amazing help and we felt very pampered and fortunate to have selected the Londra Palace for our Venice visit. We highly recommend it to families with children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

thank you for your nice review about the Londra Palace.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with your Family and that the accomodation in connecting room was suitable to your needs.
The fact that you rated our Hotel at the top of the Hotels you visited in Italy makes us very proud of our work ! Thank you so much!

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Londra palace in June and we were very disappointed. We were in Italy for 2 weeks and the hotels we stayed in Positano and Rome were not as much money and provided a much better experience. The hotel is beautiful, perfect location, and amazing views oof the laggon so I can see why it is as expensive as it is. But they don’t really care much about the tourists as long as they get their money.

The bed sheets felt like old towels and were very rough. The breakfast was great every morning, but the servers were rude and short with us. For the most part the front desk was nice and polite but when it was time for us to take a trip to Murano to explore the glass factories our perception of the hotel tanked. I was going to take the water bus but there was a strike so the busses weren’t running. I asked the hotel and they said they had a free shuttle….Great, we are finally seeing the value in this hotel.

Wow, were we wrong. The hotel puts us in a water taxi, drove us through the canals and it was really cool! When we got to Murano we were dropped off at a factory…. not the island where we can go explore. When we got off the taxi there was someone there to meet us, and that is when I realized the hotel and the factory have a deal to give customers back and forth. We were shown a poor demo then a pushy sales guy takes us to the showroom to buy something. Then after we bought something we were pushed out the door and taken back to the hotel in an old run down boat and told we don’t want to see anymore of Murano because it is only industrial and boring. The concierge who we thought was great and nice to us while setting up the trip to Murano, knew we were upset and basically stopped talking to us for the rest of the day. He just handed us our key and said thanks (he probably meant “thanks for buying glass and giving us more money sucker!”). I am sure the Londra palace received a commission from the factory (BS Signoretti), good for them and bad for us.

If you have money to burn and don’t care about the value of the experience at the hotel, stay here. If you want top notch service and people who care about you having a good time in Venice, stay somewhere else. If we didn't go to Murano maybe my rating would be different, but unfortunate for Londra Palace, we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

we are very sad to read such a negative review.
The Hotel Londra Palace doesn't work with the Signoretti Factory or any other Factories located in Murano.
As it was not possible to reach Murano because of a 24 hours-strike of public transportation, the Concierge arranged a complimentary water taxi to give you the opportunity to see how they blow the glass and to visit the workshop. If your experience at this Factory, which is one of the most important and well known all over the world, has been not pleasant, we apologize sincerely.
Your feeling about the Concierge who wasn't kind anymore after your shopping in Murano is influenced by your negative experience as they are very nice and professional persons.
We are also very sorry if you didn't appreciate our first-quality linen sheets.

If you wish to contact us for further details, we are at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Londra Palace was recommended by a relative; and was even more than expected! The location was great; right off the number 2 vaporetti (water bus) from the train station - no need for other higher cost transportation! Says four star but is close to five in our eyes! Very clean and friendly; has great Internet as well. Staff was awesome and smiling always; easily the best hotel in our ten days in Italy.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have great air conditioning; you will need it in Venice! Front rooms only have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,

we have read your nice review about the Londra Palace and we thank you very much.

We are delighted to know that your stay has been very enjoyable and that you rated our Hotel as the top in your journey to Italy.

Thank you again from all of us !

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Londra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra Palace

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 7th November Londra Palace has been awarded Most Outstanding Service Hotel for Europe & the Mediterannean at the prestigious Conde' Nast Johansens 2012 Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Londra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Londra Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.