We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montecarlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 382 hotels in Venice
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Up until this hotel, our experience in Italy has been amazing. This hotel has a cold feel because everyone is so not friendly. The rooms are awful and the bed is not comfy. The only upside are the hot breakfast croissants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest
We are deeply sorry for your disappointment. We alway try our best to satisfy every request from the customers. All good reviews about us available on this website prove it.
We do not understand why such complaints were not reported to our reception during your stay. This could have been given us the possibility to take care about any single issue immediately.
As a valued guest, we hope to have you here with us again in the near future for a more satisfying stay, so we can prove we are not that bad.

Stefano Magrini - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    323
    84
    22
    15
See reviews for
140
289
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, NJ
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Montecarlo Hotel in Venice is a winner. It's very convenient to Saint Mark's. The rooms are decent sized and clean. The desk staff is very friendly and informative. They serve a great breakfast buffet. What's not to like? I'd recommend the Montecarlo if you're visiting Venice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

just a few words to say thank you for your positive note about our house.

Hoping to see you soon again in the future, pls accept my best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

hotel in bad need of renovation. Very Dated. Air conditioning hardly worked. Room hot. Elevator was out for 12 hours. Had to walk up 45 floors every time I went out. Good location. Staff very helpful. Couldn,t do enough. Unfortunately, its not their fault the owners of the hotel is in neglect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear John,

i'm so sorry that the elevetor went our of order alog your stay but I'm proud to say that we was able to solve the problem within 12 hours (we was obliged to import some part of it from Milan, 250 km far away form Venice and all this matter was solved between 08.00 pm and 08.00 am of the next day), Of course this can not be accepted as an excuse but sometimes could happen.

Anyway i hope to have you again as favorite guest in our hotel along your next visit in Venice.

Best regards

Stefano

ps. may be you do not remember but we have just 4 floors not 45. No skyscraper in Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Best Western Montecarlo back in Oct, 2012 at standard double room on the 2nd floor by the stair. We enjoyed our stay very much. The Guest service was very helpful to us and he was very informative. Plus the hotel is located in the narrow street city center close to San Marco Piazza. We even got a free trip to Murano to visit the making of murano glasses. (One way). We gotta find a boat back ourselves but that wasn't a problem.
-good location
-helpful staff
-free ride to murano island
-good decent breakfast
-shopping and heritage site seeing

so far so good!
We would love to come back
cheers,
Diana

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

it is nice to hear you spend a plaisant stay in our hotel.
Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept my best regards.

Stefano Magrini - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a superb location if you want to visit Venice. It's only a couple of minutes from St Mark's Square. We had a spacious room with a good breakfast. The staff made us feel really welcome. If we were visiting Venice again we would certainly stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Friend
it was a pleasure to read your commentaries. I am very pleased to inform the rest of the staff about your words.
Best regards
Stefano Magrini - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Four days in Venice in April were made all the better by staying at the Monte Carlo. Very close to St Mark's Square with restaurants all around. Small bedroom but very well appointed and a newly refurbished bathroom and a breakfast to set one up for the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Fiona,
many thanks for your kind words. Your opinion really matter to us.
Best regards
Stefano Magrini - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

i shared a twin room with my daughter for 3 nights. the room was adequate, with plenty of cupboard space. there was a well stocked mini bar the prices were quite good not over the top.the shower room was modern, fully tiled and had plenty of hot water and clean towels everyday. our room was comfortable and lovely, exactly as it looked in the photos .it over looked a busy steet , but once the shutters and windows were shut it kept any noise out. there was air conditioning if you got to warm.the dining room was beautiful and the breakfast was was really lovely with plenty of choice. the hotel in in a fantastic location. it was only a 5 minute walk from the water bus,just of st marks square. and a short walk from all the sights.the staff were friendly and polite. we were happy with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano M, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Irene, Your review is really very important to us and we wish to thank you because you give us the possibility to always improve our services.....now waiting to meet you soon again in Venice, we wish to thank you for all your compliments.....

Best Regards
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Venice
#87 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Montecarlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montecarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.