We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londra Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Londra Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Londra Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 382 hotels in Venice
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Venice and we did not realise your feet were the mode of transport.Hence the location of this hotel was superb.Beyond this there is only one word to describe the hotel ,the concierge ,the hotel staff, the cleanliness of the rooms ,FANTASTIC ! Would definately return.Thankyou.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite did not see any other rooms but it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted that your first visit to Venice has been enjoyable and that your stay at the Londra Palace was a success.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    129
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
143
484
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our second visit to the Londra Palace and it did not disappoint. The staff are friendly in particular the barmen and the staff on the front desk
The barmen apart from serving a wonderful cocktail was a font of information and the concierge always had advise and suggestions that made our stay more enjoyable.
Complimentary tea and biscotti in the afternoon were delicious and a nice extra touch
The rooms are traditionallly furnished and extremely comfortable,amazing views from the front rooms which reflect the hotels perfect location.
We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for you nice comments.
We are very pleased that you visited us again and that also your second visit has been so enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you .... a third time.

Yours sincerely,

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with views that could really not be any better! It really is worth paying extra to get a room with a view of the Grand Canal (although in our case we booked a room without a view and were given a free upgrade). The location of the hotel is great - less than a minute's walk to St Marks Square, and with the Vaporetto stops for lines 1 and 2 just outside, so you are right in the middle of all the action. The continental buffet breakfast was also great and is served in a beautiful breakfast room. My only complaints are that there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room (although apparently this is quite common in Europe) - and that the tea and coffee in the hotel lobby was ridiculously priced (7 euro for a cup of tea!) and that the room furnishings were perhaps a tiny bit old/tired. Another tip - if you are arriving in Venice during the day then it is well worth it to book a private water taxi from the airport because the experience is literally second to none - but make sure you book it at the airport rather than through the hotel. The hotel will charge you 165 euro for the one-way trip between the airport and the hotel, whereas at the private water taxi counter at the airport you will only be charged 110 euro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for choosing the Londra Palace and for your nice review.
Please note that it is not true that we charge Euro 165 for a water taxi from the Airport to the Hotel. If requested by the client, we organize a private transfer at the cost of Euro 160. This transfer includes : a person waiting for them at the arrival terminal, assistance with the luggage, a car with driver to the car terminal, a water taxi to the Hotel.
The furnishings of our rooms are not old but antique.
Afternoon tea is complimentary ( see review above) in the Hotel lobby.
At the Bar we serve 12 different qualities of tea.

Thank you again,

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights in November. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and Venice was one of our last destinations on a 3 week trip through Europe. We arrived at the hotel by water taxi early on the evening of November 9th (just as the lights throughout Venice were coming on). As our water taxi approached the front of the Londra Palace from the Grand Canal, we were thrilled to see that the location of the hotel was perfect! The hotel is iterally steps away from the Doges Palace and St. Mark's Square. As we entered the hotel lobby, we were impressed by the understated elegance and charm of the hotel and by the warm welcome we received from the hotel management. Although we had reserved a Junior Suite with a lagoon view, our room turned out to be so much more elegant than we expected. Our suite was located on the top floor with 3 large windows and a small balcony-- all overlooking the Grand Canal. The suite was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated, the views were absolutely stunning and we were delighted to find a chilled bottle of champagne with a welcome note sitting on the dining table. With such a romantic setting, my husband decided to make the most of the moment. He immediately went down to the front desk and asked the concierge if he could book a private gondola ride with a musician and a singer. Within minutes (with champagne and glasses in hand), we experienced the most romantic gondola ride. We were extremely grateful to the concierge for setting up such a wonderful musician and singer and would highly recommend this experience to others.

The next day, we received great recommendations from the concierge and hotel management about how to make the best use of our time since it was to be our only full day in Venice. We had a fabulous day touring the Doges Palace, shopping and exploring the city. We ended the evening by listening to an amazing violin concert in St. Mark's Square after a special dinner.

When we awoke on Sunday morning (the morning of our departure), we were amazed to find that heavy rains and high tides had caused major flooding. In fact, the plaza in front of our hotel as well as our hotel lobby was literally 2 feet under water. We soon learned that this was actually one of the worst floods Venice had experienced in over a hundred years. In spite of this obvious emergency, the hotel staff was extremely calm and appeared to be treating this major flood as just a minor inconvenience. Waiters and other staff members (all wearing hip-wader boots) were graciously and cheerfully delivering breakfast trays to the rooms since the restaurant on the ground floor was flooded. (Of course the elevators could not be used during the flood, so the staff was required to continuously climb up and down many flights of stairs while carrying these heavy breakfast trays.) The hotel also provided my husband and me with rubber boots to use while we walked to our water taxi. Several members of the hotel staff followed us to the boat while carefully carrying our luggage on top of their heads. Words are not adequate to describe how impressed we were with the professionalism and grace under pressure that we witnessed from the hotel staff that morning. However, if we were asked to rate this hotel on a scale of one to ten, we would have to rate it a---FIFTEEN!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for you nice comments about the Hotel.
We are delighted to know that your stay has been enjoyable.
We are proud of our staff who worked so hard to reduce the inconveniences due to the exceptional Acqua Alta on November 11.
I will pass on to them you kind appreciation.

Thank you again.
Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel blew us away, the room we had facing the Grand Canal was breathtaking.

The staff were great the concierge in particular giving lots of tips and guidance, the restaurant was terrific. This is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for a romantic getaway and to pamper yourself in a romantic city.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for you nice review and for choosing the Londra Palace.
We are very pleased to know that your stay has been comfortable and enjoyable.

We hope to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Arriving at the crowded Riva degli Schiavoni, Venice's lagoon front stand is charming with its bustling traffic of ferries, vaporettos and gondolas. However, the waves of tourists fresh off a 3,000 guest cruise ship traveling can be daunting, as they appear as a human wave moving up and down over the canal bridges. So we grabbed our suitcases and dove into the crowd to make our way only a few yards to the entrance of the Londra Palace Hotel where we found peace and quiet and a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the Riva, the busy chop of the Grand Canal and Lagoon. Each morning we would be awakened by the toot of tugboats as they gently nudge a vast cruise ship (floating city) down the channel to its bert at the Port - a scene which was other worldly against the ancient back drop of a Venice.
The Londra Palace turned out to be a very comfortable luxurious oasis with a elegant bathroom with a 'car wash' shower bath. The staff was very pleasant, and their sidewalk cafe graciously provided the Italian libations and food favorites we had been craving, including a nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: The rooms with small balconies overlooking the Riva are the best, and the crowded street with sidewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted to know that you found our Hotel peaceful and that your stay has been enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband for 2 nights just before Christmas 2012. Had a great time. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms are good size with a large bathroom. As there are no smoking rooms they gave us a room with a balcony so we could smoke on the terrace.
The breakfast room was so grand and good choice of breakfast items even though it was only continental.
Hotel is a 1 minute walk to st Marc's square, located right on the water. If you arrive by train and want to catch the public water taxi to hotel ( stops right in front of hotel) then get on line 1 only which is the scenic route to hotel. Tickets are about 7 euros. If you catch the private water taxi it will cost 70 euros and they will take the shortest route there. Thus missing out on the grand canal experience. We caught the private water taxi back to the train station and we felt like rock stars. The only disappointing thing was that the driver wanted an extra 20 euro to take us to the station the scenic way. So make sure you make it clear which way you want to travel and haggle for the price.
Aldo at the concierge is a great asset to the hotel. He will organise everything for you.
Would love to return here again in summer.
Would have liked to have had coffee/ tea making facilities in the room

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated differently . We had a room facing the back of the hotel. Even though there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneLP, Direttore at Hotel Londra Palace, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted to know that your recent stay at the Londra Palace has been enjoyable.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely

Stefania Vaccari
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Londra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra Palace

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni, 4171, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 7th November Londra Palace has been awarded Most Outstanding Service Hotel for Europe & the Mediterannean at the prestigious Conde' Nast Johansens 2012 Awards for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Londra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Londra Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.