We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely area, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - 4% discount
Ranked #42 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely area, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the Dependance, which adjoins the main hotel. This is a great area to stay if you have a mobility issue, as there are only a couple of small steps at the entrance. The price in off season was wonderful, and the rooms were incredibly spacious. There is even an outside patio (though we didn't take advantage as the weather was not great while we were there). The bathrooms were really stylish, the beds very comfortable, and it felt downright luxurious for a bunch of budget travelers. The location is wonderful, (it's on a lovely and quiet section of canal), and very close to everything. We enjoyed the complimentary Murano glass tour- it is a sales attempt, but you don't have to buy anything and it didn't feel overly pushy. The only wish I have is that breakfast would be included in the stay at the Dependance. But not really a true complaint as it allowed us to discover a delicious bakery down the street.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    339
    42
    12
    8
See reviews for
241
539
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Five stars. We just loved this charming hotel. Marco and the entire staff were simply outstanding and so helpful from our checkin to departure. The room was immaculate, comfy bed to huge bathroom. The breakfasts were superb -- hard to decide among the many wonderful choices. A five minute walk to the Accademia vaporetto stop and the quiet little neighborhood made us feel at home. Shops and restaurants are just short walks We can't wait to go back! Bravo!

Room Tip: Since it lacks an elevator, you might want a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a very nice, small, quiet hotel, helpful staff and lots of breakfast choices. Price is very reasonable for Italy. Good location right near the Academia water taxi stop, and a 10 minute walk to San Marco and other important sites. We stayed there 20 years ago with our daughter who was then 20 months old. We were just there again (March, 2013) with our daughter--now age 21. Only caution: probably not a place for someoen with a serious disability as there is no elevator.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

With a number of hotel options and reviewing a number of Trip Advisor reviews we settled on Hotel American-Dinesen for our stay in four-night stay in Venice. We had no regrets. This hotel is fabulous and offers great value.

First of all, the hotel is exceptionally well located on a very quiet canal off the Academia vaperatto stop. We opted for the ‘canal view’ room and our room overlooked this charming and quiet canal. Given you spend most of your day sight-seeing – you may or may not find a benefit of paying the extra monies for the view but it was nice way to start the day to roll back the curtains and stand on the balcony and check things out.

The rooms are small. NYC small. But well layed out. The room was immaculate and well furnished and frankly looked better than the photos on the website. The bed was very firm and had firm pillow. My girlfriend did not like the bed (two singles put together) but it was fine. The room had a very well equipped bathroom with a tiny shower with barely room to turn around but it was fine and had plenty of hot water. A U.S. power outlet was available in the bathroom for charging our phones and other items and was appreciated. The A/C unit worked great. The room had black-out shades that came down with a button, which was nice.

Where this hotel shines, is the staff. They work very hard to make your experience a great one from the moment you check in, for breakfast service, making reservations for restaurants, giving directions, and more. I just very impressed by their team – it’s a dedicated group.

The breakfast service offers the basics – cereals, bread with meats and cheeses, pasties, juices, fruits, and more. More than adequate.

As an aside, we booked our room right on their website and it gave us the option to add a fresh basket of strawberries and bowl of fruit to be ready in our room upon arrival for an extra fee. This was nice getting off a long flight from the U.S. to have this waiting in our room.

Overall, this is one of the best combinations of value/price/location/amenities I have experienced in my European travels. Really a great hotel – I highly recommend it. You are close to all the major attractions – Guggenheim (minutes away), a short vaparetto ride to St. Marks, etc.

Room Tip: Keep in mind Canal View rooms cost more but keep in mind if you are sightseeing all day - having the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Five stars all over! What more can I say? Clean comfortable rooms, excellent location, and special thanks to the hotel's staff and management for making this stay very pleasant! Make sure you do the complimentary tour of Murano glass factory ( You don't need to buy anything at the end).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Venice for a number of years and are so please we discovered the Hotel American Dinesen. Ideally placed for the Accademia bridged and its vaporetto stop to explore much of venice on foot or by ferry, and in the other direction the Zattere and Giudecca . The staff are welcoming and helpful, the rooms well cared for and typically Venetian. The hotel serves a good contiental breakfast. The Dorsoduro is both open and quite. We are regular visitors to Venice and always happy to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a view over Canal Vio. A vaporetto pass from the vaporetto stop by the bridge to cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Apartment: Our family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in apartment #1. The apartment was very clean. On the main floor is a small kitchen, bathroom with a shower and washer, and a sofa bed. Upstairs is one room that overlooks the downstairs-more like a loft. It has a good sized closet and two single beds pushed together. The sofa bed was adequate for 2 kids. The kitchen has necessary utensils and dishes. There are tea and instant coffee supplies as well. There is a small refrigerator and freezer. The nearest grocery store is an easy 10-15 minute walk. We had fun cooking our own breakfast in the morning. Having a washer was nice. There is no dryer but there is a drying rack.

The location is excellent. From the train station, you can take the water bus (7 euros/1 hr ticket) to the Accademia Bridge stop. The fast boat gave us a great "tour" of the Grand Canal and got us there in about 20 minutes. From the Accademia Bridge, it is less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We had previously mapped it out. We did all of this with all of our luggage with no problems. You do have to walk down stairs at train station and then stairs on the bridge. If you want to spring for a water taxi at 60++ euros, the hotels has its own dock and you can be dropped off literally at the doorstep. It was a lovely walk to to the Rialto Bridge or St. Mark's Square. I would say it took us about 15 minutes to each but we window shopped along the way. We had no noise issues.

The staff was kind and helpful. I wish I could remember her name, but she went out of her way to help me print my boarding pass that I needed for my flight. I don't think you will find a better value in Venice, especially for such a great location. If I return to Venice with my family, I will look for availability at this apartment first. I cannot speak for the rooms in the main building, as I never saw them. I have no hesitation in recommending the apartment at Hotel American Dinesen.

Room Tip: Apartment 1 is perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#31 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.