We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location makes up for shortcomings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location makes up for shortcomings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is fabulous. Centrally located and convenient for getting around. My husband and I took advantage of the free shuttle to Murano which was well organized and a pleasant day trip. But of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy, we found the service to be very impersonal. It sometimes seemed a bother to have the desk clerk retrieve our room key. The room keys and room numbers were clearly visible and compounded with impersonal service, it made security seem lax. This would be my primary suggestion for improvement.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel visiting Venice. Your suggestions are very important to us, but the decision to give always the key to our clients is desired in search of establishing a personal relationship with our customers. The concierge is in fact always at your disposal for information and advice 24 hours a day. With regard to the safety of our customers we can guarantee that in 50 years of operation we have never had any problems. Hoping to see you soon in Venice, we send you our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    328
    78
    21
    14
See reviews for
158
332
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was located a minute form St Marks Square and was good value for money, thy had free WiFi and great breakfast! The staff was helpful and very friendly....thanks to Bordon (front desk) for making our stay so enjoyable.... He made us feel at home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Frien,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Yours sincerely,

Stefano Magrini
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montecarlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Shout out to Francesco at the front desk, he treated us very well, 1 minute walk to St Marco Sq, 5 minutes to Ponte Rialto, rooms were nice, very , there is a very nice restaurant next door. we will definetly stay there when we go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

tks a lot for your words of appreciation.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Stefano Magrini
BW Hotel Montecarlo
Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were surprised to see a well run friendly hotel in the midst of venice. The room was comfortable as was the standard and size of the bathroom. The breakfast was also very good. The rates are reasonable. No fitness centre or swimming pool but free internet.
They kept our luggage and let us relax in the hotel lounge till evening on the last day.
A free private taxi ride to murano arranged by the hotel was worth it but prices there are not much better than the shops around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

on behalf of myself and all the staff of the Montecarlo let me thank you for your words of appreciation.

Hoping to see you soon, best regards.

Stefano Magrini
BW Hotel Montecarlo
Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel from the airline website recommended hotels and after reading Trip Advisor reviews. Used a Venice street app to find our way to the hotel after getting off the waterbus at St Marks Square at night. It is 30 seconds off the main square but would have struggled to find it without the app. Hotel is in an amazing location and seconds walk from St Marks Square. Accessible for all main tourist places. Rooms are clean with aircon which is a blessing in August. En suite is small but clean, with maid service daily. Breakfast is basic but plentiful and you can eat as much as you want. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our Hotel and we hope you will be back soon to Venice.

Best Regards
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here on our return to Venice after a cruise. Location was good and directions to the hotel made it easy to find. Rooms small but ok for a short stay. Staff were great and helpful. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: A king bed is apparently two singles put together. Make sure you take the deluxe option if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Julia,

Many thanks for your review which is very important for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you like our great Breakfast.... Hoping to see you soon for a longer stay, accept my best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Dark, small, poor air-con, broken bathroom fittings, crowded poky breakfast room constantly running out of things.
Friendly, helpful staff and just 80 metres from St Mark's.
Go to Florian. See the Basilica and Doge's Palace. Forget the gondolas and ignore the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanking for your review, we are happy to read that you appreciated the location of our XVII cenury , located only 50 meters far from St. Mark's Square. Having a buffet breakfast so varied and large, our staff is always very active in the effort to always replace the whole.
Hoping to meet you soon again in our wonderful city, accept Sir, ny best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
#86 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.