We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel. But do yourself a favor. Skip Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 382 hotels in Venice
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel. But do yourself a favor. Skip Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really swanky hotel. Everything you need & expect from a top dollar hotel. Gotta do it before you kick the bucket.

But do yourself a favor. Venice is a ZOO. Everyday 3 or 4, even 5 cruise ships show up and unload 3,000 people. There are 12,000-15,000 extra people everyday in Venice. The crowding is outrageous and disconcerting. I've done Venice two years in a row now. And I am done with it.

That said the Montecarlo is a splendid hotel right on the Plaza San Marco. It is worth every penny. And the breakfast is awesome.

Also be aware of the "promotional free boat trip to Murano" the front desk clerk pitches. They send you to the island of Murano where you get to see glass blown and browse the way overpriced glass art. You are their prisoner until you buy something or get fedup and complain about the tardiness of the return boats. We almost missed our train because of this tourist trap tactic. And everyone gets paid from your purchase. The shop (BF Signoretti) makes a zillon euros. Your guide makes a cut, the boat driver gets paid and even the front desk clearly gets a taste. The sales pressure is overbearing. You should go to Murano. But under different circumstances.

When we got back to the Montecarlo without the BF Signoretti bag in hand the front desk clerk was passed. He wouldn't even say goodbye. But I'll bet that if he had seen the bag he would have been pleased as can be. He would even want to see your purchase just to calculate his commission.

Anyway. It was an awesome hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which for us is very important. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. Sorry, you have found Venice in a very chaotic and full of cruise passengers, we hope you will be back soon in Venice in an another season and you will have the opportunity to visit our wonderful city in a different way....

Best Regards
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    290
    74
    19
    14
See reviews for
142
291
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
439 helpful votes 439 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Quick summary: Very comfortable room; great location that is quiet but close many attractions; staff that are very friendly, helpful, and professional.

We stayed 5 nights in room #201, which was a good size for older historic hotels in Europe, and the space was well-used. The king bed was comfortable (and firm,) with nice quality bed linens and brocade bedcover (not duvets.) I enjoyed the traditional Venetian feeling to the room -- traditional furnishings, brocades, colorful, and a chandelier. The room felt very fresh and well kept. A small desk and 2 chairs, TV, etc. Good closet space and drawers; real nightstands with drawers (I like to keep things tidy.)

As I expect in some older hotels, there was no in-room coffee/tea or ironing board, but not a big deal. Coffee is available via room service.

Good-size bathroom with tub and hand-held shower; bidet; nice toiletries. After I've been on my feet all day, I want a bathtub, not just a shower.

Excellent housekeeping throughout.

Breakfast is a good array of hot and cold items, fruits, juices, pastries, and serve-yourself coffee from machines that can do a good job on anything from cappucino to espresso. But to be honest, after 6 weeks in Europe at buffet breakfasts, this place rates a B+. I don't expect made-to-order eggs everywhere I go, and the chafing dish scrambled eggs were to my liking, but the fruit and hot meats could be upgraded.

The staff are helpful, professional, and excellent. They very nicely recommended restaurants that were a short walk away, but outside of the major tourist crowds and good value for Venice. They were excellent for directions and touring suggestions, and were always ready to show you directions on a map. It is easy enough to do Murano and Burano on your own, which we did, and not the free tour.


The location is on a quiet small side-street, a short walk off of St. Mark's square, i.e. excellent location if you want to be close to attractions. This was our first visit to Venice, and it suited us well. We found it easy enough to walk to excellent and lower-cost restaurants on the other side of the Rialto, away from the major tourist centers and tour groups around St. Mark's.

There are many little places around the hotel for drinks, etc. Best to head away from St. Marks for the more charming and less crowded options (but we still had drinks at a famous cafe in St. Mark's -- 'gotta do it.)

Our criticisms are major or minor, depending on your perspective and time of year.

+ The internet was down 2 of the 5 nights we were there.

+ AC was good, but at a level that I've come to recognize as "Italian cool" in older hotels. Here, you will be comfortable, and I don't expect or like ice-box cold, but the temperature will not be that level of refreshing cool that I've found in other countries, even in small historic hotels that invest in modern, efficient AC. But again, this place is better than many I've experienced in older hotels in Italy, where the standard is bringing the temp down from insufferable to mildly uncomfortable. In early June, I heard a few guests complaining that the AC was not working, but I think it is just the system in place.

+ Wall safe is old-style with a key lock.

+ Only one elevator, which could be slow in coming. We preferred to walk up most times.

+ My complaint with many hotels: the bedside reading light should be improved, brighter and better focused.

+ We are confused about any bar options at the hotel -- there didn't seem to be any, but maybe that was overlooked during the busy tourist season and not available?

+ The restaurant associated with the hotel (Antico Pignolo on the website) was not mentioned at all when we were at the hotel, either at the desk or in in-room promos. We probably would have tried it, but it was not top-of-mind, as a result.

If you need to get to the train station quickly, definitely consider the Rialto vaparetto stop rather than St. Mark's. The hotel will arrange for a porter to the stop if you don;t want to lug the luggage yourself. Of course, there are always more expensive water taxis.

The price was competitive for high season in Venice, and suited us for the first trip for price/value/location. We'd love to have the flexibility to travel off-season for better rates in the future, but this place delivered good price/value for the time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which is very important for us. We are happy that you have spent some beautiful days with us in Venice and we hope to meet you soon again in our beautiful city....
.Best Regards
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Key requirements for our hotel in Venice were for a comfortable place to stay in a great location and wow what a location this hotel is in. The hotel is compact but beautifully decorated in a traditional style. Bed was very comfortable and the ensuite well equipped. Everything was spotless! Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. But the best thing about this hotel was the staff, all are so polite and friendly and receptionists know everything about the city and are soooo helpful, even arranging a water taxi and porter to take our luggage on the last day. All in all an excellent hotel that is very good value for money. Book it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are truly grateful for your review which is very important for us and for our work. We are pleased that you liked our service and we hope to see you soon againa in Venice in our Hotel...

Best Regards
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nogent france
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

from june 14 to 17 we stayed at hotel montecarlo venice the staff was very friendly and helpful ,breakfast was very good the room very quiet with everything you need and if the bathroom was very small who cares when you are a two minute's walk from the marvellous ST Mark's square ? Try to go there in the evening when there are less people it's fantastic ! On the other direction you are on Rialto bridge in five minutes and in ten minutes you are at FTE Nove where you get the vaporetto to Murano Burano and Torcello islands .
Venice is a city you must visit by foot and this hotel is the best place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur, nous sommes vraiment reconnaissants pour votre commentaire qui est très important pour nous et pour notre travail. Nous sommes heureux que vous avez aimé notre service et nous espérons de Vous rencontrer bientot a Venise à notre Hotel.....

Meilleures salutations
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clairsville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in here 2 nights in June. We had a lovely stay. The room was nice the staff was wonderful and and the location cannot be beat. A short walk to St. Marco in one direction and the Rialto Bridge in the other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much, your reviews make us very happy, it means we are working well....thank you again and waiting to meet you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here in June. This hotel has a style all of its own - probably Louis XV - but in spite of that it is vey comfortable and in a wonderful position for St Marks Square and lots of walking. They do a great breakfast, but the real treat is the staff. Everyone on the desk very helpful, speak good English and looked after us wonderfully. Dario was a real star. Rooms comfortable with plenty of wardrobes, cupboards etc.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is quiet with views over venice rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Your review is very important to us and even more important is to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and make your stay in Venice unforgettable ....

Hoping to have you back as our guest ...

Sincerely
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

i think max speaks at least 5 different languages fluently and he was a big help as i had questions for him every day. he helped arrange luggage and private water taxi when st. mark's square flooded and we decided we couldn't carry everything ourselves. i saw him many times welcoming people and inviting them to sit and regroup in the dining area or lobby with a cup of tea. he also arranged free taxi to murano glass factory. marco is the bellhop that was always there to help with luggage. he lugged our stuff up and down and behind the front desk and through the streets.

we'd just got off 17 hours in the air and more between 3 flights. maximo took pity on us and had our room ready at 10 in the morning. so happy to see a full modern bath and comfy beds! we did get lost as the street signs didn't make sense from the map i got off google. i also thought there was a sign above which was not there. we actually walked pass the hotel. we were on the second floor facing the street. we had no trouble sleeping - maybe we were too tired to hear noise, but turned on the tv crashed. we were so close to everything, better than last time when we stayed in murano and had to catch water shuttles all the time.

the room was charming and just like photos. bed could have been better but i think it's just that's just us old folks. breakfast was great with lots of variety. we needed a room for 3 people and this was recommended by expedia. other people on our cruise complained that their hotel staff didn't speak english well enough to be of any help. that won't happen here!

Room Tip: small elevator so if you can't take the stairs ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We are very happy that you enjoyed our services and has been a piacereper us to share your stay in Venice ..... thanks again for your review which helps us if possible to improve our services .... we expect you soon again in Venice

Thanks a lot and best regards
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
#88 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.