We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Albergo San Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Albergo San Marco to your Saves list
Best Western Albergo San Marco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #251 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We paid for the location, got a nice, quiet, comfortable hotel seconds from Piazza San Marco. Very comfortable and quiet keeping in mind the location - busiest part of Venice. Free WiFi but a pain to login every time my iPad went into sleep. Very courteous and friendly staff at reception, but totally oposite in the San Marco Restaurant where breakfast is served. Breakfast is good value for money (considering you are in Venice) but you have to be prepared to try every thing coming out of a tin. tasted the worst coffee of my life in this place.

Overall a very good experience and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    153
    121
    65
    53
See reviews for
83
223
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Like others have said, this hotel you are paying for the location and it is fantastic. Seconds from San Marco square, about 10 minutes from the Rilato Bridge. You really can't beat it. There are a bunch of touristy gift shops and places to eat right by, but you can always wander and find more quiet places away from the hot spots.

A few notes of interest:
Check-in: Because we had a red-eye flight and arrived early, we had to leave our bags 2-3 hours unattended in a hallway. It seemed like everyone who checks in early needs to do this. Literally all your bags are just out in the open for anyone to take or go through... a little concerning!!!

Breakfast: The breakfast room can get busy fast and they waitress needs to bring you over the plate for the buffett. She works hard, but it's not the best system.

Rooms: They are a little tired and old. You can hear through the walls a little. But let's face it, you are in Venice to explore, not stay in your room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is overall good. We stayed for 3 nights and slept good each night. The air conditioner worked, and everything was clean. Yes the hotel looks old and has 'old' decor, but everything in Venice is old! It has the old Venetian charm and adds character.

The hotel is a few minutes' walk from San Marco square and there are many restaurants and shopping within reasonable walking distance - get away from San Marco for good food!

The hotel amenities clearly stated they offered FREE WIFI online, however, the only option I saw in the room was 10 euro/hour. I may have overlooked the free wifi. That is my only 'complaint.' (If the Wifi was indeed free and I overlooked this, then it is my mistake)

The breakfast is 6 euro/person and was worth it, in my opinion, compared to the cost of food in the area and the lack of breakfast options around.

If you want to stay near San Marco square, then I recommend this hotel. It's about a 5 minute walk from the Water Taxi pick up and there aren't too many stairs to go up/down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011 and was what we needed basically. The room was comfortable and our room had a bathroom that was relatively well kept. I have travelled throughout Italy and so my expectations were met in terms of affordability.The staff were helpful and it was a hassle-free stay.Thank you to the staff and management for an affordable option in a fantastic location!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homburg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Best Western Albergo San Marco is right next to Piazza San Marco and offers great room rates in the off-peak season. Our bedroom was tastefully furbished and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite run-down and it definately needs a renovation but it was clean. The breakfast buffet was good, even though the restaurant was very crowded.
All in all I would stay at the Best Western Albergo San Marco again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I took this room in a hurry! Wrong move! We should of researched a bit more before we booked. It is run down, and it seems to have two parts to the hotel. The part we were given is the very old part with old tired furniture, terrible shower which has no pressure. Worn out carpets, AIRCON doesn't work and will never get fixed as I asked the reception twice now and have all turned a blind eye to it. Wi Fi in room work intermittently. Basically you pay ridiculous amount to stay here and wish we stayed a lil bit further from the square and got better value for money. Staff know about all these problems and will do nothing to fix any of them. Instead they tell you to write to management to sort it out!!! Don't waste you hard earned money staying here, you will be disappointed by the quality and service received.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is centrally located next to the Piazza. We arrived two hours before check-in and they did everything they could to clean the room and get it ready for us. The Wi-Fi was free. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was only OK. They had a closet for us to store our luggage when we checked out of the hotel so we could walk around the city before we had to catch our train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albergo San Marco

Address: Piazza San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Albergo San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.