We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay in Dinesen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel American Dinesen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel American Dinesen to your Saves list
Hotel American Dinesen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay in Dinesen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked a modern room in the Dinesen. Our room and bathroom were very comfortable and nice. It was on the ground floor next to a courtyard. The hotel is on a good location, close to the waterbus-vaporettostops Accademia and Zattere. We didn't have breakfast there, it was not included.
In the neighourhood there is a good winebar-shop where you can eat very good cincetti's. 'cantinone gia schiavi', in fondamente Nani, with next door a good small gelateria 'squero'. In the wineshop we bought a bottle of Masi costasera Amarone we drank in the evening in the courtyard of Dinesen. That was very tasty, great wine! In the neighbourhood we didn't find a good restaurant. We went to the Montin, as the receptionist of American-Dinesen recommended, where we ate well but payed too much. It's better to take the Vaporetto and go to Piazza Roma for example and have dinner in this area, for example 'In bacco felice' near campo Tolentini. Better value for your money. Or to take the waterbus to S. Marcuola and have dinner in Gam-Gam with view on the canal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    338
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
241
532
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights based on the reviews i read on here. Hotel was beautiful with a great staff. The location was perfect. Not too far from the sights but far enough that prices in shops were cheaper and crowds were much less. Room was nice and in the Venician decor with great air conditioning and a wonderful breakfast. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed there for three nights in October 2010. The hotel is easily accessible from both Accademia and Zattere vapoletto stops. If you take private taxis to/from airport, the access is even better. Water taxi gets you right in front of the hotel, and hotel staff will take care of your luggages. Nice restaurants within walking distance. The hotel does not have elevator, so you should think about how much stairs you can manage. When I got in touch with the hotel staff and asked for a room on the first floor, the hotel staff was quite helpful. I was happy with the location, room size and cleanliness, but found the room rate rather pricey. Don't mind going back there, but then if I visit Venice again, I might choose either more luxury or economy.

Room Tip: Even if you use reservation websites, talk to the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel location was ideal for us: one block each way to the Accademia (with its vaporetto stop) and the Goggenheim museums, in a quiet part of town, a 30-minute walk from St. Mark's. It's located on a small canal (rio) and some rooms (not ours) have windows opening to it. Our room was excellent -- large, comfortable, well decorated -- and the staff immensely helpful. The room was two flights up; no elevator but the staff carries the luggage to the room. St. Mark's square and the area around it were jammed with tourists and we were so happy to be in a quiet, Italian area on the other side of the Grand Canal.

Room Tip: Ask for a (somewhat more expensive) room facing the small canal in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed 5 night here, in the modernized apartments. The room was very clean and new, and the location of the hotel, right near the Academia in Dorsoduro was very central and convenient for getting around Venice.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Everyone at the desk, regardless of shift spoke great English. Our only complaint, would be the breakfast. For the price, we felt it didn't offer a lot, so after the first morning, we bought breakfast from the local grocery store, and ate it in the nice terrace area outside our room every morning.

The location of the hotel was a great plus. After arriving from the train station, we took the #1 or #2 Vaporetto, got off at the Academia stop, and had an easy walk with luggage to the hotel; maybe 4 minutes at most. Seeing the sights was very easy, since everything is either a short walk or a close Vaporetto stop away.

I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Cove, AL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel American Dinesen was recommended to me by discriminating friends. I was not disappointed. The hotel was in a great location, yet was sufficiently quiet. The room had a lovely smal balcony overlooking a canal. The room was well appointed and recently updated. The staff was very, very helpful. I highly recommend the Hotel American Dinesen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We saw this hotel here on Trip Advisor and it seems to have great reviews so we went there. It was as good as people said! We stayed in the "modern" room in the Annex (not in the main building) and it was fun and private with it's own little courtyard. The staff was GREAT - all very kind and helpful with recommendations on where to go and what to do.
We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Venice
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel American Dinesen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel American Dinesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.