We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
- 4% www.hotelamerican.it
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Gatineau, Québec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

II stayed at this hotel for one week by myself at the beginning of September. It was my 3rd trip in Venice but the first by myself. Overall, I have been very happy with the hotel and I would seriously consider coming back there in my next trip to the greatest city in the world.
I had a very small room with a tinny balcony with a diagonal view on the front canal. The room and the hotel in general are very clean and confortable. I was in Venice right during the film festival so it was high season and the price per night was right. This is the type of room that you just go there for sleeping. The restroom was also tinny but had all what you need. The breakfast was very good by Italian standard and at the level of **** hotels. The service is excellent and the information given by the front desk people (vaporetti and transportation schedule) was very professional.
The great value of this hotel is it perfect location in the quiet Dossoduro just in between the Accademia and the Zattere vaporetti stops. The two stops give you access (with just one bridge to climb baggage) to a large variety of vaporetti line, including an easy access to Burano, Murano, and the airport (direct). The area flourishes with a big variety of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    330
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
233
509
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We were so happy with this hotel. Our room was very small but that didn'tt matter as we were only in it to sleep. What did matter is that it was spotless, quiet, and had a lovely little balcony. We thought the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was just right. There were pastries, fruit, yogpurt, cereals, breads, meats and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, juices and teas and coffee. If we are ever back in Venice....we would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely hotel situated in Dorsoduro, a quieter part of Venice. It stands beside the San Vio Canal and just a few steps away from Accademia landing stage for the water bus. The Peggy Guggenheim museum is close by also. There are loads of restaurants and shops close by and the joy of it is that you don't have to push through all the crowds. St Marks and all the other touristy sites are just a short walk away. Apart from travelling on the Water Bus at 7 euro each journey, walking is the best way to see and 'feel' Venice. It's not a large city and you will be surprised how much you manage to see. The hotel has superior rooms on the front overlooking the canal, with balconies and I would recommend paying the little extra for one of these. Not only can you watch life go bay, you can wave to the hotel webcam and let your family back home see you! The breakfast is taken in the ground floor dining room and is typical of a continental one with ham and cheese and eggs, along with rolls, jam and fruit. Its very good. The staff are so welcoming and caring and can't do enough for you. The Alilugano boats from and to the airport go from Zattera which is just a two minute walk from the hotel. It couldn't be better located. I would recommend it and will stay there again when I visit Venice.

Room Tip: Book a superior room overlooking the canal, with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here 20 years ago with family and liked it then. Happy to see that the hotel has been well maintained. The staff is pleasant and the location is terrific. The rooms are small, like many hotel rooms in Europe, but well designed so that two people are able to manage. Hotel location is near the Academia bridge, which makes it easy to get to all the major areas of Venice with a minimal amount of walking ( especially important when dragging luggage to hotel from train station). Beds are not terrific, a bit hard. The breakfast is basic with good coffee. I would stay there again for the price as it is not luxury but definitely a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel in May, 2012, and returned for a second visit in May 2013. It was every bit as wonderful the second time. On my first visit I stayed in a single room in the attic. It was a bit small and there were a lot of stairs to climb. On my second visit I had a single room on the second floor and it was just perfect! I think it was room number 103. It was larger than the attic room and had a gorgeous chandelier made of Murano glass. The hotel is immaculately maintained, the bathroom was spotless, and there was an abundant supply of toiletries. Wifi worked well in the room and the room safe was large enough to hold an iPad. The breakfast was fantastic, and Marco and Elisabetta at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. And I just love the Dorsudoro neighborhood where the hotel is located - so close to everything yet removed from the huge crowds that you find in the San Marco and Rialto areas. There are a number of restaurants in the area that we tried and liked, including the one right next to the hotel. Can't wait to return to this jewel of a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for three nights. We booked a superior room with balcony overlooking the canal! The hotel is really nice. Located on a small canal just two blocks from the Academia Bridge (Taxi's located here to the train and other locations). We took private water taxi as we flew many hours from Los Angeles. They set it up for me and it literally dropped us off in front of it's own dock. Walk is about 15 minutes to St. Marks but that is really nothing in Venice where there are no cars and the walk itself is part of the fun! The breakfast was good, def take advantage. The stay also included a private water taxi to the Island of Murano with a glass blowing demonstration. From there you can hop on public taxi's to the other islands and to Venice but I thought that they get you there really helped out and was a great ammenity. If you are staying in Venice I would def recommend this hotel and if it suits your budget get the superior balcony room overlooking the canal, it made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here with mum for the last weekend in August on a short weekend break. I cannot fault this hotel, the location was perfect, it was easy to locate when we were dropped off on arrival and literally a few minutes walk from the Accademia bus stop and about a 15/20 minute walk to the main San Marco Square.

The staff are all super friendly and helped us immensely during our trip, they booked restaurants / river taxi's / the opera nothing was too much trouble.

We had an apartment room which was in another building next to the hotel, it seemed quite new, the room we had was larger than we were expecting which looked out onto our own courtyard which we had not expected so that was a lovely surprise.

The room was cleaned daily and the rooms were comfortable and cool.

I would love to go back to Venice and I would definitely stay in this hotel again. The whole trip was amazing, wish we could have stayed longer.

Clair.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in one of the Apartment rooms they seem to be quite new and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.