We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
- 4% www.hotelamerican.it
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Grasse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice people, helpful, good mood, nice place to be (closed to best museums and near St Marco Plazza) VERY VERY VERY quiet , as much as we thought we were alone in the Hotel.

Excellent breakfast, nothing to reject in this hotel ! The place to be (at that price/quality)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    330
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
233
509
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for five days in a room on the third floor. Although, there is no elevator, the staircase is well appointed and easy to navigate. The service both at the front desk as well as the staff in the breakfast area was first class. The buffet breakfast is well stocked and there are so many choices for a very hearty breakfast including cheeses, cold cuts, all types of bread, pastries, fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of teas and coffee. The room was well appointed and the free Internet is instantaneous. What we liked most was the convenience. The hotel is very close (2 minute) walk from the Accademia water taxi stop as well as the Accademia bridge. The neighborhood has some very fine shops and good restaurants. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in a superior room with a balconette over Christmas for 3 nights. The room was superbly decorated, whilst having all the creature comforts. We could sit out on the balcony or just stand and watch the world go by. It's 10-15 mins walk to Piazza San Marco, or 2 mins walk to the Accademia water bus stop. Close to restaurants and shops. Friendly staff, and a great breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family of 4 recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights beginning Dec. 26th, 2012. We actually stayed in apartment #2 in the building directly to the right of the hotel. It was a great location. Getting there was easy. We simply took Vaporetto #1 to the Accademia stop, and a few short blocks away was our hotel. Marco, at the front desk, was very nice and helpful. He answered our many questions about restaurants and such. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Staying in the apartment did not include the breakfast but we loved having access to the kitchenette which included a fridge, freezer, microwave, full sink, and stove. It allowed us to save money by shopping at the Billa (grocery store) on the nearby Zatterre and eat in for some of our meals. Our apartment's window overlooked the canal. What a nice feeling to wake up to the sounds of church bells, seagulls, and boats cruising by. We really felt a part of Venetian life. We also loved how we were so close to everything while just far enough away to be in a peaceful area without crowds. I would go back again tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: Apartment #2 slept 4 people ( queen sized bed in loft upstairs and a couch/pullout bed downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was just what I was looking for in Venice. It was charming and had a real Venetian feel. The hotel has an annex with a few additional rooms. We got one of these upon arrival, and although it was newer, it had more of a Motel 6 feel. It also had access to a small courtyard that was fun to sit at, especially late at night. But the next day I had our room changed to one in the main hotel. The room was very small, just room for the bed and not much space to move around in, but I LOVED it! It was exactly how I pictured a room in Venice.(See attached photo) The hotel was in a great location. Easy to get everywhere, but quiet at night. We took a water taxi from the airport and we easily found the hotel. However, it may be quite hard to locate on your own taking the vaporetto (water bus). The water taxi is a little expensive at 100 euros. The breakfast (that is included) was delicious and offered quite a variety. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Our room did not have a view like I intially wanted, but we were barely in the room anyway, except to sleep. You will be treated to canal views all day long when touring the city. You will Not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, no view, but it was beautiful. No view needed as we were out and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a last minute booking we couldn't get a room at the front overlooking the canal but the stay was very enjoyable nonetheless. Quiet area but only a few minutes walk to one of the few bridges over the grand canal to the centre of Venice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 2 days in Venice after taking a cruise in October 2012. I booked this hotel based on the reviews I read online and am so glad I did book it. We took the water taxi from the ship's port which took us right to the front door of the hotel. I wanted to be guaranteed a canal view so I booked the junior suite on the 3rd floor. It was wonderful and I enjoyed the little balconies overlooking the canal. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in answering any questions. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood but close enough to walk everywhere. If I make it back to Venice, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.