We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine place; fine location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Save Saved
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
- 4% www.hotelamerican.it
Ranked #36 of 382 hotels in Venice
Cleveland Heights, OH, USA
1 review
“fine place; fine location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked this hotel on the strength of a friend's recommendation and the favorable reviews in tripadvisor. We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-October and were quite satisfied. More relaxed atmosphere than in the San Marco area, which you can walk to in 15 minutes. Online booking on the hotel website was trouble-free. Charming old-world decor in the rooms. Easy walk to the hotel from the Accademia waterbus stop on the Grand Canal, and with a longer walk you can also use Zattere on the Giudecca Canal, a stop on other vaporetto routes. So it's really quite a convenient place from which to navigate Venice and the other islands.
G. Olson

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    695
    315
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
214
468
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in Venice at the Hotel American Dinesen for ten days in a large corner room, 202, with 3 Juliette balconies! It was very quiet at night and fun to open our the balcony doors during the day and people watch. This hotel was arranged as part of a cooking package from Cooking Vacations Italy. It is perfectly situated on a canal just off the Grand Canal and very close to the Water Bus stations. While it does not have a restaurant there were many good ones very close by, so it was not a problem. They have a wonderful large breakfast buffet with fresh made cappuccinos! They also have a sitting area and a roof patio where you could order from the bar at any time or have room service. The staff were very friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable. We will certainly stay there again on our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We absolutely loved the location of Hotel American Dinesen. It is on a quiet side canal and our favorite part of the day was sitting on the (small) balcony and just watching the locals while having a glass of wine. It's incredible to see how everything works in Venice from the laundry boats to police boats to commuter boats, etc etc. Around the corner from the hotel was a great pizza place with HUGE thin crust pizzas or slices to go. There are great Murano glass jewelry stores right across the small canal the hotel is on. Just a beautifully quiet neighborhood.

The breakfast was great. It had everything you could possibly want and great service. The front staff was very helpful and I'm not sure if this is always the case, but they offered a free taxi service to Murano when we were there. It is normally a $60 taxi ride, but the hotel provided it for free (probably have a business deal with the glass factory they bring you to). Regardless, it was such a nice way to see the whole area via boat. After touring the glass factory we just hopped on the public ferry to go to Burano and then back to the main city.

We were at first a little disappointed with our room because it seemed dingy walking in, but really the bathroom was gorgeous and it is in traditional Venetian style, which is much more traditional than what we're used to in the states. We had a superior room on the canal and would not change that at all.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the canal, otherwise I don't know what you'd be looking at outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well, after that I can say that the breakfast is good. Although there is no restaurant, as I was arriving quite late after all restaurants had closed, they were able to provide me with a nice cold dinner and a glass of wine, all for a very reasonable price. Good English spoken at the front desk.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms in a modern annex that have access to a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this at fairly short notice and the last room left was a canal view which was certainly worth it - small balcony to be fair but was still fun. Interesting to note that it was best to book on the hotel's website direct rather than through any of the normal booking websites and there was quite a saving over three nights which was a pleasant surprise.

Arrived just after the 143cm acqua alta and came prepared with our own wellies. Very helpful staff and good breakfasts - location between the Accademia and Guggenheim was hard to beat and short walk to Campo San Barnaba which is one of our favourite areas in Venice away from the San Marco side.

One tip is that it is worth booking a shared watertaxi transfer online on www.venicelink.com - minimum booking is for two people but online deal of €50 return per person compare well with best Alilaguna return rate of €25 and it is a much shorter walk from the S Vio stop.

I would also highly recommend an evening at the Venice Jazz Club www.venicejazzclub.com - different to the more traditional Vivaldi offering and provides a welcome change. This is only 10 mins walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great three nights at the American Dinesen in the heart of Venice's Dorsoduro District, 5 minutes walk from the Accedemia vaporetto stop (so allowing very easy access) and therefore the Grand Canal.

Our stay coincided with an event of "Acqua Alta" (high water) which the hotel coped with brilliantly and in many ways this added to the experience! Wading around Venice in hotel provided wellies was great fun and was short-lived but quite something to do and see as Venice just "gets on with it"!

The hotel was very nicely done - very Venetian, and with friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. We had the family room on the top floor, well away from flood waters (!), but with great canal views.

Lots of choice for restaurants nearby and no more than 15 minutes walk to St Mark's Square. On site breakfasts good and wholesome with super coffee.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October. It was perfect. Our room had a SMALL balcony overlooking a canal and we enjoyed watching the local activities. The room was clean, neat and well decorated. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast appealing. The location is quiet and away from the overly commercial area of the Rialto Market and noise of the Main Canal but close enough to walk or catch the water taxi to anywhere. We caught the water taxi from the train station to the Accademia stop and easily walked with our rolling luggage to the hotel. Would stay here again if we make it back to Venice.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the canal are probably the best and the corner unit may have small terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Venice
#23 Family Hotel in Venice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.