We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
- 4% www.hotelamerican.it
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October. It was perfect. Our room had a SMALL balcony overlooking a canal and we enjoyed watching the local activities. The room was clean, neat and well decorated. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast appealing. The location is quiet and away from the overly commercial area of the Rialto Market and noise of the Main Canal but close enough to walk or catch the water taxi to anywhere. We caught the water taxi from the train station to the Accademia stop and easily walked with our rolling luggage to the hotel. Would stay here again if we make it back to Venice.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the canal are probably the best and the corner unit may have small terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    330
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
233
509
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel American Dinesen from October 12th to October 15th. We enjoyed our stay in Venice and at this hotel in particular. From the moment we walked in until we checked out the staff was pleasant and always helpful and courteous. We absolutely loved our room and the balcony and view of the canal were amazing. The amount of money we paid for the room was incredibly reasonable for Venice especially for a room with a balcony and great view. The location is a short walk from the Accademia Bridge which meant we could walk to St. Marks Square in about 15 minutes and the rest of Venice was just as accessible. The few days we spent in Venice will last us a lifetime and if we ever are able to come back, we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. I cannot give the hotel and staff high enough remarks.

Room Tip: Book on their home website and you will get a good deal. Try and get a Superior Room facing the can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to this hotel via winning an auction trip at a charity event. The auction company sends numerous Venice trip winners to this hotel, so I assume they get a nice return for themselves. The hotel is in an ideal location on a small canal in Dorsoduro. The breakfasts are ample, and Marco, the concierge, does an excellent job of providing useful assistance.

But the rooms aren't much better than you'd get at a youth hostel. We had the standard room, which was postage stamp size with the bed lying almost on the floor. The furniture is junk, and the bathroom was so small that when you sit on the toilet your head hangs over the bidet! The window looks out on a brick wall about 6 feet away. I was told that the deluxe rooms on the canal side were more spacious, but these weren't available. In short this was a disappointing four-day stay.

Room Tip: Pay up for a deluxe room; the standard rooms aren't fit for other than college students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Dinesen, Manager at Hotel American Dinesen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

we truly regret to hear that our room and facilities did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately we don't know your name so we cannot check which room you had. In any case we wish to clarify that we don't have junk rooms in our House, ALL our rooms have been fully renovated on the 2007. The furniture, as can be seen in many pictures provided by other traveller, it's a typical venetian decor with silk/ fabric on the wall and our beds do not lay on the floor , for this reason we must say that we don't agree with your room description. Our rooms facing the canal with the balcony are the superior rooms , we don't have deluxe rooms.
We are a superior three star hotel and all our rooms and services are up to the category, we don't know hostel with similar accommodations and facilities.

We remain at your disposal,
Kind Regards

Hotel American Dinesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments connected to the hotel. It was very spacious. The layout - the bed upstairs and the bathroom downstairs was a little awkward when you got up in the middle of the night to use the restroom. The apartment was roomy, clean and a nice place to come home to. We would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel American Dinesen in Venice for two nights. Our accomodations and staff were both wonderful. Morning breakfast had alot of variety. Special thanks to the night staffman who prepared a light breakfast for us at 5am on the day of our departure. We would also like to thank the afternoon staffman who recommended Ristorante Casin dei Nobli - the food was delicious and well priced and the decor was fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. It's a perfect location for visiting all the sights in Venice. We stayed in room 202 and our friends were in 208 - we could chat to each other from our balconies! We overlooked the canal with its own water taxi stop and we could also see a small section of the Grand Canal - it was all very picturesque. We arrived at the hotel by private water taxi that only took about 30 mins from the airport - cost was about €180 for the return journey between the 4 of us but well worth it as it took us directly to the hotel. Our room was done in a Venetian style and although our bathroom was quite compact it was well equipped and kept spotlessly clean. The staff at reception were happy to book our trips and help us with directions to the many attractions. If you plan to do a Gondola ride my advice would be to ask a few how much they charge and what they include as the prices vary - but it's a great experience and a 'must' whilst in Venice!
We had a fantastic 4 night stay in this hotel and would stay here again if we were to return.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the rooms with a view of the canal - well worth it - we had rooms 202 and 208...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my first trip to Venice so I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. The hotel was excellent. Location could not have been better as it was just around the corner from the Accedemia stop and easily accessible to everywhere by foot. The room was small but very clean. The bathroom was also small but the water pressure was wonderful and the hot water extremely hot both day and night! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with an array of things. The morning I left was acqua alta and it began flooding right outside of the hotel. I ordered a water taxi and due to the flooding I could not get it right outside of the hotel. They gave me boots and used a cart to keep my luggage from getting soaked to get down to where the taxi could pick me up. Breakfast was good, although some warm options would have been nice. Overall a great place with a great staff! Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Venice
#45 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.