We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - 4% discount
Ranked #36 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
france
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a beautiful room with double balcony and charming views - small but cosy. The staff were excellent and the hotel has a lovely quiet spot on the dosoduro. We felt this was great value for money, especially in Venice. Breakfast was only average; not great quality, nor was the buffet topped up quite regularly enough. The breakfast room too is functional and a bit disheartening. But would definitely recomend. This is our second stay and we'd go back happily if we could get a good price on a nice room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    349
    42
    12
    8
See reviews for
254
565
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ideal location. Not too busy and very easy to get to. Close enough to the main attractions and convenient for the Accademia vaporetto stop.

Rooms were spacious, well-decorated and very clean.

Staff very friendly and helpful and plenty of choice at breakfast (not always the case in Italy.)

Will certainly stay here again on future visits to Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel American Dinesan in June 2012 while on a multi-day vacation trip to Venice. It has an outstanding location in the Dorsoduro section of Venice, just a short walk from the Accademia vaporetto stop. It is walkingly convenient to all the Venice sights. The hotel is an 18th century palace sitting on the San Vio canal. Upon arrival, we were able to check right into our room, and the bellman helped us with our luggage up to it. Our room was nice-sized for a central-city European hotel, and had a large modern bathroom, comfortable bed, and a small balcony overlooking the San Vio canal and from which the Grand canal could be seen. The staff was helpful and attentive. We had the breakfast buffet in the mornings, and found it to be well-stocked with a variety of food. Generally, there was no need for lunch because we had eaten the buffet. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a conveniently located hotel at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice people, helpful, good mood, nice place to be (closed to best museums and near St Marco Plazza) VERY VERY VERY quiet , as much as we thought we were alone in the Hotel.

Excellent breakfast, nothing to reject in this hotel ! The place to be (at that price/quality)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for five days in a room on the third floor. Although, there is no elevator, the staircase is well appointed and easy to navigate. The service both at the front desk as well as the staff in the breakfast area was first class. The buffet breakfast is well stocked and there are so many choices for a very hearty breakfast including cheeses, cold cuts, all types of bread, pastries, fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of teas and coffee. The room was well appointed and the free Internet is instantaneous. What we liked most was the convenience. The hotel is very close (2 minute) walk from the Accademia water taxi stop as well as the Accademia bridge. The neighborhood has some very fine shops and good restaurants. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in a superior room with a balconette over Christmas for 3 nights. The room was superbly decorated, whilst having all the creature comforts. We could sit out on the balcony or just stand and watch the world go by. It's 10-15 mins walk to Piazza San Marco, or 2 mins walk to the Accademia water bus stop. Close to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff, and a great breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family of 4 recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights beginning Dec. 26th, 2012. We actually stayed in apartment #2 in the building directly to the right of the hotel. It was a great location. Getting there was easy. We simply took Vaporetto #1 to the Accademia stop, and a few short blocks away was our hotel. Marco, at the front desk, was very nice and helpful. He answered our many questions about restaurants and such. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Staying in the apartment did not include the breakfast but we loved having access to the kitchenette which included a fridge, freezer, microwave, full sink, and stove. It allowed us to save money by shopping at the Billa (grocery store) on the nearby Zatterre and eat in for some of our meals. Our apartment's window overlooked the canal. What a nice feeling to wake up to the sounds of church bells, seagulls, and boats cruising by. We really felt a part of Venetian life. We also loved how we were so close to everything while just far enough away to be in a peaceful area without crowds. I would go back again tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: Apartment #2 slept 4 people ( queen sized bed in loft upstairs and a couch/pullout bed downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
#43 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#21 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#41 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#19 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#15 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#41 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.