We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Quirky room layout and private entrance to solo elevator was a bit challenging until we got the knack during our four night stay. This was a perfect situation for our travel itinerary and agenda. The front desk was helpful and responsible in answering any of our many questions. We discovered that they offered a free water taxi ride/return to Murano when we asked them for the quickest connection to the "Glass" island. The rate we confirmed at our on-line booking was the least expensive one we could find. Breakfast in the hotel was convenient and gave us the perfect start for our tour-packed days. It was not included in our plan but I note that several other guests had it as part of the registration. It is not necessary as there are a wealth of quick and inexpensive alternatives in the vicinity. This hotel is located just behind the northwest corner of St Mark's Square. It is on the lagoon where the St Mark's Gondoliers wait for clients exactly opposite the Venice Planet Hollywood. It's the center of the action and people are jostling through and around all day. At night, it becomes a quiet haven and the walk over the bridge to St Mark's is magical. This proved to be one of the best values of our stay in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    217
    155
    82
    63
See reviews for
116
305
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Small, intimate hotel just off St Mark's Square. Perfect central location. Beautifully decorated corner bedroom with views onto both street and canal. Very helpfull and efficient staff. Good quality continental breakfast served in pleasant dining room. All of this at a very acceptable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked 2 nites here originally then added a 3rd nite 2 days before we were to arrive as we thought we needed it. Turns out we didnt but wouldnt let us cancel it even tho we were still staying the original 2 nites and they charged us the three nites. Wouldnt have minded so much if the hotel was worth it but simple put, it wasnt.

Small, old rooms and very dated decore. Bathrooms redefine the word small. Breakfast poor (at best) and probably the worst coffee ive had in my life.

All of which can be overlooked it you were made to feel like a guest. However we felt from most staff like we were an imposition and the nite front desk man was simply rude.

Have stayed at 4 BW properties on this trip. All others rated good to great - this one, a complete waste of money

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

While this hotel is conviently located to the Plazza San Marco, the hotel definately needs some upgrades. Our room was adequate, but right over a street, so noise was an issue all night. The service lacked from our arrival, Instructions given quickly, and not thorough, so we missed out on a 15 % discount at their restaurant. Breakfast was ok, coffee not so good.Marco in the Lounge is great ! Wi fi was a pain, because you had to continually log in with a long password. And not their fault, on daY TWO, the area flooded with at times having to wask in 2 feet of water. At least we saw some of the beautiful sights of Venice the first day. If you are all all challanged with accessability, be sure you are with someone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not a bad hotel which is a stone's throw from St Marks Sq, however its central location does not mean a restful nights sleep as the rooms overlook the main throroughfares which can be noisy either late at night with tourists and locals or early morning with workers hand carting up and down the bridge to the canal nearby.

Breakfast can be chaotic and is very much a disappiontment with frozen reheated rolls and average selection of fruit and salami, (would recommend saving your money and have breakfast in one of the market porters cafes in the Rialto food market as I had a great value breakfast for 7euros).

Overall, great for location, rooms are average, service hit and miss, avoid breakfast.

Room Tip: 503 for a room with a roof top view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent hours sitting out on the balcony basically on the gondola station. This busy station is home to one tenth of all the gondola in Venice. San Marco square is also on the doorstep. The hotel is 2 star standard and overpriced but location is worth an extra star. Expect 4 euro city charge each when checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We paid for the location, got a nice, quiet, comfortable hotel seconds from Piazza San Marco. Very comfortable and quiet keeping in mind the location - busiest part of Venice. Free WiFi but a pain to login every time my iPad went into sleep. Very courteous and friendly staff at reception, but totally oposite in the San Marco Restaurant where breakfast is served. Breakfast is good value for money (considering you are in Venice) but you have to be prepared to try every thing coming out of a tin. tasted the worst coffee of my life in this place.

Overall a very good experience and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
#88 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
San Marco
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
#99 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
Castello
BEST WESTERN Bisanzio
BEST WESTERN Bisanzio
#63 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#297 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#232 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
#223 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco

Address: Piazza San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.