We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel at a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel at a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel is very centrally located, steps from Piazza di San Marco. Their breakfast is quite nice. Rooms are not too small, and have traditional Venetian decoration style. service at the front desk was responsive at all times.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    326
    78
    21
    14
See reviews for
157
331
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Wonderful location, less than a 5 min walk to San Marco. The staff was wonderful and the front desk was very helpful. Some rooms were very small, but cozy and clean, pay to upgrade and get a different room if you like your space. Breakfast was good, continental style with hot scrambled eggs and sausage. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is 5 minutes from the square. Perfect to explore and then to return to rest when the cruise ship tours come in, and then go out again. Our room was a corner with a view of the roof tops. Bath was standard with tub and shower . The breakfast was large and varied. The staff were friendly and informative.
When we checked out we still did not need to leave until 4pm. They put our suitcases up at the desk for us to pick up later.
Easy access to the water bus ,then to the bus terminal to the air port.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My sister and I took my mom to Italy for her 80th BD - we visited Rome and Venice.
Mom uses a walker or cane, (we brought both) so we were worried about her getting around in Venice.
The water busses were no problem for her to maneuver, as the folks there helped her on and off.
We stayed at the Best Western Montecarlo - it was a perfect location and didn't overextend our budget.
It is very walkable from the waterbus stop; she took it slowly with her rollator walker, and we carried her luggage.
The hotel's location is a 3-5 minute walk to San Marco Square.
There are plenty of shops and restaurants just outside the hotel, so there was no need to travel far if she didn't feel like it.
During the day, when she forgot something, we could run right back to the hotel to retrieve it.
The hotel has a lift, so she didn't have to climb stairs - it is a very small lift - fits no more than 3 people, but served its purpose.
We reserved a triple. The room was adequate, clean and had a sturdy bar in the tub for her to hold when showering. The bathroom though clean was a bit outdated with orange tile in the shower. The only other negative was the occasional noise coming from the water pipes.
The staff was courteous and accommodating and a great help with planning excursions.
We took their advice on which gondola ride to try and were extremely pleased.
Mom also enjoyed the tour the hotel offered to the Murano Glass Factory.
The breakfast was generous; she found plenty of enjoyable choices.
She fell in love with Venice!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The location of the hotel is really very good as it takes place near S. Marco square. The staff is friendly and helpful, speaking several languages. The breakfast room is beautiful with many food choices. I liked that after check out I could leave my luggage in the hotel without charge.
The only tiring thing is that as it is not possible to get close to the hotel by car /boat , i had to carry my luggage myself through San Marco to get the boat .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

BW is central and only 2 streets away from St. Marc's square. The rooms were nice, clean and sufficient. Desk staff very helpful and pleasant. For about $230 US per night, including breakfast such a deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010 via mobile

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is the location. As you leave the hotel you are right in St Marks Square. The hotel is very old and not well maintained. If you can find another place to stay I would suggest you do. By far this is not a 3 star hotel at least my American standards. If this hotel was in America it would be closed. Website is also misleading rooms do not look anything near what is on their site. I would pay a few bucks more and stay someplace nice.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#85 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.